We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Trotter747
United Kingdom

Certainly gave us many memories to treasure, lovely camp.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Dec 2023
Accommodation is brick and thatch chalets which also have a deck built over the river which is very relaxing. Lovely location with great views of the river from our chalet (and the outside bath and if you are lucky some wildlife walking just outside). All the team made us feel very welcome and the food was delicious and plentiful. They have wi-fi. The wildlife is fabulous and the level of guiding superb. The carmine hide out on the boat is an excellent way to view the birds. We saw 4 days of wild dogs which made the stay. We experience one night at elephant hide, which we enjoyed, and we felt very safe there. We loved the relaxed efficiency and comfort of Kaingo.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 989
R 2 504
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 505
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 989
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 504
24.4 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
Pool
Restaurant
R 3 200
R 2 953
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 954
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 200
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 982
25.9 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 10 073
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 10 073
20.2 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
R 36 515
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 36 515
  • eDreams
    R 36 515
14.2 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
23.9 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 530
  • Vio.com
    R 15 602
31.1 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 10 055
Multiple ways to pay
    26.9 km from Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (179)
    Filter reviews
    179 results
    Traveller rating
    173
    4
    1
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    173
    4
    1
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews elephant hide carmine bee eater overlooking the river luangwa river ebony forest science lesson incredible meals washing powder mid day open plains professional guide photos and videos central lounge late afternoon evening mfuwe airport special place wild dogs
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 179 reviews
    Reviewed 12 November 2023

    It was our second time in this camp and again it was everything we hoped it would be.
    The chalet is very comfortable and the food in the camp is the best we had (thank you Catherine). Sylvester was (not planned) again our guide. He was very flexible, always enthusiastic and sees every animal. We even skipped the afternoon tea at our request to get as much safari time possible. Thank you Sylvester for the ferrari safari to get in time for the dogs and the lion attack on the buffalo. We have visited North Luangwa and the Southern part of the park and the wildlife is most abundant here with hardly any other cars. And many thanks to Cally, Joseph and the rest of the staff to make us feel so good that we'll be back!

    Room tip: Get the chalets near the main lodge and you don't have to be brought back and forth in the dark
    Date of stay: October 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Amsterdamcouple100
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Shenton Safaris, Sales at Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

    Many thanks for your review - we're thriled you enjoyed your stay with us once again!
    We strive to ensure guets leave feeling part of the Shentons family and we look forward to seeing you again

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 October 2023

    This place is incredible. It's a lovely camp set deep in the park, and the staff is so nice, welcoming and attentive. The food is among the best I've had, in any location, nevermind out in the middle of the bush. The huts are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are nothing short of luxurious. The wildlife viewing here is also outstanding, as the guides are extremely knowledgeable. The night drives were my favorite! The river view right from camp is also endlessly entertaining and amazing. It's not easy to get here and that's part of the appeal, as you will see very few other safari vehicles during your time here. Thank you to Cally, Joseph, Catherine and everyone who made our stay so wonderful!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Casey C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Shenton Safaris, Sales at Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us at Kaingo Camp! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and have such fond memories of your time with us.
    Our remote location does mean we enjoy unrushed, crowd-free sightings, meaning guets leave having enjoyed some incredible encounters.
    Aside from the spectacular wildlife, Chef Catherine's food keeps guests returning year after year, she never fails to impress!
    Thanks again for your review, and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 September 2023

    This was truly one of the best safari experiences I have had! Honestly I am not really sure where to start…lets start with the camp itself: The location is A+ right on the Zambezi river. The camp team is so welcoming and ready to know what you want or need, before you can ask! As a woman, I found it really nice to have a female manager Kelly and female head chef Kathreen.
    The food in camp was delicious and creative, and all home grown!
    The common grounds and individuals rooms are designed and decorated beautiful and thoughtful. You can tell that the camp is owned by a couple that is very much involved and visits the camp regularly!

    Yoram, our guide was very fun to be around and he is an amazing spotter. On top of incredible, lion and leopard sightings, he spotted rare birds and owls. We spend one afternoon in their hippo hide, where you can get eye level with the hippos in the water. Needless to say, I would highly recommend Kaingo Shelton Safaris and can’t wait to return!!!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Beate A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Shenton Safaris, Sales at Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

    Hi Beate, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Kaingo Camp. We're delighted you had a memorable experience, with some incredible wildlife encounters ranging from big cats to our smaller feathered friends. On behalf of Cally, Catherine and the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back agian soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 January 2023

    It has been a few months since our trip. Still thinking often of the days on safari with Sly having photo fun with amazing animal moments. I am still going through photos and videos.

    Overall trip was EPIC thanks in part to the week we spent at the Shenton Safari Camps. We knew it was the start of something special during our 1st game drive at Mwamba. The fun and incredible sights continued the remainder of our trip at both camps. Kaingo was as amazing as Mwamba.

    Each camp provides a different feel for the accommodations as many have said in reviews. Kaingo is larger and permanent. If you do not like the outside bathroom, then Kaingo is the camp for you. Although you can enjoy an outside tub too (I did as I listened to alarming calling in the distance).

    My friend and I enjoyed both camps and talked about how we liked the differences each provides which makes it very hard to pick one vs the other. We are pleased we stayed at both. 


    The number of return visitors continued at this camp as well. That tells you how wonderful the Shenton camps are run. Our guide, Sly, was with us at both camps and we enjoyed the fun with him and the rangers. Lots of stories were shared which I enjoy on safari. It was hard to leave as we wanted to enjoy more time with Sly and our Ranger, Batwell. Memories which will bring smiles for a lifetime! Thanks!!!

    Highlights/suggestions:
    *Always be open minded to enjoy what the day brings as each is different. 

    *Ebony Forest at sunrise should not be missed.

    *Sundowners with the hippos and other wild life by the river. 

    *Carmine bee eaters hide put me in awe of these birds. This was not a must on my list when we arrived. I am so glad we were fortunate to do it. Definitely say do not miss it. *Having Patrick do the drum call was great too. 

    *Walking safari was very good too (per my friend's experience)

    The food at both camps was wonderful. A shout out of THANKS to all the staff (cooks, camp staff, managers, guides, rangers, etc.) who made out time at both camps EPIC! We had so many special moments. If I am fortunate to return to Africa, I will return to Shenton and Zambia.


    Date of stay: September 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank Gio_Patti
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Shenton Safaris, Sales at Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2023

    Hi Patti, thanks so much for your detailed review and recommendations to other potential visitors - we do appreciate it when past guests take the time to share their experiences.
    We're delighted you have some wonderful memories of your time spent with us (in addition to many photos!) and hope they are stories you will continue to tell with much fondness for many years to come.
    We do hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 October 2022

    We spent 4 nights here and had the most amazing time thanks to the people we spent time with, and the many working behind the scenes. A special mention for Lester, Gerard, Ruben and Alex who were great company at dinner and Joseph who looked after us so well.
    Catherine always surprised us with her brunch and dinner menus. The food was outstanding and we are waiting for her to publish a book! Breakfast in The Ebony Grove was magical.
    Robert was our guide and such great company. He found us so much to see. With his great knowledge of the animals, birds and plants we added lots more to what we already knew.
    Don’t miss the Elephant Hide and Hippo Hide. However the outstanding hide was the Carmine Bee-eater. If you visit when the birds are in residence this should be a must do activity.
    We did not want to leave but as I said “if we don’t leave we can’t come back” This is a camp which is our visit again list.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank SI_Traveller56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Shenton Safaris, Sales at Shenton Safaris Kaingo Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2022

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback - it's always wonderful to receive guest reviews and learn about the highlights of your stay, and what we can do better next time.
    Our superb team of staff really are an incredible asset and complement the amazing wildlife and scenic location we're fortunate enough to call home. Like many others before you, it's these things that keep guests returning year after year, and we're delighted to hear that you plan to return to Kaingo in the not-too-distant future!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews