We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KandEtravel
Weybridge, United Kingdom

Beautiful but expensive

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Nov 2019via mobile
Very expensive and although the rooms are incredible and the standard of safari guidance is excellent it’s not really worth the money. If you like eating at your own private tables for all meals then you’d enjoy it here, where we quite like group tables where everyone swaps stories of what they saw on safari over dinner and wine. The wine here was better than usual for safari house wine but for the price that’s to be expected.

Safari was good here including walking safaris and probably the best night safaris as we saw several leopard including one with a kill and a mother and 2 young.

Sundowners were lovely here with great spots and beautiful views.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this review
Responded 14 Jan 2020
We are delighted that you enjoyed your safari and were so well taken care of by our guides and saw several leopard on one drive. The South Luangwa is referred to as the valley of the leopard as this region is just perfect for them to thrive.

Best regards from us all at Time + Tide
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 329
R 4 975
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 975
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 329
  • Tripadvisor
    R 4 975
1.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
Tented River View
R 16 213
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 16 213
  • Vio.com
4.3 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
R 10 253
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 10 253
7.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
R 10 227
Multiple ways to pay
    0.2 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (97)
    Filter reviews
    97 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews south luangwa private pool the river well oiled machine sun loungers walk in shower yogurt special treat food is excellent little things once in a lifetime our honeymoon mfuwe airport spent nights villa plunge luxury
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 97 reviews
    Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

    What a lovely stay. Chinzombo isn’t cheap, but you certainly get the level of quality that you pay for. We chose this site as our expensive ’treat’ at the end of our less high-end holiday in Zambia. Wow! We felt thoroughly looked after and spoiled. The food is exceptional (ooo that fresh bread!), the room and surrounds exquisite and the staff friendly and attentive, without being over-powering. Faith oversaw everything and is simply wonderful. The game drives weren’t as rewarding (in terms of animal sightings) as they were in the other lodges we visited in South Luangwa, but we absolutely loved our short stay. It feels very exclusive, so perhaps this place might be less good for those looking for a ‘real’ Africa experience- we thought it was a great treat however! Thank you Faith and all your wonderful team!

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Anna G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

    Dearest Chinagirlrocco

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Time + Tide Chinzombo.

    We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and we look forward to you returning to Zambia in the future.

    Warm regards
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 July 2019 via mobile

    Chinzombo is a stunning lodge in a beautiful location in South Luangwa. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and classy - All with a villa type deck and plunge pool over looking the Luangwa River. There is always an abundance of wildlife around the rooms... we had baboons, Bandit Mongoose, bushbuck and Ele’s just to name a few... and of course we could hear all the hippos on the river! Charles was our guide and was fantastic. The vehicles are modern and in great condition. The food was exceptional and Gloria was the perfect host... Good Times in the bush!!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank MalawiMike2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

    Thank you Mike for your feedback on Time + Tide Chinzombo

    We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to having you to stay in the near future.

    Best regards,
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 August 2018

    This place must be the most luxurious lodge i have ever stayed at, it lived up to its expectation. Staff and guides are second to none, very high quality.
    I would highly recommend !! good work NCS
    cannot wait to come back one day

    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank richardm5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    TimeandTideAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

    Dear Richard
    Thank you for your wonderful reply on Time + Tide Chinzombo.
    We are delighted that you have a wonderful stay and look forward to you returning to Time + Tide.
    Best regards,
    Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2018

    The drive from Mfuwe Airport to Chinzombo is a game drive in itself. The Lodge, situated on the Luangwa River is complete Luxury and the Accommodation stunning. Warmly welcomed by Hosts, Billie and Ben, you are instantly spoilt by all the staff and served delicious food for lunch. The accommodation is huge with a wonderful deck to relax on inbetween game drives or a relaxing cool down in your own plunge pool. When you do tear yourself away from the Lodge and experience a game drive, you are treated to a vast array of animals including a surprising number of Leopard sightings. Very very special Lodge.

    Room tip: All rooms are identical so you can't go wrong. Just ask if you want to be closer to the main Lodge or prefer a short walk.
    Date of stay: July 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank lucys17
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 July 2018

    We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed of our time there. Being the Time and Tide premier camp, the expectation of comfort and luxury was there prior to our arrival and the reality was that it met all of those expectations. The communal areas – bar, dining and casual lounge – are well appointed and appropriate. Our accommodation was very comfortable and provided all of the niceties that one would expect from a premier camp. The lack of privacy between the villas may concern some travellers however the units had great outlook over the water and to the animals of the other side. Of a night we could see the hippos and buck coming in to graze just in front of our unit. Dining is individual and the food choices are varied and well presented. The lunches, in particular, were excellent.
    The staff are well trained and cater for ones needs and more.
    Our guide, Friday, was very good company and knew the park, its animals and birds well which was great. We had good sightings of Leopard and Lion together with the rest of the animal and birdlife.
    We highly recommend Chinzombo.

    Date of stay: June 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Robert H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews