We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bushbaby7
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Magical Chinzomo!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2023
What an amazing , memory filled 5 day stay I enjoyed with my son at Chinzomo - we couldn't have asked for more!
Your staff are one of a kind, so helpful and attentive.
For somebody with mobility issues they went out of their way to make my stay as easy as possible- always someone by my side!
A BIG thank you to Adam- you are one in a million and finding an Ingo for me on our last day was a dream come true- I am a bush baby at heart!
Your accommodation and catering are next level! To enjoy a true African experience I highly recommend this beautiful camp to anyone travelling to Zambia. You will leave with a treasure trove of memories of a once in a lifetime experience
Grateful thanks

Zetta Wollheim

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this review
Responded 04 Jul 2023
Zetta, we cannot thank you enough for your kind words and this wonderful review. We are overjoyed to hear that you had such an incredible time and that you now have wonderful memories to carry with you for a lifetime. We will pass your kind words on to Adam and the rest of our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
The Time + Tide Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 470
R 4 978
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 978
  • Lol.travel
1.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Breakfast included
Pool
the beautiful pool area
    3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Camp at dawn
      3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
      Free parking
      Pool
      .
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Expedia.com
        R 6 121
      • Vio.com
      3.7 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
      Tented River View
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
        R 13 383
      • Vio.com
      4.3 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
      Reviews (97)
      Filter reviews
      97 results
      Traveller rating
      85
      7
      2
      3
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      85
      7
      2
      3
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews south luangwa private pool the river well oiled machine sun loungers walk in shower yogurt special treat food is excellent little things once in a lifetime our honeymoon mfuwe airport spent nights villa plunge luxury
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 97 reviews
      Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

      We came as a family of 4 for 2 nights and everything was incredible. All the staff were so lovely, attentive and knowledgeable.

      The staff made sure that’s the kids had everything they needed including games, activities, food and even a packed lunch when we left.

      Our guide Byron was so friendly, engaging and informative making sure the kids enjoyed the drives and that we were able to have fantastic sightings.

      Thank you to Chibasa and all of the staff, we had the most amazing stay.

      Date of stay: May 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Stay618112
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2023

      Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. We're so happy to hear that you had an incredible stay with your family. We'll be sure to pass your kind words on to Chibesa, Byron and the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

      Warm regards
      The Time + Tide Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 23 April 2023

      my husband and I just spent 4 nights at your lodge for our honeymoon. Everything was incredible; the rooms are so beautiful, the food is delicious and the sightings were amazing. But what really stood out what your staff. From the time we arrived to the moment we left, we felt so taken care of and nothing was too much to ask. I want to call out Chibesa- everything is so well run and a well oiled machine. I always think the best managers are the ones who look like they are doing nothing, cause they have made everything run so well behind the scenes.

      Then Friday was amazing and always had a smile on his face and the warmest energy. He really is a huge asset to your team. We loved our time on the vehicle with Byron and he is so incredibly knowledgeable. Chanda and Elijah were also amazing and so friendly. Although to be honest, every single staff member was magnificent.

      Thank you so much and we really hope to be back soon. We could not have asked for a better start to our trip.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Emma T
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Micaela Smith, Marketing at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2023

      Hi Emma, thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful start to your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your time at Time + Tide Chinzombo. We so appreciate your kind words about our wonderful team and that you took the time to share them with us. We will be sure to pass your message on to Chibesa and the rest of our team - they will be overjoyed to hear how much you appreciated them. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to be able to do so again in the very near future.

      Sending the warmest regards
      The Time + Tide Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 13 December 2022

      Chinzombo is a remarkable diamond in the rough in South Luangwa, beautiful earth tones of grey and light-brown blended with bright whites (of the floors and ceilings) Chinzombo manages to blend into its environment and yet still stand out. Its Management duo of Emmanuel and Chibesa ensure the smooth and seamless running of this small 6 tented camp. The rooms scream luxury with everything you would need on safari and more, catering to a very specific traveler, equipped with a fully stocked bar, hairdryers, wifi (even in the rooms), yoga mats, evening breeze cooling system in the beds for those warm Luangwa nights, and not to mention private pool, yes you heard right not plunge but actual pools. My colleague and I enjoyed our stay there.

      Date of stay: November 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank tapiwakW185YF
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Jessica Stafford, Marketing at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2022

      Thank you kindly for this excellent review - we are delighted to hear you had a memorable experience at Chinzombo. We'll be sure to pass the message on to Emmanuel and Chibesa. We look forward to welcoming you back one day!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

      Crossing the river in a small motorised boat we were transported into Nirvana. Just six tented rooms comprise the camp. Each is organised to look directly onto the river where one may while away the time observing the birds and animals, especially the groups of hippos disporting themselves. Indeed the snorting and snuffling of the hippos may qualify as ac”theme tune” for the camp.

      The tents/rooms are enormous. The bed is capacious with mosquito nets set down at night. There is a bathroom with free-standing bath and walk-in shower supplied with piping hot water. A separate unit holds the toilet. Two basins complete the sanitation ware. The wardrobe area forms part of the bathroom area.

      Outside there is a plunge/small swimming pool. Sun loungers and couches abound which bare under trees. A bush buck wandered idly past as we relaxed. This open area for animals means that that one has to be accompanied to the room at night.

      Food is excellent. Breakfast is almost up to you. The local yoghurt is superb being thick and creamy. Pancakes or eggs are offered. Lunch is usually salad with a quiche and hot dish served fresh as a buffet. One selects dinner at tea from a menu of only three courses all delicious.

      Drinks are included and may be chosen from a selection inside the room or from a small bar in the main room for the entire camp.

      Turning to the safari drives on offer and other options these are at the heart of the camp. The guides are informative, friendly and keen to make the drive as exciting as possible. Giraffe are a special animal here in the park with the Thornicroft or Luangwa sub-species only located here.

      The staff were outstanding Emmanuel gave a great news about the history of the camp and the others in the group.

      Superb. We shall return

      Date of stay: August 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank SueKot
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 May 2021

      I was very fortunate to spend a couple amazing nights at Chinzombo. It is situated on a bend on the Luangwa River with a sweeping view of a beautiful, lively landscape. The villa is very well appointed, immaculate and comfortable. A great place to relax. The staff is wonderfully attentive. Gloria is a gem of a host and Adam was a stellar safari guide. The food, every dish, was incredible. I cannot recommend this place enough. This was a wonderful vacation and I cannot wait to get back.

      Date of stay: May 2021
      Thank jberwager
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Anna Keyser, Marketing at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2022

      Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We loved having you and hope to be able to welcome you to another of our camps again in the future. Wishing you all the best for 2022.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews