We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
15
46
37
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
46
37
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish skeleton coast walls and ceiling cold beer hot water for a shower road trip rooms are big remote area scenery world camp drive desert dinner lion safari remoteness
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We booked a year in advance...the VIP and Semi VIP houses. The Semi VIP house was okay but the VIP house was not very clean...curtains need a wash the kitchen was were dirty as well as the stove... the tables in the dining area were very dirty and the floors and dishes were not washed properly .... the whole house was smelly.....good beds and clean linen though. We found the rates per person very pricey...what you pay is not what you get... not VIP at all!!! So NWR a little bit of soap and water can do wonders. The staff at reception is very friendly and helpful and there is fuel available.

Room Tip: Semi "VIP" house
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank botha6302015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Thanks to Wilderness Safari information and Trip Advisor reviews I knew that this was classed as a basic place compared to all the other lodges I was staying at during my Desert Dune Safari. Well yes. It was basic but it had a bed, clean sheets, hot water for a shower and food laid on so that ticked most boxes. The thing I really didn't like was the smell of the room when we went in. It had been 'fogged' or something I think to kill cockroaches. Well it must have worked because there weren't any in evidence in my room. A couple in our party from New York told us how they're commonplace there and weren't phased by it a bit. Hmmm......... As someone previous has said here - It's the only place in town. There is a small school there for the staffs children which we were able to visit and which I wish I'd known about. I'd 'Packed for a purpose' for both Hoanib and Desert Rhino camps and I'm sure these children and their teacher may have appreciated some things as well so if you've a little room left in your luggage........

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PatC559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Booked 3 double rooms months ago. On arrival was informed we were in the "semi VIP" house.. somewhat of a misnomer. 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom, not really adequate for 6 adults. Reason given was that other chalets were being refurbished. We duly traipsed up to the house to find it was dirty, beds not made, bathroom not cleaned despite arriving late in the afternoon. The manager eventually turned up and said he would put the full housekeeping team on. This consisted of 2 people.

The house is in dire need of refurbishment, to call it Semi VIP is a joke. Furniture is tired, everything looks like it needs a good scrub. Shower leaks into the hallway.

We had no option but to consume large gin and tonics on the terrace watching the sunset.

Dinner was good with a choice on the menu and staff were friendly. David, the manger did give us 2 bottles of wine.

The other chalets looked ok from the outside and the view is fabulous. However the house should be demolished.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank charlieboots21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Would not call this a resort, the rooms were very basic. Beds were not too bad and it was clean. Since this is the only game in town upgrading is not necessary but it should be. The food was adequate, not great. Needs work.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitRaetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Travelling in February we wanted to drive the Skeleton Coast with a 4x4 camper but had made no accomodation bookings. We new that Torra Bay would be closed for camping.
At the Springbokwasser Gate, we were able to make a reservation for a room at Terrace Bay.
Our Chalet was basic but clean with shower and toilet. Tea, coffee and kettle were provided. A table and 2 chairs were on the terrace to sit and enjoy the sunset over the waves.
The restaurant is interesting, with plenty to read on the walls and ceiling while you eat the excellent dinner washed down by a cold beer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pinnpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews