We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To TA Stuff: ATTENTION!!! Map lokation is way off.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmeraie Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 36 Tinerhir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2017

It's placed in LAOS at Tad Lo village/waterfall. please move to the propper Location as it will help nobody here, neither somebody looking up a guesthous in Magreb, nor somebody looking for a guesthous in Tad Lo. OK, 200char reached ^^.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank gernotalmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Palmeraie Guesthouse - Tinerhir and Todra Gorge, High Atlas Mountains Morocco.

I booked 4 nights at this charming guesthouse on the recommendation of a Canadian friend. It was an authentic and enjoyable experience.
Rachid met my Supr@tour bus from Marrakech, and kindly took me to a bank machine and then to purchase my return bus ticket before driving to the Guesthouse nearby. I was warmly welcomed with Moroccan tea and shown to my cosy room with ensuite.
Dinner that evening was a delicious soup, and a selection of local olives followed by Gowad's tagine and a fruit plate for dessert. A wood burning stove made for a cosy atmosphere.
After the meal, I was given a tour of the common areas: the tastefully and traditionally decorated lounges and terraces. The following morning I was served breakfast on the sunny roof terrace, drinking exceptionally good Moroccan coffee in an "Arabian Nights" setting, serenaded by a chorus of birdsong.
Rachid drove me into nearby Tinerhir to visit the massive weekly Monday souk. It was a feast for the senses. We tasted tea, oranges, dates and ginger conserve as we strolled amid the various vendors to the sounds of goats, sheep, donkeys and roosters.
Afterwards, we walked through the former Jewish quarter which is now under renovation, and then through the small independent souks where Rachid tracked down a small souvenir Moroccan flag for me and I purchased silver filigree earrings. We visited a Berber rug gallery, made a stop at the bakery, then enjoyed a cappuccino before heading back to the Palmeraie. That afternoon I shadowed Gowad in the kitchen as he prepared Moroccan couscous. Dinner was beautifully presented and delicious. More yummy olives!
Next morning a local guide took me on a trek to the Todra Gorge. We walked along the river, the irrigation canals, and the community gardens through forests of flowering almond trees and date palms. The sounds of the birds, the irrigation canals and the river made for a meditative trek.
Six hours later I was back at the guesthouse enjoying Moroccan tea, reading on the terrace and soaking up the sun.
Rachid appeared and offered to drive me out past the Todra Gorge to see the Berber villages. Dinner that night was a traditional salad of fresh vegetables, chopped egg and olives, BBQ turkey brochettes with pommes frites. Tea, fruit and sweets for dessert. I watched a bit of BBC TV in the reception lounge before turning in.
Day 3 found me climbing the steep 300 m mountain trail behind the Gorge to visit a Nomadic Berber family camp. My guide and I were served sweet tea and fresh bread as we relaxed in the sunshine. Three hours later, Rachid met us in the village at the base of the mountain for the drive home. He was very generous to drive me about.
Back at the guesthouse, I drank tea and snacked on nuts on the terrace before dinner - a delicious "southern" tagine, beautifully presented.
Rachid drove me to the bus station after breakfast the next day, and kindly waited with me, for which, as a foreign woman travelling alone, I was extremely grateful. I enthusiastically recommend the Palmeraie Guesthouse, not just for the comfort and delicious meals, but also for the superb hospitality.
Peggy MacDonald
Nova Scotia, Canada

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Peggymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

This guesthouse is very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed here on a car trip through the Atlas Mountains before going to see Todra Gorge. The setting is lovely with palms all around. Raashid was a wonderful host. A traditional Berber dinner was fantastic as was the breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. In the morning Jack the Donkey transported our luggage up the hill to where our car was parked.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ljanatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had a great time staying at the Palmeraie Guesthouse, in between visiting the Dades Gorge and the Todra Gorge. The staff were so welcoming and it was especially nice to have an unexpected mug of Yorkshire tea with the owner. The location is very beautiful and peaceful, ideally located for visiting the Todra Gorge. The place had a real family feel about it and the dinner we had was really the best food we had in Morocco - thank you so much!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed for a night a Palmeraie Guesthouse on our way from Merzouga to Tardoudant. The location of the guesthouse is beautiful with great views on the palm trees and mountains. The guesthouse had several different terraces, each with nice views. From the guesthouse you step immediately into the palm groves and also the Todra Gorge is a 5 minute drive.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and took their time to welcome us accompanied with some Thé à la menthe. Our room was basic but comfortable, fairly spacious and featured a good shower. Both the dinner in the lounge and breakfast on the terrace were excellent and tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolandboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tinerhir hotels
5.5 km away
Hotel Tomboctou
Hotel Tomboctou
#2 of 13 in Tinerhir
204 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Valentine Todra
Hotel Valentine Todra
#11 of 36 in Tinerhir
193 reviews
19.9 km away
Riad Timadrouine
Riad Timadrouine
#1 of 13 in Tinerhir
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Auberge le Festival
Auberge le Festival
#1 of 36 in Tinerhir
309 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Restaurant Barraoui
Hotel Restaurant Barraoui
#5 of 13 in Tinerhir
3 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Saghro
Hotel Saghro
#9 of 13 in Tinerhir
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmeraie Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeraie Guesthouse

Address: Ait Senan | R703, Tinerhir 45800, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Tinerhir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Tinerhir
Price Range: R571 - R686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a traditional Berber house situated in the Todra Palmeraie; eat delicious Berber food, relax and soak up Berber culture, walk, hike and trek through the Palmeraies, the gorges and the mountains of the High Atlas, visit the souks and markets with their wealth of enticing merchandise. All the prices are on halfboard dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmeraie Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing