We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Choogee
Los Angeles, California

The best camp we have had the pleasure and privilege to be guests at in Africa.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2024
My apologies to Old Mondoro Camp and staff and Madelein and Mark and Samora for such a delinquent review. But, Old Mondoro Camp is our favorite camp we’ve ever had the privilege to stay at on safari. We were there at the end of October 2023 and stayed five nights. We opted for the extra option of a private vehicle to ourselves so that we had the choice of stopping and going anywhere for as long as WE wanted. Madelein and Mark were our hosts, who were the also the best we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. And the rest of the camp staff were perfect and so helpful and kind to us. Old Mondoro’s chef was really good. Madelein’s artistic detail and touches were all over the camp.
As we approached the edge of the Zambezi river on which the camp was situated, hundreds of Cape Buffalo were headed toward the lagoon in front of where the rooms were. We were driven to the main area of the camp to be met and greeted by Madelein and Mark and a wonderful cold ice tea. It was near 100 degrees when we arrived. October is very hot, but the grasses are shorter than making game viewing much easier. As we were taken to our lodging by land-cruiser due to the fact elephants were walking through camp. Our room was amazing, situated at the edge of the lagoon inlet from the Zambezi. Elephants came up to the room and looked at us and then walked past. It was just magical. We could just take a seated game drive form our room. Game were visiting camp all of the time, from plains game to Hippos, Cape Buffalo, and of course the Elephants. Each room had a walkie talky to hail a land-cruiser to get you to the dining area to stay safe from the game.
Our Driver/Guide was Samora, who was so knowledgeable about the land and flora and fauna. Guides must pass a stringent testing process in order to become qualified as a guide and driver. His instincts for finding the game and anticipation of their movements was uncanny. He would kid us all the time saying 95% of seeing such and such, and sure enough the sightings would materialize… We started nicknaming him Mr. 95, LOL.
Game drives start after breakfast at 5:30AM. Since we were in our own vehicle we had the luxury of starting and ending whenever. Since it was so hot, each room had kikois for us to soak in water and wring out to place around our necks on the game drive to remain cool. We each were given our own metal water bottles with our names, filled with ice cold water to keep hydrated. On our game drives we viewed abundant Elephant, Waterbuck, Puku antelope, Hippo, Cape Buffalo, Lion, Leopard and Wild Dog. We saw Leopard every day and had multiple good sightings of Wild Dog. This was the one of the main reasons to come to Zambia, for the opportunity to view Leopard and Wild Dog and last but not least to stay at Old Mondoro Camp…. Mondoro means lion.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 47 937
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 47 937
  • Tripadvisor
    R 47 937
  • Priceline
Pool
Room service
Main Lodge Pool
R 5 628
R 4 255
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 628
88.8 km from Old Mondoro Bush Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 890
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 886
77.8 km from Old Mondoro Bush Camp
View more hotels in Lower Zambezi National Park
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
277
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
277
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zambezi river game drives lost count other guests great game porridge wild dogs night game wonderful hosts a special place safari trip delicious food day bed african bush laundry service fish early morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

We have stayed in fantastic camps throughout Africa but this camp comes out on top. The camp run by Maddie and Mark are delightful and took time to have some great conversations .
Food in camp from toast being cooked over the camp fire for breakfast to dinner in the evening were delicious . We stayed in room 1 looking over the great Zambezi River. Luckson was our guide and joined with Tryford for our night drives were both very knowledgeable and Tryford great at spotting things with the light red (genet). Sightings of leopard on our drives were phenomenal and seeing Ardvark and porcupine for the first time was amazing. Elephants are literally everywhere and always in camp .
We had an afternoon boat trip with Tryford on the great Zambezi seeing Elephants on an Island then crossing the river right in front of us. Then we ventured into inlets to see crocodiles on the banks, finally stopping on a sandbank for a sundowner . Breathtaking. Then off to meet up with Luckson for our night drive. Landscape’s here are very diverse from pockets of green banked rivers to barren areas which makes it unique. Everybody who looked after us receives 10 out of 10 .THANKS

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2023

We spent three nights at Old Mondoro during our 11-day journey through Zambia, and our expectations were more than exceeded. Elephants and buffalo truly roamed through the camp, while the hippos in the Zambezi sang us to sleep. The staff were consistently accommodating and friendly. The wildlife encounters were sensational, thanks to our guides Luckson and Adson, who facilitated breathtaking experiences with wild dogs, lions, leopards, and during the night drive: porcupines, aardwarks, hyenas, jackals—only the pangolin remained elusive. We sincerely hope to return. Thank you, Old Mondoro. Thank you, Luckson and Adson!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ahf1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2023

Old Mondoro truly gave us the wild Safari experience we wanted. We woke up to elephants right in front of our room and great sightings on our game drive of Lions, leopards, hyenas, and wild dogs just to mention a few. We really enjoyed our walking safari too, very informative all thanks to our amazing guides Boaz and Yohane. Boaz had a lot to share, very knowledgeable and I would really recommend him as a guide. The food was exceptional and the staff was so helpful. I 100% recommend it!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tiwongek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

The picture does not lie. There are elephants wandering through the camp, relaxing in the watering holes, bathing in the river, even venturing into your bathtub throughout the day. Water buffalo, impalas, and baboons were frequent visitors to the watering hole right outside our room. We even had a leopard pacing back and forth one evening. Our hosts, Madeline and Mark, were as entertaining as the animals -- in a good way. We recommend this camp highly.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023 via mobile

This is 26th trip to Africa. I am not sure how we missed this amazing camp.

The wildlife around the camp is prolific. Elephants, buffalo, hippo, etc all day and night.

There were two leopard kills IN CAMP over our 5 nights. The first occurred just after we were dropped back at our tents following an excellent meal.

Next thing all the guests in the finest sleeping clothes are jumping in a vehicle to see the leopard take the kill up into a tree.

We saw
The dogs chases and kill 2 kudu and then chase and kill a bush buck 2 days later.

We saw 6 unique leopards over the course of 12 leopard sightings.

5 aardvark- it is actually “a thing” at this camp over the 5 evenings following a full moon. I thought they were pulling my leg until we saw 5 aardvark

2 porcupine

The food is really amazing. Like restaurant good.

Madeline manages the camp with grace and experience beyond her years.

To sum it up

We left a sighting of lion and leopard in close proximity to look for aardvark. On the way to the aardvark we were slowed down by a porcupine sighting.

Highly Highly Recommended

Mike Maloon

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews