We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Salamander's On Front
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Description: Casual, eclectic dining with full service bar. Food is house-made, locally sourced when possible, organic or antibiotic & hormone-free from the finest purveyors. Full-service at tables & on the mezzanine. Specialty food store department offers fine imported foods & ingredients to take home. Take out menu available, including legendary fried chicken, etc.
Restaurant details
Description: Casual, eclectic dining with full service bar. Food is house-made, locally sourced when possible, organic or antibiotic & hormone-free from the finest purveyors. Full-service at tables & on the mezzanine. Specialty food store department offers fine imported foods & ingredients to take home. Take out menu available, including legendary fried chicken, etc.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Went on a Tuesday night during a short stay in Greenport. I am a gluten-free vegetarian, and a picky one at that. It was weird that the restaurant was listed as vegetarian friendly, but the online menu had slim vegetarian selections. Glad that we went to check it out anyway. The menu was much more extensive than what was listed online and was really excellent. There were a couple of vegetarian selections (and many nonvegetarian choices). Service was personable and charming. Prices were reasonable for the area. I have to rave about the vegetable burger made of fava beans and chickpeas. Plus, the side salad --no fries, thank you-- was absolutely superb, with heirloom tomatoes and wonderful greens, as well as a surprise cup of healthy-tasting cole slaw. My dining compaion had fish tacos and ws happy. We both away feeling like we ate 'clean' and satisfying food. All in all, a great experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank rap_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Owner at Salamander's On Front, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear rap_mom, Brilliant review, thanks! We've been aiming higher in Greenport for 26 years, 6 at this location. We go for bio-dynamic whenever possible, which accounts for your tasty greens. You're right: website needs an upgrade! Please come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Salamanders in Greenport, NY.
Excellant. Stopped for coffee and stayed for lunch. Took dinner with us lol.
The fried chicken was close to the very best ever. Danielle was very friendly and nice. This was Monday morning and we started out alone but the place was packing out.
Indian Red Dal soup, so fragrant and tasty, it came home with us in a pint to go. Priscilla Dolan 's chicken wings, were fat and tasty, the cheese, she said whew real blue cheese. They came home too. That purple cabbage Cole slaw and potatoes salad were both great. The chicken never made it out the door!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Owner at Salamander's On Front, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello john d, Many thanks for the great review. Our legendary fried chicken travels to homes as far away as Boston & Philadelphia, but it's best sitting right here, fresh & hot. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Salamanders & look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Food quality is excellent, but you have to feel bad for the server. He doesn't have a tray so he has to go up and down the stairs to the balcony seating every time someone wants an extra plate or a sprite. The result is uneven service, because there is a lot of rushing around without much result. There must be a better system to smooth things out for the guests and the waitstaff!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Owner at Salamander's On Front, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Sharon A, You are right! The servers DO have trays & stands & I am going to get to the reason why they weren't using them! This is not optional, so that particular server decided for himself. So glad to hear your compliments on the food. Please come back to check out the improvements in the service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Delicious fried chicken and mashed!! Better than cooking and much easier. Give them some time to get it ready!! Call ahead.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank lisaadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H, Owner at Salamander's On Front, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear lisaadav, thanks for taking the time to drop a line! We're delighted you enjoyed. Please try our dining in, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

The Southern Fried Chicken is amazing .The mashed potatoes and the purple cole slaw is a must. I have also been there for breakfast and it was excellent the portions were just right our waiter was very friendly and attentive I have been to Salamaders many times and the food and service is always consistent. They also offer take-out and reasonable priced . When in Greenport a great place to eat. Patricia NY

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamander's On Front also viewed

 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Salamander's On Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing