We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PamelaB1960
Bristol, United Kingdom

A real immersive Africa experience way out in the bush.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jun 2024
Stunning location, professional and friendly staff with personal service. Luxury accommodation in wild and remote bush. All 3 Bushcamp Co camps we stayed in gave us a true Africa experience immersed in the bush away from the crowds. The walking safaris and night drives got us up close to nature.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: The camps are unfenced and you are up close with nature. No wifi, phone service or elec in lodges.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
27.7 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
29.1 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Breakfast included
Pool
the beautiful pool area
    29.2 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
    Free parking
    Pool
    .
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 6 307
    • Vio.com
    28.8 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
    Camp at dawn
      28.5 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
      Free parking
      Pool
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      • Agoda.com
      39.6 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
      29.6 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      Tented River View
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
        R 14 232
      • Vio.com
      22.8 km from Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
      Reviews (138)
      Filter reviews
      138 results
      Traveller rating
      129
      7
      1
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      129
      7
      1
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews luangwa river bush camp infectious enthusiasm the camp manager small camp bedroom area land rover game viewing double shower elephants crossing river view great accommodation mosquito netting beautiful setting leopard birds vehicle
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 138 reviews
      Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

      Only three tree houses. They were enormous. Wonderful facilities apart from no wi fi.
      The camp was well kept and the accommodation well maintained.
      We had an excellent driver/guide, plus a very friendly government ranger/soldier with a gun

      Room tip: October is a bit hot reaching 40 degrees some days. We also had heavy rain two evenings
      Date of stay: October 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank carol p
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 12 August 2023

      Incredible, the camp is beautiful, the beds are confortable and the linens so great, the food is outstanding, the staff so nice and helpful. our guide was really good and we saw dogs the first time we arrived.
      it has only 3 suites and at the time it was only us, so much fun
      the sounds of the bush are just incredible, the colors... the river.. the crocs!
      the orange cake for high tea! I could have it all day.

      Room tip: Enjoy the food is incredible, Pizza in the bush!!
      Date of stay: July 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank smapenzi
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 October 2022

      I loved the remoteness of this small camp. The welcome was warm, food very good and the accommodation very spacious with a beautiful setting. Lots to see - South Luangwa has never disappointed. Had a fantastic time, thank you.

      Date of stay: October 2022
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Madaboutafrica
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 17 August 2022 via mobile

      The setting for the large rooms is stunning - right on the river overlooking hippos with baboons in the trees and a parade of elephants crossing. Lovely thatched roof cottage with wood floors. King queen bed with mosquito netting and wood doors that open up the entire wall and offer panoramic views. Open double shower with a river view. The deck is extra large with a walkway to a cozy ‘honeymoon’ verandah. We went in. August and had no bugs.

      We had a private guide - Elijah - who was a walking Wikipedia. His infectious enthusiasm and deep knowledge enhanced our trip enormously. We highly recommend him. We saw so many animals throughout Bushcamp - lions, leopards, hippo, buffalo, giraffe, elephant, birds. Each camp had prolific wildlife.

      The camp manager was not there during our stay so that was the only missing. Compared to other Bushcamps, I think the rooms were the best; the central area was the least appealing of the three camps we stayed in, but still very nice.

      Only having six people in the camp was a plus.

      Date of stay: August 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank DorisP52
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 3 July 2022

      Chamilundi was a much awaited stop on a 3 1/2 week Southern Africa Safari swing. All the camps were of comparable guest pricing and quality (or so advertised.) Chamilundi, though it has many virtues, is a flawed managed and designed camp. First the flaws: No overhead lights in the suite tent, which is quite large, and very dim and depressing day and night. Light is needed in bathroom area and general bedroom area. There is an expansive view of the Luangwa River. Problem, there are fold-in wooden doors that when opened leave two vulnerabilities day and night: insects, as there is no screen doors (essential and built-in at all camps I have ever visited) and protection from baboons that eat from trees above the tents in the camp. There is no menu selection at any meal, as I recall. This makes for a very limiting eating experience. I can understand Bush Camp management being concerned about food waste. Certainly the simple answer is the very least preparing a menu for review at a prior meal to determine main course and other course selections. The rickety old Land Rover gave off fumes that was not only unpleasant but unhealthy. A 12 year old vehicle is not appropriate for an advertised lusury camp experience. Chamilundi is situated within South Luangwa Park on a private concession. From experience the drives within the main part of the park, not uitilized by the Guide and manager of the camp are limiting in viewing wild life. The public part of the park offers a much more varied and exciting experience for game viewing.

      Date of stay: June 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank richjacobson18
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Amy Alderman, General Manager at Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2022

      Hi Rich,
      We appreciate your post and will take this under advisement, though I do want to clarify a few things.
      Food: while it is true that dinner is a set menu, brunch is a buffet, offering a wide variety of meats, salads, etc., so it is not entirely accurate to say that there is no choice. I know that one day you experienced a surprise pizza in the bush, offering an array of pizza toppings.
      Rooms: there are well-placed lights in the bathroom by the sinks and in the toilet area. In the bedroom, there are bedside lights. The raised chalets, with their open-front design, are generally very popular with our guests, and are one of the reasons people book the camp. The mosquito net provides protection during the night from any insects. And of course, the doors can be shut if the guest so prefers.
      Chamilandu is not located in a private concession area; we don’t have those in South Luangwa. We do pride ourselves for being the only camps located in the southern part of the Park, as that gives us a privacy and remoteness not found in other areas, but the loop roads, etc. are all part of the National Park system, though we do maintain them ourselves.
      The Land Rovers are all regularly maintained, overhauled, and completely rebuilt, and I don’t think that it is entirely fair to say that they “spew exhaust” any more than any other diesel vehicle in use.
      In conclusion, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time more, but hopefully the 3 leopards you saw on one drive helped make your stay somewhat acceptable!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews