We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a few minor improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed last weekend in Lake George and decided to stay here.
This place is a few mile away the downtown area. The view from the place is beautiful and overlooks the lake. No real views from your room however but that's okay.
The grounds and the pool is nicely kept.
The staff courteious and attnetive.
There were two negatives that could be easily corrected.
1. The faucet handles in the shower/bath really leaked when in use. Not some drip, drip, drip either. The housekeeping staff should have reported this. It pains me to even say anything but I did to the front desk at checkout. We only stayed one night or I would have brought it up that morning.
2. The other was most annoying. The buffet or brunch was a disappointment. The food in the warming pans seemed well prepared and presented but basically just warmer than room temperature. The positive was the omelette station with a nice cook at the station. He seemed a little inexperienced with those portable gas burner units but they are pretty foolproof. The food he perpared was tasty and hot. This was the only positive to the hopt foods presented.
3. The sever seemed like some colledge or his school student. First when we ordered our and hot tea, she came back with the coffee and hot tea kettle but no coffee cup for the tea. We had to point this out but instead of going back to the kitchen, she proceeded to go over to the other table and take their order. At the time of our bill, the server brings the bill over to us without a pen to sign the bill. Now I'm annoyed so we both get up and go grab a pen myself and sign the bill. I have always tipped 20% or more but just barely gave her 10%. Better training would go a long way and there should be a manager or somebody to make sure hot food are in those warming pans.

When we went to town, we grabbed some hot to snack on.

The place was nice but those little things were annoying.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tullious B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Tullious,
Thank you for your recent visit. We are sorry that in your very short stay you experienced a couple of issues that made your stay less favorable than you would like. We always would want to make our guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. We will speak with all the staff that you encountered during your stay and bring up each issue as a point of re-training for the benefit of moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Stayed here as a traveling couple for a five day visit to the southern Adirondacks,

Pro; nice people staffing the facility and the nice view from the front of the property.
Great shower water pressure, comfortable mattress, good tv.

Con; Queen room very small & claustrophobic, bathroom even smaller (the 70's called and want their room back; wait, the 60's also called). Window A/C loud & intrusive.
This property is NOT ADA accessible in any way if you have any disability.
Noise is a problem if you're not part of a wedding group. (This is an event facility, but who knew that there would be a wedding during the week?)

OK stay for maybe up to three days.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrDale14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear MrDale14424,
First let me thank you for joining us while visiting the Southern Adirondacks. We do our best as a staff to make everyone's visit a special one. Though we are unable to correct the size of the room we will look into anything else mentioned and do our best to correct those issues. Thanks again for joining us and we hope you visit our area again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Can't thank the folks at Dunham's Bay enough for the perfect week. 30+ people from 6 to 86 and everyone had a great time. Not only did the facility have everything we needed and a a bustling town nearby if we opted for it, we also found that anytime we asked for anything the team went above and beyond what was expected. Matthew and Lynn, thanks for taking good care of us. Whether it was borrowing an over-sized pot from Chef Brad in the kitchen or getting ice in our coolers everyday. Maybe it was the last minute call for a shuttle we didn't know existed to get to and from the fireworks show. Oh yes, the food was excellent too. Cooking to-order plates for 20 with great presentation and flavor was impressive. Jenny did a wonderful job serving us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabins around the hotel. They are nothing special but they are nice and the team k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Thomas C,
HOW MUCH FUN WAS THAT!!! We so enjoyed your visit. All of us can't thank you enough for sharing your very special experience here at Dunham's Bay Resort. An even bigger thank you for sharing your thoughts here on TripAdvisor. We love family reunions and feel that we have such a great facility for families to really enjoy their time together. Thanks again and hope to see all of you again, real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I gave Dunham's Bay Resort 2 stars because the staff was so sweet and accommodating. That being said, it looks NOTHING like it does on line. This is a very old facility with extremely weathered accommodations. Our cabin had holes in the roof and was not very clean, there were cobwebs all over the room. We had to call the poor people at the front desk constantly to repair items that we found were broken: blinds that wouldn't close, kitchen drawers that were either unable to be opened or closed, pans that had the non-stick interior chipping off, water that dripped through the wall during a rainstorm and flooded our kitchen floor, a front door bolt that wouldn't lock, and a door keypad that wouldn't work. The keypad took over 2 hours to repair and I had to be shoved through my bedroom window to even gain access to my belongings. Then there's the game area. Yikes. The "tennis courts" were unusable. There were pine needles all over the court. My husband and I spent 30 min sweeping them off, only to discover that the surface was so eroded that we were not able to play. The pool for some strange reason was also set at about 99 degrees. It was SO hot you couldn't even stay in it for more than 15 min. It was like being in a jacuzzi. I was concerned my children would over heat. Lastly, the resort does NOT come with its own beach. There is a beach but it is not owned by Dunham's Bay Resort. You may use it with permission from 9-6 but must follow a series of rules to do so.

This place needs a serious overhaul and is WAY overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elizawils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

My boyfriend and I have been going to Lake George for three summers in a row and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere but Dunham's Bay Resort! We love how it's away from the village, in a woodsy, peaceful, quiet area at the end of Dunham's Bay. We always love our room and the friendly staff who we have gotten to know. The resort's The View restaurant with it's perfect view of the lake could not be any more beautiful or delicious (most memorable were the perfectly done steaks and our waffles and pancakes with the fresh berry toppings were outstanding)! We're really starting to feel like it's our resort home away from home. The indoor pool is large and beautiful, along with the grounds. Resort guests can enjoy a pretty beach in front of the resort that we had all to ourselves last week. The entire resort is well-maintained and well-loved by the staff. I really can't say enough. We spent our last weekend in Vermont, but still wanted to come back for the restaurant's Sunday brunch buffet on our way home. Although we didn't have the time for breakfast, we made sure we drove past the resort just to wave goodbye for another year and see the view of the lake one last time. We can't wait for next summer at Dunham's Bay Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.6 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
5.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
5.2 km away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: R1 166 - R2 879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing