We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Deepan A
Melbourne, Australia

The Most Amazing Experience of Our Lives

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Our stay at Thornicroft Lodge was amazing! The lodge itself is frequented by elephants and hippos, and has spectacular views of the Luangwa River. The food was the highlight of our stay, and they catered to our dietary requirements. All the staff were super friendly. The safari tours were action-packed and, not only did we see the animals we had hoped, our guide taught us about the animals and beyond (life, poaching etc.). We would definitely recommend Thornicroft Lodge for your safari adventure.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 446
R 4 982
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 979
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 446
  • Tripadvisor
    R 4 982
2.7 km from Thornicroft Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tented River View
R 15 460
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 15 453
  • Vio.com
7.6 km from Thornicroft Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 10 239
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Thornicroft Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
1.2 km from Thornicroft Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
R 10 229
Multiple ways to pay
    4.2 km from Thornicroft Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in South Luangwa National Park
    Reviews (280)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveller rating
    228
    41
    10
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    228
    41
    10
    1
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews luangwa river game drives our guide was extremely knowledgeable safari ride comfortable beds national park his knowledge the food was absolutely delicious amazing experience morning and evening painted dogs across the river boyd banks lodge hippos accommodation
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    9 - 14 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Amazing service by all the staff. Special thanks to
    Chancellor & Kebbiw ( bartender)
    Isaac (safari game driver)
    Phinius (safari game spotter)
    Janet (housemaid)
    Pawan ji (cook)
    Elena manager
    The location is just outside the national park

    Date of stay: June 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bhushan K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Out of all the hotels we’ve stayed at, this place we had the best night and sleep ever!
    Incredible food options and the staff were super accommodating to all our dietary retirements. They had the friendliest staff we’ve ever come across.
    Safaris were out of this world amazing and really informative game drivers made it educational for our kids too!
    Would highly recommend this place.

    Date of stay: June 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Julie G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 June 2024

    We had a great stay! The view of the river with the animals is impressive, the staff very courteous and the food was always a pleasant surprise. You can get to the national park very quickly and observe a variety of wildlife there. We would definitely recommend it to others

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 632nerinab
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 May 2024

    Amazing place, people, nature and food!!
    Everything was perfect, you feel really at home!
    Game drives and walking safari were simply fantastic and unforgettable!
    I would suggest everybody to reach Thornicroft Lodge and enjoy the amazing Zambia.
    Daniela and Francesco

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank danidory
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 May 2024

    This is a beautiful place with amazing views right on the river - so lots of hippo and crocodile-spotting opportunities. The staff at the lodge are so kind and welcoming, and the food is great. Make sure to visit Mfuwe and meet the locals while you’re here! Zikomo kwambiri :)

    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank maya j
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews