We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
UsaJules
usa

Dreamy!!!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jul 2016
Chinzombo is an elegant and beautifully appointed property. What a treat to stay in such luxury---this truly defines glamping! If ralph lauren had a safari camp this would be it. Perfectly beautiful!
Unique location across the river so that it adds an element of privacy and fun as you go across in a boat (which was always ready) affording views of hippos in the water. Many special added touches such as the hot cloths to wipe the dust off after a drive and the complimentary foot massage after the first game drive was wonderfully relaxing! I definitely recommend getting the in room massage.
Our hosts Yaliwe and Frank were wonderful. What a pleasure to meet them. They immediately took care of any request we had.
The suites are incredible! I couldn't stop taking pictures. Loved having tea/coffee facility and the well stocked mini fridge in the room. Great mosquito netting for the beds and was thankful for the AC unit over the bed. The views from the room were awesome! A lovely huge bathtub while watching game outside was a special treat. And they NEVER ran out of hot water. Yay!
The food was especially good. Breakfasts cooked over the fire were a very unique
touch.
The staff were excellent and the men who escorted us to and from our room were always ready and close by. Thank you John and Shaddi for the great game drives and wonderful sundowners and breakfast stops. It was so nice getting excellent information on the animals as well as great photos.
We also enjoyed our conversations with the team. What a gracious and kind staff. Many thanks to Frank for joining us for a meal and a drive. It was a pleasure to meet you.
A lovely experience that we will never forget. I highly recommend Chinzombo!
Date of stay: July 2016
Room Tip: We stayed in room 6---it was wonderful. We enjoyed the walk but if you are mobility impaired you...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
R 2 560
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 560
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Breakfast included
Pool
the beautiful pool area
  • ZenHotels.com
3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
3.5 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
Free Wifi
Pool
Camp at dawn
    3.4 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free parking
    Pool
    .
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    3.7 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Tented River View
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    4.3 km from Time + Tide Chinzombo
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (97)
    Filter reviews
    97 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    85
    7
    2
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews south luangwa private pool the river well oiled machine sun loungers walk in shower yogurt special treat food is excellent little things once in a lifetime our honeymoon mfuwe airport spent nights villa plunge luxury
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    37 - 42 of 97 reviews
    Reviewed 30 June 2016

    Stunning modern elegant camp in the South Luangwa. The wildlife sightings were outstanding - zebra, lions, hyena, elephant, giraffe, impala, baboon, hippos'. The camp is beautifully decorated and peacefully located away from the main gate of the park. Guide and driver Brian did an outstanding job making our experience exciting and fun.

    Date of stay: June 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Mustlovebeagles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

    Dear Mustlovebeagles, thanks for your review and it's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I'll make sure Brian receives your feedback - the guides are always keen to hear from guests and value your thoughts.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

    As we were here for a business inspection, (with Africa Safari Co) arrived late and left early the next morning, didn't get to spend a long time here, but what I experienced was just beautiful... Met with a refreshing drink after transfer from airport by jeep and then a boat across river. Amazing tented rooms, fabulous lobby/guest areas. Fabulous gourmet dinner. Outdoor breakfast in the morning was special. Listening to hippos all night was amazing. Thank you to our host Frank.

    Date of stay: June 2016
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank AmyM326
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

    Dear Amy - thanks for taking the time to write a review of Chinzombo. Shame you couldn't spend longer with us but I'm so pleased your time, albeit short, was memorable! It's a long journey from Australia to Zambia and a relaxing dinner and peaceful sleep sounds exactly what was needed before you headed further into the South Luangwa National Park.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

    I stayed for a couple of nights as part of the "Rivers and Rainbow" package in the emerald season (ie rains).

    It is a magical place with fantastic accommodation, food and service - the chalets are enormous with their own plunge pool, river front views and even innovative and effective aircon over the bed.

    The high quality NCS guiding was much in abundance as soon as I crossed over the river to start my game drives.

    This is the most luxurious camp I have ever stayed at and whilst I probably prefer the more relaxed (authentic?) bush camps that NCS runs a little bit of luxury every now and then is most welcome!

    Date of stay: March 2016
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank AHZambia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

    Dear AHZambia, we're so pleased you got to experience Zambia's green season. It's personally one of my favourite times of the year where the animals are fat and happy! And it's great to hear you love our camps further into the heart of the park; I do agree that a little bit of luxury now and again is also quite a treat!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 April 2016

    Our stay at the Chinzombo Lodge was absolutely magical! The setting was stunning and the camp beyond beautiful, with an incredible attention to detail wherever you looked. The same goes for the food - every meal was without exception mouth-wateringly delicious. The staff, lead by the amazing Kolo, was incredibly kind and attentive. Not only were they so helpful and fulfilled all our wishes, there was a wonderful family feel amongst the staff and the guests, which really set this camp apart from other places. Getting to know some of the staff was a wonderful part of the stay. Last but not least, the tours into the bush were such a treat with the amazing Bryan, who shared his incredible knowledge with us as well as his passion for wildlife. All in all: we've travelled quite a bit in southern Africa, but this was one of the best camps we have ever been to!

    Date of stay: April 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank giofo2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 February 2016

    Hospitality 100
    Room 100
    Atmosphere 100
    Food & Wine 100
    Game Drives 100 (plus 100 Bonus for 3 x Wild Dogs😀)
    Location 100
    Staff 100
    Design of the Lodge 100
    Comfort 100
    Overall experience 100
    --> total 1.000 out of 100!
    Why should you book somewhere else when going on a Game Drive .... 👍

    Thanks a lot to all my friends at Chinzombo, who made my stay just wonderful and VERY relaxing. Whoever will complain about something in this paradise .... better should stay at home!

    You are doing a great job down there! I will return asap

    Warm regards and thanks again
    Roland

    Room tip: All rooms are great with unique views over the Luangwa River
    Date of stay: February 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Roland C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

    Dear Roland,

    It was such a pleasure to host you last week and thanks for sharing your stories from your motorcycle trip around Southern Africa. We wish you a wonderful rest of your journey and look forward to you coming back; you missed the moon rising over a herd of bull elephants last night! Our doors are always open for you.

    All the best from the South Luangwa.
    The Chinzombo and Norman Carr Safaris Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews