We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jantwickers
Twickenham

Amazing & beautiful!

Review of Flatdogs Camp
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jun 2024via mobile
An amazing experience. Everything about this was superb. The attention to detail & service by all was superb. All the staff were fantastic & soooo helpful & you were made to feel so welcome & at home. Special thanks go to Memory & Job who really were fantastic.
The accommodation was lovely & you really felt at home with nature. The fact they did your laundry every day was a real bonus !
The food was amazing & choice was incredible if you understand the location, everything was so fresh & beautiful cooked & presented.
Special thanks has to go to Chris our guide - he was so incredibly friendly, knowledgeable & truly amazing. He took us to some beautiful locations & because there are no annoying radios we were able to just enjoy the animals ( we saw so much) & the moment & quite often we didn’t see any other vehicles. This was so special & his knowledge was incredible.
We absolutely loved it - it’s not pretentious just wonderfully relaxing !
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: If visiting in June bring warm clothes, layers for evening & mornings !
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Salmon, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this review
Responded 18 Jun 2024
Wow! Thank you for this brilliant review, we really appreciate it! Very happy you felt the warmth of the welcome and that everyone made you feel right at home.. that's what we aim for, along with great guiding and a safari experience you will remember for many years to come... we are so pleased you loved it and hopefully you might be able to come back and see us again one day... thank you again and best wishes from the whole team here at Flatties!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
.
R 6 273
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 119
  • Booking.com
    R 20 342
  • Vio.com
    R 20 301
2.2 km from Flatdogs Camp
Tented River View
R 15 965
R 14 154
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 14 154
  • Vio.com
    R 15 965
5.3 km from Flatdogs Camp
Free parking
Pool
R 10 309
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 10 309
6.1 km from Flatdogs Camp
View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
699
55
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
699
55
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flat dogs daily specials game drives the river national park luxury tents south luangwa local school wild dogs private pool safari experience self drive the managers fantastic food stayed nights amazing safari laundry service
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

This safari experience was off the scale in every way and waaaay exceeded my expectations based on how it is sold. True to their mission, they aim to be an affordable safari option so offer a range of accommodations to suit different budgets, but every option has a touch of luxury and special attention… and the higher end options are as luxurious as I can imagine anywhere, including tents and private houses built directly in view of elephants, hippos, baboons, impala and other wildlife roaming in their natural habitat.
The safari tours themselves are an amazing experience… with incredibly knowledgeable tour guides who tailor their information to your interests…. and amazing range of wildlife close up (I saw lions, zebra, buffalo, elephants, warthogs, and many more..) I shared rides with travelers from a range of groups, some of whom live in Africa and have done many safaris and said this was the best they’d experienced ever.
Finally, the food…. is incredible. A really wide range of options, all prepared in-house, delicious and of high-star restaurant standard.
You won’t regret choosing this camp. The all-inclusive packages (2 safaris per day, all food, luxury accommodation) are definitely the easiest option but if you are watching your budget more closely then you won’t go wrong choosing a cheaper accommodation option and going on a few fewer outings. Once there, everyone is treated like a special guest by the amazing staff and you’re guaranteed to leave with a smile on your face.
For me, the highlight was elephants walking through the camp and having a sleep next to our tent! Everyone was very respectful of maintaining their space while also helping us to be as close as was safe. A great example of humans and wildlife living in close proximity in a positive way.

Room tip: The staff can make a recommendation based on your budget/ hopes etc.. they’re great at tailoring to suit & can book other Zambia travel too
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rhiananya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Salmon, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2024

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are smiling all over our faces that you loved it so much and that you think we're getting it right! So very happy to have you stay here and hope that you will come back with the rest of the family one day... :) all best wishes and thanks from everyone here! Jess, Ade and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2024

What an incredible trip. Spent 5 nights here as a solo traveler and the experience was amazing. This is literally the place where everyone knows your name. The staff makes you as comfortable as can be and they are always looking to ensure you're happy and well fed! The safari rides were super fun with incredibly knowledgeable guides. Woke up to hippos walking 3 feet away from my accommodation the first morning... food was excellent, loved my half outdoor shower and Dave and Anna made the experience so enjoyable. Highly recommend and I would return in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Coley, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2024

We are very pleased you had such a great time. We think Flatdogs really works for solo travellers and it is great to hear from you that is was just right. You meet some great people when on safari and we have friends for life who come back to Flatdogs together after meeting here!! Our guides are some of the best in Africa and with no fences anywhere the safari doesn't stop when you are in camp. Dave, Anna and their team really do go out of their way to make sure the experience is top notch, so thanks for your great review and we hope you make it back here one day soon!
Ade and the whole Flatdogs team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

Flatdogs is the ultimate authentic African safari experience. Jess and Adi run a warm, professional but personal camp where nothing is too much trouble. The camp itself is unique with fabulous tented camps set on the rive, with hippos and elephants making regular visits to camp! The food is excellent (one of the only a la carte menu camps) and they are always flexible with meal timings. The staff could not be more helpful and do everything to make your stay memorable. The game drives are sensational with an abundance of game and very knowledgeable rangers. A big bonus is the additional spotter at night. We saw multiple sightings of lion, leopard, elephant and buffalo, as well as lots of other game. Our party consisted of 18 family members celebrating a 70th birthday and the trip was a success from the youngest (9) to the eldest (78). Every effort was made to ensure a trip of a lifetime, including organising a concert from the local African church choir. The situation of the camp also allows easy access to visit the local school and textile shops in town. I could not recommend more highly!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pioneer23805440602
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Salmon, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you so much Liz and Peter for bringing your lovely family to stay!! It was a total pleasure hosting you all and seeing the delight and excitement on the kids' faces as they told us what they'd seen each drive - wonderful! Thank you for trusting us with this very special trip and we hope we may see some or all of you again one day! best wishes, Jess and Add

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

I just recently returned from a 4-night stay at Flatdogs with a family member, and after traveling all the way from Zambia back home to the USA, the first thing I did was hop online to write a review.

Flatdogs exceeded every expectation I had. If you are thinking about going to South Luangwa, do it. And stay at Flatdogs.

To start with, the staff is beyond friendly and hospitable. The ownership & management team will go out of their way to get to know you and make sure you are comfortable, and that level of hospitality trickles right down to all the other members of the staff on premises. The friendliness & professionalism of the staff was a major factor in my happiness with Flatdogs. While there, I talked with other guests, some of whom had been coming to Flatdogs for more than a decade, and they told me they continue to come back because they experience the same hospitality year after year.

We were assigned one guide for our entire stay (Chris), and he was simply terrific. He is friendly and incredibly knowledgeable with well over 10+ years of guiding experience. Being with one guide the entire time really paid dividends for our stay as we started to be able to reference earlier drives, locations, and experiences as we got further into our trip. It created a comfortable shorthand with Chris where he could then start catering future drives with us based on our past experiences. While on our drives, we saw everything you can think of - multiple close lion & leopard encounters (some on the same drive!), several great elephant encounters, lots of sightings of thorncroft giraffe, more hippo sightings than you can count, exceptional sightings of various birds, the first porcupine sighting of the season, etc. We saw buffalo chase away a couple lions. We saw a male leopard chase a female up a tree. We sat and watched a large pride of lions strategize but ultimately fail to do an end around on a few impala after dusk. Chris did a terrific job finding these animals, getting us the best views possible, and educating us about them throughout. We were in the vehicle with him for about 4 hours per drive, 2 drives per day, and he was a major contributing factor to why we loved our stay so much.

BTW, for anyone on the fence about going to South Luangwa, you should simply go. We were there at the very beginning of the dry season when many roads still aren't open due to the water levels, and we still had absolutely no problem seeing so many different animals on each drive. It's a terrific park. I am not the most seasoned safari-goer, but I have been to 5-10 African game parks, and South Luangwa is currently my favorite by far.

South Luangwa is not like other more well-known parks where you might see dozens of vehicles all on CB radio racing to see the same thing which ultimately results in a massive traffic jam around a couple animals. There are far fewer operators in South Luangwa, the pace is slower, and you have to work to find some of the animals. However, we had multiple terrific encounters every single drive. It makes the experience that much rewarding, and many times we were the only vehicle in the area having these exceptional viewing experiences. It was incredible.

Back to Flatdogs - one of the features of the camp is that since it is just across the river from South Luangwa, and because South Luangwa is not fenced in, animals can and will be in the camp. The camp provides night watchmen to walk you around the grounds after the sun sets, and that is a needed service. Upon arrival to Flatdogs after dark, we were greeted by 2 hippos (a mother and calf) on the path between the central area of the camp and our tent, so we took a longer route to our tent. On another night during our chaperoned walk back to the tent, we watched two hippos fight not too far away from us, and then they ran off into the darkness. This is part of the appeal of Flatdogs, but you need to be open to knowing that you might have these types of encounters. You can and will hear hippos calling around you through the day and night, and we were told repeatedly that later in the season when food becomes more scarce, other animals will walk through the grounds, too. It wasn't surprising to hear that; we routinely saw families of elephants and towers of giraffes on the access road to Flatdogs just a couple minutes' drive from our tent. That added to the allure for us. If that doesn't sound appealing to you, maybe consider a chalet room at Flatdogs instead of a tent.

We stayed in the luxury tent in Flatdogs, and it had everything we could hope for. It was serviced multiple times per day. Mosquito nets were put down before it got dark and then put up while we were out on our morning drives. Everything in and around the tent was clean and furnished plainly but wonderfully. The bathroom facilities were terrific compared to other similar-type tents I've stayed at in other parks. Just remember that you are in a remote area of Zambia in the middle of the wilderness near a game park. You will get a fan in your tent, but the tents do not have AC. There will be bugs out back in the bathroom/shower area. You will not get wifi in your tent...it will be available in the central part of the camp most of time. Sometimes it comes in and out. This is part of the experience. You have to be willing to embrace it.

The food is very good and the menu includes both western & local options. I thought everything was reasonably priced, including the drinks. I opted for an all-inclusive package rate that included lodging, food, laundry, pick up/drop off at the airport, and our game drives - basically everything was included but drinks. Compared to other places I have been & other places even while comparison shopping around South Luangwa, I found it to be very reasonably priced.

I could continue to go on further about Flatdogs, but I think I will stop here. If there was a rating beyond 5 stars, that's what I would give it. We only checked out 48 hours ago, but we are already dreaming about a return.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webegon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Coley, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi Guys,
How great you put this wonderful review up so soon. I had almost forgotten you had gone! We are so pleased you had such a great time. I thought you would from the moment we had to dodge the mother and baby hippo on the first night!! You have said it all and you are why we do what we do. We hope to see you both again soon, and hope that more people like you choose Flatdogs because of your great review! thanks very much and see you soon!
Ade and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

Unlike most guests that were there, we did not go for the game viewing, we just needed a quiet getaway in nature...and boy did they deliver! The game viewing was clearly amazing however, other guests were raving about their amazing sightings when we chatted around the pool! We stayed in a chalet, which was spacious, comfortable and stylishly kitted out with all the basics you need, including a braai which we will definitely use next time! Loved that it has the facility of self catering, restaurant delivery or eating at the restaurant...great to have such choice. Food at the restaurant was fresh, tasty and locally souced. We spent most of our time at the pools, a choice of one in the sun and one shaded...genius! The attentive service and genuine hospitality of this team is what made
this so special, from the groundsman asking me my name and how my stay has been as I walked past, all the way up to the hands on management. A huge thank you to the whole team for an amazing few days...as my husband and I were driving out we were already talking about when we could arrange our next stay! Hope to see you soon Flat Dogs family.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnAir21175092051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Coley, Owner at Flatdogs Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Flatdogs offers that flexibility that others dont, and sometimes a beautiful place to relax is all that is needed. Glad we gave you that. Thanks for the lovely review and for noticing the little things that we spend so much time on. Locally sourced food, great staff, incredible safari guides (next time!!) and exceptional service. We are very proud of the whole team and very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.
See you again soon we hope
Ade and the whole Flatdogs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews