We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ski weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin upon approach from road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin upon approach from road
View from backyard with hot tub Backyard path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Cabin upon approach from road
View from backyard with hot tub
Backyard path
View from front porch
Kitchen
Dining room
view from dining table
Couch and easy chair in front of television and wood stove
Master bedroom
Newly Refinished Bathroom with Shower
Stairs to second level
Upstairs bedroom (front) looking into hall
Upstairs bedroom (front)
Balcony off of front bedroom
Upstairs bedroom (back)
Upstairs bedroom (back)
Upstairs bath with corner shower
4 person hot tub
4 person hot tub
Hammock
Lean-to and firepit
Wild turkeys in the backyard
Timid but curious deer on the side of the road
Luna Moth on the outside wall of the cabin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Johnsburg, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Doug G
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ski weekend getaway”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The second weekend of 2016 was planned for a ski weekend getaway by myself, my daughter and my sister. I had talked to Steve a week prior to our trip and found him to be easy to talk to, very friendly and helpful. We arrived at the Johnsburg cabin in the early evening and found it ready for us. There was even fire wood stacked next to the wood burning stove. Steve called to be sure we got in and let me know he had been to the cabin that morning and found the hot tub was low on water. He re filled the hot tub and wanted me to know he was aware that there might be a problem with it. We used it that night and had no problems with the hot tub.
We skied at Gore mountain on Saturday and put in a full day on the slopes. Not having skied at all this winter, I / we really felt how out of "skiing shape" I / we were. The hot tub was a true blessing.
Unfortunately, mother nature had not been kind to us with a steady rainfall. We cut our trip short and returned home. It was then that I realized I had left my glasses at the cabin. A quick phone call to Steve and he found them and sent them back to me. He is very responsive!
We will rent again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonna G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful cabin! It is situated in a very private spot, but with stores and restaurants within short driving distance. We enjoyed hiking Crane Mountain, and would definitely like to come back for some skiing at Gore! The owner was very thoughtful and friendly when we spoke on the phone. Loved the wood stove, the hot tub--the perfect place for a getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the cabin and the area.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were visiting from Scotland as part of a bigger trip around the east side of the States (Chicago, Cape Cod etc), this area was definitely one of the highlights. The cabin was very roomy, comfortable and fully equipt. We loved the opportunity to soak in the hot tub, cook and watch netflixs after spending the days exploring the area. The cabin feels nicely remote but there is an excellent supermarket, nice delis and restaurants only a short drive away. Lots of outdoor activities in the area too- we particularly enjoyed white water rafting with Square Eddy. The owner was extremely helpful, leaving lots of info about the area and ringing to see if there was anything else he could do to help. We loved it and would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as in the pictures”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The hot tub is only big enough for two small people abd there's a wood stove in the middle of the fireplace there's no open fireplace as in the photos.tge owners shouk d up date the pictures

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danni M
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a cozy cabin!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The cabin is secluded, but only a short drive to town and Gore Mountain. The cabin is well stocked, and the hot tub was the highlight of our stay! We used the fire pit out back, and the wood stove inside. The Netflix was wonderful for evening movies. Would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing