We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Most Extraordinary Experience”

Olive Branch Restaurant & Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Olive Branch Restaurant & Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 74 Restaurants in Greenport
Description: Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine created with love by our 35-year experienced Chef Joseph. Omelettes for breakfast and hot and cold lunch and dinner. Indoor and outdoor seating in the quaint center of town, across from the historic carousel. Open year round!
Restaurant details
Description: Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine created with love by our 35-year experienced Chef Joseph. Omelettes for breakfast and hot and cold lunch and dinner. Indoor and outdoor seating in the quaint center of town, across from the historic carousel. Open year round!
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We usually do not like to review great places as they then become overrun with people and seem to lose their uniqueness. However the Olive Branch is an exception.
A happenstance visit turned into one of the most extraordinary dining experiences we have ever encountered.
Owners Michelle and her chef husband Josef are two of the most incredible, warm, caring and sharing people we have ever met. We were treated like family to a delightful meal.
They treat their guest as if they are family and provided delicious food in a warm and cozy atmosphere. The dining experience was topped off with a visit to their cafe/bakery where Josef hand-picked a sampling of the home-made cookies and then provided us with a bottle of pomegranate sauce and a unique dose of medical advise on how to live long and happy!
This place is a must visit for everyone and anyone who enjoys excellent food served by happy content people in a warm cozy family setting
Michelle and Josef - Thank you ever so much for making our outing one of the best days we've had in a long time.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Steve-Kathy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017

We met Yosef, the owner of the Olive Branch as we were exploring the location of his café and restaurant in Greenport. He first brought us into the café. On the perimeter of the café are clusters of baskets filled with wine from Turkey and around the world. In the center of the room is a sitting area perfect for sipping wine and tasting the wonderful, delicious small bites displayed on the counters and in the cases of the shop. Yosef, an art school graduate, designed, made, and installed everything in the shop and in the dining room across the way.

We returned for dinner the following evening and had a most extraordinary meal in a beautiful setting, served by lovely Michelle, Yosef's wife. First, we were served an unusual appetizer, fresh made pita bread with scoops of ground olives and another of ground roasted peppers. It was delicious.

For dinner, I had lamb shish kabob. It was served with jasmine rice and peppers resting on the top, hummus, and asparagus. It was delicious. My husband enjoyed beef gyro served with Turkish yogurt, asparagus, and jasmine rice. He loved it.

I ate only half of my dinner so I would have room for baklava with vanilla ice cream! It was wonderful!

The Olive Branch Restaurant and Café are a great addition to Greenport village.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Marythetraveler052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

The food is made with lots of love and care. The owners are genuinely kind people that make customers feel welcome and special. The food is excellent. You will want more. Definitely give this new Greenport eatery a try, you will not regret it. I took my staff there for our Christmas dinner. They have already requested it for next year.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank oyque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Genuine Mediterranean cuisine. The owner has a lot of passion and the servers are nice and informative. The portions are generous and the chef is eager to please. I recommend the grape leaves—they are made in-house and the sauce it comes with is to die for.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank 164angelinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Walking and looking for a dinner spot, happened to smell the great flavors wafting from the restaurant. While others in town smelled greasy, the spices smelled great coming from the kitchen. Enjoyed a lovely meal. Try the haydari! The cafe is a neat place too.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank fllila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Branch Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Olive Branch Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing