We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
237
140
45
38
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
140
45
38
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house open air okavango river mokoro trip funny signs swimming pool laid back close to nature hot water hippo croc overlooking the river southern africa solar power mosquito net ablution facilities sunset cruise two nights
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Be forewarned, you need a 4x4 Land Cruiser to make it here safely, and I'm serious. The roads are quite bad,especially in rainy season. The campsites are super, especially the one with the "throne" toilet and separate tub bath facing the river. Don't worry there's a rickety fence keeping the hippos and crocs out of the campsite! Won't work for the random dogs (owners?) in the middle of the night, so stash your braii meat away.

I will say that the overall management is not so good, kind of "I wish I were anywhere but here" attitude and really the poorest damn food ever, so pack in all your food! They do have beer though, which is nice.

If you want to swim with the hippos/crocs you can do that in their caged enclosure, not sure I would but each his/her own!

Enjoy...

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeopatraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hello Geopatra,
Our normal rainfall is around 300mm per annum, and right now Global Warming has brought us in excess of 1200mm for the year - so far! So our normal 2wd road is a bit sticky, but certainly still very drivable, although a bit exciting in places & we will come to your rescue any time, so not to worry! Sorry about your bad experience with your meal and management. Definitely not the norm, and I will find out who and why, and kill them before pay day, so you can come back soon!
The pool...also exciting & stimulating, but then I see you prefer the sedate safer life of our bar.
Glad you enjoyed the rest though :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Ngepi camp is a very special place beside the Okavango. It's decoration is just amazing and it really deserves a visit; you can even swim in the Okavango! as they have made a pool just IN the river. No fear of the crocodiles.
We slept in a Treehouse which was really nice with amazing view to the Okavango. But it was far too expensive for what you get. Next time I'd rather go to the campsite area as you are beside the river and it is much cheaper!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank asiergasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hello Asiergasta,
Thank you for recommending Ngepi, and glad you appreciated everything... well except paying the bill :-)
The facts are that we are in the animal rich Okavango delta, and it's thousands of Km away from any of our suppliers. This added to the fact that we keep the environment pristine, and ensure that the Locals benefit from their natural wonderland in many ways. We think our prices are the best value for money you can get in the Okavango, and in fact represent only about 10% of what some lodges charge in Botswana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

From the moment we arrived we loved Ngepi Camp. On the way in you can't stop yourself from laughing at all the funny little quirks and sayings they have posted... On arrival at the camp we were warmly welcome and fell in love with it the minute we saw it. This camp is truly one with nature and peaceful.
Grounds are well kept and tidy and camp sites are awesome and green and lush from being right on the river.
Lying in your tent at night all you can hear is Hippos and and Elephants carrying on, such a wonderful sound to fall asleep to. And the loo with a view!!! To funny!
The Okavango sunset river cruise is a must and waking up early and watching the sun rise over the Okavango is just wow!

I highly recommend this camp and can't wait till I can return.

Keep up the good job guys:)

Room tip: I didn't stay in the rooms but the campsite is stunning and cheap if you are on a budget.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank duskydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Hello Duskydiver, I am very glad you took the time to write your impressions of Ngepi. thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We stayed at Ngepi for 3 days and what an awesome time we had! As this was stop number 9 on a 12 stop holiday we planned to just pitch our tent, relax and ring in 2017.

The drive up to the camp is quite long but the signs along the way are quite entertaining.

At check in it was already evident that the service we were going to be getting was going to be fast and super warm and friendly.

We camped on site number 6, right on the river. I swear the hippo's home was right by our camp site. Campsites are grassy and shaded and though it's a bit of a walk to the quirky loo and showers it was great being outdoors.

The bar is great and we spend our days lounging on the various decks on offer. The meals menu offers quite a variety and drinks and meals are all reasonably priced. All the food prepared was really good. The chocolate pudding on the one night was to die for! New Years' Eve dinner was a real treat as well.

We decided to spoil ourselves with a hut for our last night there - we had to book 2 as it only sleeps 2 and there were 3 of us.
These little private places are beautiful. Rustic but with super comfortable beds...only the short deck and bamboo and canvas blinds between the bed and the river. Awesome! Bliss!

I can highly recommend Ngepi and we will be back the first chance we get!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Hello Carol N,
Thanks so much for the wonderful compliments! Much appreciated and hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Ngepi camp is a very well known camp in the caprivi strip .. Dont expect luxury, dont expect high end services .. Just leisure living . And therefor its fantastic. We have been to Ngepi as campers. Due to the fact that we needed two campsites we had the last ones on the river (if i remember right 21 and 22 or 22 and 23 ) .. they were the best ..
Lovely abolution blocks, a nice view on the river, a big tree in the middle .
The people are ngepi are wonderful . We had a very nice welcome.
As I said all a but rustic ..
We loved our stay ..

Room tip: I cannot say for the treehouses, but for the campers, ask for 22 or 23
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chimelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ngepi_Team, Owner at Ngepi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Hello Chimelu, thanks very much for taking the time to write your great comments!
we appreciate and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews