We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip”
Review of Ithaca Ale House

Ithaca Ale House
Ranked #16 of 241 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Visited based on TripAdvisor rating. Food and beer selection were decent. Service was lackluster. Have you ever had a potentially good experience ruined by poor wait staff? It happened here...

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Adry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2021

We stopped at the Ithaca Ale House for dinner on the first night of a recent trip to Ithaca. It was a Monday around 5:30 pm, and the area was surprisingly crowded, although many of the surrounding restaurants were closed (either permanently or for Monday). The Ale House is located on the east end of the Commons, on a street that has been closed off to cars and is now known as the "Streatery." Outdoor seating abounds, but the Ale House only had a small outdoor section and a 1-hour wait, so we opted to be seated at the bar and were seated immediately.

I think we got better service at the bar! Our server attended to us regularly, replenishing our drinks and bringing out the food very quickly. There is a great selection of beers (both on tap and in bottles/cans), and the food was delicious! We had heard the burgers were good here, and we can verify that, two thumbs up. Plus, the fries were amazing, perfectly seasoned and crispy. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank btobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

Great food! Accommodated our dog on the patio and our 3 young kids at lunch! Anna did great waiting on our table! We loved our vacation lunch!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Fantastic place! No wait to get in. Waitress was very friendly, and very quick. Beers are cold and delicious. We got a margherita flatbread that was excellent. Fresh tomatoes, great crust. Got the buffalo chicken sandwich, huge portion, spicy! Also had a chicken Caesar salad, which was massive and loaded with grilled chicken. Would go back again and again.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Just a short walk from the William Henry Miller Inn where we were staying, we waited just 5 minutes for outside seating (highly advise over darker indoors) and had solid food and great service two nights in a row. Obviously popular among locals as well. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank RealCABlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Ithaca Ale House also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ithaca Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.