We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marie S
Prague, Czech Republic

Enjoyed every minute

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Jan 2020via mobile
Truely amazing stay. Enjoyed every minute of it. Amazing view form our bedroom (that had a private pool). Service is perfect and friendly. Very warm welcome and staff is very attentive. Our guide Adam was great company and the game rides just amazing. Highly recommended!
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this review
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for the wonderful message and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Zambia. And we will certainly give Adam your wonderful remarks about his guiding. We are lucky to have a team of incredible guides that take such joy in their role in conservation.

All of our best from us all at Time + Tide
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 376
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 322
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
R 2 893
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 893
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Breakfast included
Pool
the beautiful pool area
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free Wifi
Pool
Camp at dawn
    3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free parking
    Pool
    .
    • Vio.com
    • Agoda.com
    3.7 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Tented River View
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 13 692
    • Vio.com
    4.3 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (97)
    Filter reviews
    97 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews south luangwa private pool the river well oiled machine sun loungers walk in shower yogurt special treat food is excellent little things once in a lifetime our honeymoon mfuwe airport spent nights villa plunge luxury
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 97 reviews
    Reviewed 31 December 2019

    My wife had an accident in Malawi while traveling to Zambia, so we will forever be thankful for the great service and flexibility we were provided. They took such extraordinary care of us and they did everything in their power to accommodate and change our itinerary to what ever worked best including spending the first night at the closest camp to the airport to see how she was doing and get a South African doctor to check her out (this doctor was fantastic, and even with the poor resolution x-rays of my foot, she could diagnose that I had bone fractures and treat my wounds, etc., that the Malawi doctor could not). When the Tide and Team later saw we enjoyed being in the northern part of Southern Luangwa (less crowded ) they offered us at the last minute another camp to stay overnight for us (which turned out to be a favorites). All their camps worked extremely well as a team, communicated together and up to date on how I was doing. Service was perfection at all the camps, and a shout out to the women’s management team at Chinzombo (believe Glory or Gracie, Faith and Precious) and there was also exceptional team at Kakuli too, who unfortunately can remember their names.

    Aesthetically, a beautiful, very spacious and well-designed – both camp main areas and ‘tents’ in lovely setting right on the river. I was initially a little put off by use of synthetic materials, but Tide and Team’s thought is that this would save trees. the camp does border where hunting is still allowed, but didn’t see any impact of that.

    For such a beautiful camp, they one thing they could improve is the cuisine to classify as luxury. This is something we would have never thought important on safari, but having had so many exceptional dining experiences in the bush, even camps far away from a major city, it becomes part of our comparison now. Also they seem to allow smoking close to the dining area.

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank andal03
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Mindy Roberts, General Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

    I apologise as I see our response to your lovely review wasn't posted by TripAdvisor, therefore I do apologise in the delay.

    Thank you for your delightful review and we wish your wife well on her recovery after her accident in Malawi and I am so pleased that you experienced a wonderful safari with all of that.

    We look forward to you returning in the near future to Zambia

    Best regards the time + Tide family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 November 2019 via mobile

    Very expensive and although the rooms are incredible and the standard of safari guidance is excellent it’s not really worth the money. If you like eating at your own private tables for all meals then you’d enjoy it here, where we quite like group tables where everyone swaps stories of what they saw on safari over dinner and wine. The wine here was better than usual for safari house wine but for the price that’s to be expected.

    Safari was good here including walking safaris and probably the best night safaris as we saw several leopard including one with a kill and a mother and 2 young.

    Sundowners were lovely here with great spots and beautiful views.

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank KandEtravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your safari and were so well taken care of by our guides and saw several leopard on one drive. The South Luangwa is referred to as the valley of the leopard as this region is just perfect for them to thrive.

    Best regards from us all at Time + Tide

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

    What a lovely stay. Chinzombo isn’t cheap, but you certainly get the level of quality that you pay for. We chose this site as our expensive ’treat’ at the end of our less high-end holiday in Zambia. Wow! We felt thoroughly looked after and spoiled. The food is exceptional (ooo that fresh bread!), the room and surrounds exquisite and the staff friendly and attentive, without being over-powering. Faith oversaw everything and is simply wonderful. The game drives weren’t as rewarding (in terms of animal sightings) as they were in the other lodges we visited in South Luangwa, but we absolutely loved our short stay. It feels very exclusive, so perhaps this place might be less good for those looking for a ‘real’ Africa experience- we thought it was a great treat however! Thank you Faith and all your wonderful team!

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Anna G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

    Dearest Chinagirlrocco

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Time + Tide Chinzombo.

    We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to you returning to Zambia in the future.

    Warm regards
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

    Chinzombo is a stunning lodge in a beautiful location in South Luangwa. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and classy - All with a villa type deck and plunge pool over looking the Luangwa River. There is always an abundance of wildlife around the rooms... we had baboons, Bandit Mongoose, bushbuck and Ele’s just to name a few... and of course we could hear all the hippos on the river! Charles was our guide and was fantastic. The vehicles are modern and in great condition. The food was exceptional and Gloria was the perfect host... Good Times in the bush!!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank MalawiMike2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

    Thank you Mike for your feedback on Time + Tide Chinzombo

    We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to having you to stay in the near future.

    Best regards,
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 August 2018

    This place must be the most luxurious lodge i have ever stayed at, it lived up to its expectation. Staff and guides are second to none, very high quality.
    I would highly recommend !! good work NCS
    cannot wait to come back one day

    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank richardm5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

    Dear Richard
    Thank you for your wonderful reply on Time + Tide Chinzombo.
    We are delighted that you have a wonderful stay and look forward to you returning to Time + Tide.
    Best regards,
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews