We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rented a Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake George Escape Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I traveled with a group of adult friends for a fun weekend of cabin camping and jetskiing on Lake George. I wasn't expecting much as it was camping and we brought our own blankets and food items. Our unit didn't have an oven, which we knew was a possibility, but the unit next to ours did.
The cabin was not clean when we checked in. The floors were in need of mopping and sweeping. The refrigerator was stinky, and the shower had some hand prints on the glass from the previous occupants.
Someone had taken a tube of toothpaste and some Q-tips and decided to make a sculpture in the bathroom medicine cabinet. There was sticky blue toothpaste on the sink as well.
Half of our group was in the cabin across from ours. The had similar issues.
In their cabin the master bedroom reeked of marijuana and cigarettes. When we first checked in the entire cabin smelled of weed, so we opened all of the windows and put the ac on to air it out. Nothing worked. The staff was called to the cabin when we first arrived and noticed the stench. After an hour they drove a golf cart to the cabin, sprayed air freshener, and responded with "we know, there's nothing we can do". The staff knew about the stench, and they didn't have the windows opened or the AC on to air it out.
When we left on Sunday morning, their cabin and mattress still reeked of weed. I felt bad because one of our friends was nauseous from the smell. The staff did nothing/little to air out the cabin- they didn't like the suggestion of offering a different cabin or a different mattress either.

There is a small beach to swim on. The sign clearly states that there is no life guard, however, I overheard several people complaining about that.
For the most part, my group just relaxed by the fire and BBQed. Our cabin was at the top of a small hill, so we had a pretty good view of the campers beneath us, and the paved road way.
We watched hoards of children slide on the concrete and crash their bikes. The small hill we were on had a paved roadway that had some gravel and sand on it.
At least 4-5 kids a day would get hurt because they would zip around the roads on their bicycles (helmet-less) and not pay attention to the gravel on the road, or to the incoming cars or campers. Also, many times there were NO parents in sight. Kids everywhere, no adults watching them.

Overall, it was enjoyable camping.

Room Tip: Ask for a NEW cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

The staff was wonderful to my family when dealing with a break down on our camper , have been coming for 8 years and will be back again. Only bad was the poison ivy :-( . love the water sites but the do tend to have it

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sunwitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

bar and resteraunt great all prices reasonable sites clean maint workers right on the ball one rv out one in appears well organized also dog park convenient and river access good camp store had a good variety of goods for rvs

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ridleyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

RV quality could use updating..activities planned are awesome and well thought out..survivor challenge was fun..loved the dance party/karaoke too..we have been repeat customers here many times over the years and recommend this campground

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Great place, cabin Well equiped. Clean cabin. Great pool for childrens. Nice employee, very helping. Lots of activities for every age.would return Any Time. Great animation at thé restaurant and food were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amelieb825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
11.2 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#17 of 89 in Lake George
608 reviews
9.1 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
15.5 km away
Lake George RV Park
Lake George RV Park
#1 of 32 in Lake George
188 reviews
7.1 km away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#29 of 89 in Lake George
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George Escape Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Escape Campground

Address: East Schroon River Road, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: R1 423 - R2 589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake George Escape Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 576
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lake George Escape Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake George Escape Camping Hotel Lake George
Escape Resort Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing