We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SheilaH1987
Hathersage, United Kingdom

Amazing place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
What a fabulous place, reached by crossing the river by boat. A warm welcome from Bianca and Boniface when we arrived was followed by a lovely lunch. After a tour of the camp and our amazing room, there was time for a nap before afternoon tea and a game drive. We were really lucky to have Julius as our guide, and with his experience and help from Boniface, on our first night drive he managed to find the wild dog pack laid resting before seeing off two hyenas. Julius was very knowledgeable, not only about the animals but also the birds and trees. His enthusiasm, friendliness and willingness to share his knowledge was great. All the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent. Breakfast and lunch are buffet style with a choice of menu every day for the evening meal. The laundry and ironing service meant that we only needed carry on luggage so no lost cases to worry about.
A huge thank you to everyone at River Camp for making our stay so special and we hope to see you again one day.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
3.4 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 979
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 446
5.1 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
Free parking
Pool
.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 124
  • Booking.com
    R 20 204
  • Vio.com
    R 20 184
3.7 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
Tented River View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 453
  • Vio.com
10.3 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
Free parking
Pool
R 10 239
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 10 239
1.3 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
R 10 229
Multiple ways to pay
    6.3 km from Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (114)
    Filter reviews
    114 results
    Traveller rating
    93
    16
    1
    2
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    93
    16
    1
    2
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews robin pope game drives across the river wild dogs lovely lodge next morning national park mfuwe airport tena tena easy access dry season bush walk three nights meal times sense of humour southern africa zambia
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 114 reviews
    Reviewed 22 April 2024

    As soon as I arrived the lodge, it felt like home. When I add the exquisite service of all staff, the delicious food, the experienced guide John, host Bianca, the magic setting, I can only say this is a unique lodge which I would recommend anyone.
    The rooms are very spacious and perfectly equipped, laundry service is so handy as well as the night watch who takes care of you when returning to your cabin. Crossing the Luangwa river daily to reach the park gives an extra touch. Also a big plus, a massage, right in your room, very nicely prepared lunch box....all these extra details turn your holiday into a very relaxing stay.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank steftjev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steph Naidoo Fernandes, Other at Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

    Dear Stef

    Many thanks for visiting Luangwa River Camp and i am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
    I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team on the ground as they will be thrilled to know you had a good time!

    We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a lovely review and also are grateful for the fantastic images of the lions as well as the wild dog video.

    We hope to see you back here in the not so distant future!
    Regards
    Steph & the RPS Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2023

    Was a wonderful experience to be so immersed in nature. I traveled with my youngest daughter. The camp was absolutely stunning. So many animals to see... food was delicious and the staff were awesome.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Deborah H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steph Naidoo Fernandes, Other at Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

    Dear Deborah


    We are thrilled to hear you had such a great time when you stayed at Luangwa River Camp. The team will be delighted and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay.

    Regards
    Steph & the RPS Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 August 2023

    Wonderful wildlife, both animals and birds, everywhere! Amazing National Park environment. Knowledgeable guides who were great at finding the wildlife, and explaining the ecology. Attentive and capable support staff. Couldn't be better! Thank you!

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank ed m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steph Naidoo Fernandes, Other at Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

    Dear Ed M

    Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate the time you have taken to post it and our team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

    We hope to have you back soon.

    Regards
    Steph & the RPS Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 August 2023

    The camp is just stunning, great setting and lovely communal areas. Plenty of space between the chalets, which are in themselves very spacious and comfortable. The food is fabulous and the team look after you very well indeed.
    The guiding is superb, even quieter drives are made interesting!

    Room tip: Chalet 1 is our favourite
    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jane P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steph Naidoo Fernandes, Other at Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

    Dear Jane

    Many thanks for your lovely review!

    We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Luangwa River Camp and i will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team who will be thrilled to know you had a good stay.

    We also appreciate the time you have taken to post this review as it is such a great help to us and to potential travellers.

    Looking forward to having you and Ian stay again soon!
    Steph & the RPS Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 July 2023

    My second time with Robin Pope, we came back expecting great things and we were not disappointed!

    The accommodation is delightful with bath and shower and plenty of hot water. The rooms are very private and secluded, apart of course form the odd Hippo or elephant walking by!

    The staff were brilliant, always welcoming, always informative and just really lovely people. Our guides were very knowledgeable and not just about the mammals, we were educated about birds, insect and trees as well!! Such a great learning experience for us both.

    Room tip: Make sure you use the insect repellent provided
    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank W4682QDcharlesc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Steph Naidoo Fernandes, Other at Luangwa River Camp - Robin Pope Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2023

    Dear Charles

    First off, thank you very much for raking the time to post a review about your stay at Luangwa River Camp. We really do appreciate it!

    How wonderful to have you back with us and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff as they will be thrilled to know you appreciated their hospitality.

    We are so grateful that you keep coming back and we hope to see you again in the not so distant future!

    Till then take care and stay well!
    Steph

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews