We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very private, yet easily accessible from most...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ausable cottage in Winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ausable cottage in Winter
Winter playground Ausable Cottage in Summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Ausable cottage in Winter
Winter playground
Ausable Cottage in Summer
Living Room
Kitchen with granite island and maple cabinets
New bathroom: sink and shower
New kitchen with granite island and maple cabinets
Dining area
Ausable River by cottage
Dining Area
Fall colors on driveway
Morning fog over meadow
View from patio
View from Patio
Loft bedroom
Friendly visitors
Master bedroom
Sunrise from patio
Canoeing on river
View from loft bedroom
View from patio
View from patio
Antique buffet in kitchen
View from patio
Cottage from Ausable River
Ausable River by cottage
Dining area
Rainbow over meadow
Fall colors
Friendly visitors
Friendly visitors
Living Room
Sunrise from patio
Fireplace
Path leading to Ausable River
View of meadow from king-size bed in master bedroom
Dining table on patio
Living room
Cozy by fireplace
Living room
Firepit in front of cottage
Sunset from patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Jay, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ramprasat...
1 review
“Very private, yet easily accessible from most attractions.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was at the Ausable camp in July 2016, for 3 days...it was a memorable stay. We could have planned for couple more days of stay, unfortunately, I had to return to work.
The highlight of our 3-day trip was our stay at the cottage - very private, yet easily accessible from most attractions.
My 6 year old kid had fun too...huge meadow surrounding the cottage, she loved playing there that she did not want to leave.
The kitchen had almost everything...well equipped and clean. The furniture were nice (especially the couch in the living room). What I like the most is that there is so many glass windows in the living room...that when you sit on the couch with the window blinds unleashed, you almost feel like sitting on the meadow.
I would love to plan another vacation to Adirondacks soon (a lengthy one this time) and that's mainly to enjoy the stay at this cottage. The owner (Annie) was so nice and kind. She briefly visited us on the first day...just to share some maps, info. on the nearby attractions and ensure we were all set for the fun.
It was, on the whole, a very memorable stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Ram and his family really seemed to appreciate the quiet surroundings. They left the cottage in immaculate condition. Eveything was perfectly clean and orderly when they left. I do hope we have a chance to welcome the whole family again in the future and I certainly would recommend them to any other host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yael888
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is most lovely in great location, very well equipped with everything you need and the owner is very nice and helpful. We will recommend our friends...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Einor and her family did not waste anytime. They were hiking Whiteface the very next morning they set foot in the area. They had probably done their homework. They left the cottage in immaculate condition. I recommend them warmly to the TripAdvisor community.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david b
1 review
“everything about the house was what I expected.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great views and private location. Well maintained and equipped. Quiet and relaxing. No Complaints. Owner very helpful and always available by phone. Very likely to return again in the future

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
David's party were perfect guests. They were interested in kayaking and they left the cottage in perfect order. I would certainly recommend them to the AirBnB community and they are most welcome to come back to our little cottage whenever they want.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbrady80
1 review
“Expectations were wet met and then some.”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was looking to get away for the weekend to relax and possibly get some hiking/excursions in. The cottage was perfectly located for that and is fully equipped with anything you need. The living room is very relaxing the walls are pretty much all windows giving it an open vibe. The cable and sound worked great! I haven't had cable in years so I would know. The kitchen is fully equipped. Down to a blender and salad mixer. The bed is a bit hard but if that is an issue don't worry there is extra comforters and blankets that could be used. The land is nestled deep enough in the woods to give almost perfect privacy (You can catch a glimpse of RT 9 from the front porch). Sits right on the Ausable River (canoes were waiting on the property..) And the view was great! I watched a family of deer have dinner were I was far enough away as to not disturb them. The view is pretty massive. I got to hang out at Lake Placid, hiked Whiteface Mountain, and discover High Falls Gorge. All within a 20-30 minute drive. The drives to these places wasn't a bother either, considering the views. If you single and looking to just get away, a couple, family, or just a group of friends, I highly recommend this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you for your thoughtful review. You give our little cottage a careful description of one of the main assets of the locale, namely the quietness and privacy of the surroundings and the fact that it is very close to all kinds of attractive activities. It is relaxing to be able to watch the deer run in the meadow around the house while dining or lounging on the patio.

Michael was a perfect guest who left the place in immaculate condition. I would recommend him without any reservation to any host. He is truly a 5 star traveller.

I hope I have a chance to host him again in a not too distant future. Fall in the Adirondacks is particularly alluring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail F
Clayton, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unique property - cute cottage, river, forest, meadow, mountain views & wildlife.”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I spent a peaceful week at Adirondack Cottage. The cottage is adorable and all the windows provide for excellent views of the surrounding meadow, forest and mountains in addition to the wildlife. We so enjoyed watching the deer and turkeys. What a surprise to look out the window while brushing my teeth and see a small flock of turkeys making their way through the yard. We loved the bedroom with it's king size bed and large window but found the bed too hard for our taste, but fortunately the beds upstairs were softer so we pushed the twin beds together and slept up there. The location was centrally located for us and we explored Whiteface Mtn. and Lake Placid as well as Elizabethtown and Lake Champlain. The only advice I would give to travelers to this area and not just this cottage (especially if you come from an area where you're used to the convenience of multiple stores and restaurants), is to bring what you will need for dinner and breakfast the next morning. Then you can venture out the next day to shop. Lake Placid has 2 major grocery stores and many restaurants. The only complaint would be no TV. Great place for a couples get away!! The owner was great to work with!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private, peaceful, views, wildlife, quiant cottage with lots of windows
Liked least: Hard bed (not a complaint, just matter of preference)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you for your constructive criticism. The king-size bed has a firm mattress indeed, hotel quality. You found it too hard, but it seems that a lot of people prefer a firm mattress. Those two mattresses upstairs are brand new but softer.

As for the grocery stores, I had warned you that it might be a good idea to get your shopping done before arriving in Jay, if you don't feel like driving the extra 16 miles to get to Lake Placid.

You do have a very keen sense of inquiry. Few renters notice the historical vestiges on the property. When you talk to older people in the area or go through the historical documents and photographs in the local libraries, you are struck by the fact that this corner of the Adirondacks has long attracted a lot of interesting people. As I told you our little cottage was part of a large property that belonged to Donald Ogden Stewart who wrote the script for "The Philadelphia Story". He apparently lead a glamorous life between New York and Hollywood and he would spent his summers in Jay where he had his writing studio in the woods.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing