We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damaraland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2017

What a beautiful place and again a ‘Wilderness Safari’ Lodge. The Lodge itself sits on the top of a hill and in the heat it was a bit of a climb. The accommodation was in the form of a very large thatched tent. It was really comfortable and despite the heat seemed fine – there is no air con in the place. There was a lovely shower room with an inside and outside shower. We ate extremely well at the Lodge and on the first night all the 34 guests were taken out to the bush for a magical meal under the stars. The staff, after they had served us a delicious meal, then sang for us in their clicking language, it was just lovely. Next day Breakfast was really good and very varied. We had an excellent guide who took us to see the Desert adapted animals and we had a really lovely morning, seeing lots of elephants and Hartmans Zebra amongst many animals. Sadly another pool with poor access unless you are very agile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main road up to the Lodge - some of the rooms are quite a hike up the hi...
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you Gale for the wonderful review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see how much fun you had with all the staff and your great guide. The bush diners are a firm favourite and we are glad to see you enjoyed the singing afterwards too.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This was one of the best locations of our Namibia tour.

The setting of the lodge is spectacular, with a 360 degree view overlooking the valley and mountain ranges. Staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. The way the dinner menu was presented in 'click language' was a very thoughtful detail, fortunately the translation was provided too.
The elephant drive with enthusiastic guide Liberty was excellent and full of involvement and a great sense of humour. The outdoor evening dinner was done in a wonderfully fairy-tale like atmosphere. All a great experience and well worth it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EvdWRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear EvdWRotterdam,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the time you spent out with Liberty - we will be sure to share your kind words with him and all our wonderful staff. The Click Language is definitely a favourite amongst many of our guests and always fascinating to experience a new language in such a unique way.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Wilderness Safaris excels again. This time with Doro !Nawas. We were met by the staff singing a welcome song, followed by a very informative briefing.

Dinner was very good and quite innovative as well (can you imagine a pizza skewer?). One night, we got a wonderful presentation of our dinner in the local language. That is when we realized that the ! in Doro !Nawas has a significance.

The rooms are huge, and the beds can be rolled out onto a deck, where you can sleep under the stars. I did this, and this was possibly one of the coolest experiences I had during our stay in Namibia. The sky was literally white of stars, and changed during the night. It was chilly, but under the covers it was nice and warm. I heard jackals howl on the plains outside. It was fantastic.

The view from the main building up on the hill is fantastic at sun set. There is a pool and ground squirrels run around taking shelter under the rocks. Both these features were highly appreciated by our seven-year-old.

We had a slight miscommunication regarding our activity to see desert adapted elephants in the area, but the situation was quickly sorted out. Our guide, Liberty, was fantastic, as was the activity itself. We saw 14-something elephants, apart from all the antelopes, and birds.

The staff was very professional and helpful. When our son was sick, they easily arranged for us to have dinner in our room, instead of up in the restaurant.

I would recommend this place to any of my friends who intend to visit Damaraland.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swede1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear swede1102,

Thank you for the wonderful review and high recommendation. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we thoroughly enjoyed your explanation of the “!” in Doro !Nawas – cannot wait to share this with everyone in camp. The sleep out under the stars is a once in a life time experience and glad to see it was not too cold for you during the night.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had a great stay at Doro Nawas. After a loooong drive we were met with drinks, cold flannels and wonderful singing. The rooms were beautiful, and we enjoyed sleeping outside one night. Our trip to see the desert adapted elephants was an amazing experience, our guide was knowledgable and respectful of the elephants, which enabled us to get super close without feeling like we were intruding on their patch. One even came to scratch an itch on the roll bars of the car! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we hope you were able to get some great photos of the elephant while he used the vehicle as a scratch post – what a fabulous memory. We look forward to sharing your wonderful words with all our staff and hope you will visit us again soon.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Another unique desert hotel (see Le Mirage). Not just a fantastic desert location with great views and rooms (with beds literally under the stars if desired). The architecture and décor is dark and moody and blended in with the sparse and dry landscape, and granite mountains.

What makes the Doro Nawas Camp such a charming place is that it is run and staffed by locals who want to give you a great experience (and not just aiming for tips!). Doro Nawas is run in cooperation with the local Damara community and is unique because of this. The staff are joyful, attentive, and eager to please

Everything worked for us, from the singing and “clicking” staff to the lovely dining room and great activities. Sunset is enjoyed on the terrace around the main building. There is an additional terrace above the main building also offering great panoramic views.

One of our dinners was a “barbeque under the stars” held about 10 minutes, by car, from the main resort. This is setup as a communal dinner - one table for about 30 guests – and is a great opportunity to meet the other guests. The table and surrounding area are beautifully decorated with lanterns and lights in brown paper bags.

We experienced our first ever game drive from this hotel. We had a fantastic experience and saw a wide variety of birds and animals, including a herd of desert elephants, ostriches and baboons. The resort drivers were both experienced at spotting animals and knowledgeable about them.

We also visited the fascinating ancient rock etchings at Twyfelfontein, again highly recommended.

Doro !Nawas camp was one of the best experiences we had on this trip and should not be missed.

Note, this review is one of many from a trip to Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique undertaken in Sep/Oct 2016.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear SWKA,

Thank you for the marvelous review, we are thrilled to read all your beautiful and happy memories of your stay with us and grateful to see it was one of your favorites. We will be sure to share your kind words with all our staff in camp – especially those in the choir.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damaraland
117.9 km away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 15 in Damaraland
447 reviews
71.5 km away
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
#8 of 15 in Damaraland
239 reviews
84.4 km away
Etendeka Mountain Camp
Etendeka Mountain Camp
#7 of 15 in Damaraland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
0.0 km away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
135 reviews
0.0 km away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp

Address: Doro Nawas Conservancy, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Damaraland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Damaraland
Price Range: R8 394 - R8 460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Doro Nawas Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vast dramatic valley of the aba-Huab River, the cool interiors of Doro Nawas take in the spectacular views from its position atop a small hillock. The World Heritage Site of Twyfelfontein (locally known as /Ui-//aes) is the highlight of a visit here, where thousands of 2 000-year-old engravings cover the rocks, inviting reflection on the lives of our ancestors. Other fascinating geological features and game drives in search of desert-adapted wildlife and into local communities complete the exploration of this rugged landscape. • 16 tents (1 family) • nature drives and walks • rock art at Twyfelfontein • Petrified Forest • Burnt Mountain and Organ Pipes • sleep out deck ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doro Nawas Camp Hotel Damaraland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing