We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
99
37
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
37
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rhino tracking national park other guests excellent food game drives big table cecil rhodes short drive stayed for nights the cottages beautiful location shepherd lynn lin cave boulders bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2020

For secluded rest and relaxation this is one of the best places to go to. Excellent privacy and views and I can't think of any better place for sitting and looking at the Matopos scenery. Helpful, knowledgeable and attentive staff and we would be very happy to visit again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulNJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Hi Paul. Thanks so much for the positive review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay! Super to hear that you appreciated our staff, always motivating for them. Best Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Thank you to Lynne, Shepherd, Tuanda and the rest of the Team at Big Cave Camp for a wonderful weekend which was highlighted by trekking Rhinos in the Matopos National Park, and bird watching & hiking around the BCC property.

BCC is run with one thing in mind - the guest’s experience. The lodging is awesome with great views from the cabins, comfy beds, fluffy towels etc etc. They even have a camp ground with great amenities for those looking for a more rustic experience. The food is amazing. You will not go hungry. That is a guarantee!! (I’m not sure how I will survive tomorrow without a cooked breakfast now I am home). The guides are tremendously knowledgeable and very friendly. They make any of the adventures fun and informative. We had a blast trekking for and walking with the Rhinos, a bucket list experience. And finally the location, watching a sunset from the rocks at the back of the lodge, or lightning rock, was spectacular.

Hats off to the whole crew. I hope our paths cross again soon.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanielACD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Hi Daniel, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much! That is wonderful news. The staff too will be very happy that you enjoyed their company so much as well. We hope to see you back again soon! Best Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

Sumptiously designed cabins built into the beautiful rocks of Matopos. Delightful atmosphere created by Lynn and staff. A campfire circle that actually gets used says it all, written by someone who isn’t necessarily a campfire-circle-person

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank richardtJ8776OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2019

We stayed for two nights in Nov 2018. The view from our villa was breathtaking as was the setting. This is where the positives ended. The location, set in boulders made accessing the property treacherous on wet and slippery rocks. Once in our room we found we had no hot water , our toilet didn't flush , nor was there toilet paper or a kettle. An attempt was made to rectify the issues with the plumbing however they continues through out our stay and we were unable to have a hot shower the whole time. We had friend staying in other villas and they too had issues with hot water. The room was dusty and had a musty smell. The rocks in the outdoor pool were covered in green slime. The power is turned off at 11pm till 4 am each night.
The lady on reception was rude and appeared put upon when issues were politely raised with her. She also vented her anger when we opted to pay via card, bemoaning the difficulty accessing cash on Zimbabwe.
I would definitely not stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimK353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2019

Good day Kim. Thank you for your review and I am really sad that you did not enjoy your stay. Big Cave Camp as per all of our marketing information is a game lodge that is set into its natural environment, and that is what we pride ourselves on. The lodge is barely visible upon arrival. The lodge is built on the rocks and thus yes when it has rained the rocks are probably slightly slippery yet we have NEVER had any incidents of people falling or hurting themselves. Likewise the pool is built into the natural rock, and so does have a different texture to a standard fiber glass pool, however apologies if you did not like it, or found it slimy. Quite honestly I really do not believe that you should have been placed by your tour operator in a bush lodge, you definitely would have been a lot happier in a hotel in the city. In addition our rooms have recently been renovated this year, and everything in the rooms are brand new. The toilets, plumbing, showers, linen, curtains etc. Thus I am afraid that I dispute your claim that the room was dusty and had a musty smell. I have yet to ever have this sort of complaint from any other guests which is easy to see on Tripadvisor. In addition the hot water runs from gas heaters on the outside of the room, and is easily rectified if there is any issue by simply replacing the batteries, which we do if the issue is raised . So again I really find it hard to believe that you had no hot water throughout your stay. In addition the claim that there was no toilet paper again is very difficult to believe, and the reason the toilet did not function correctly for a morning was due to the fact that you managed to break the new mechanism which we subsequently repaired.. We did not have any other complaints from the rest of the group who travelled with you. In addition when you complained that you wanted a room on your own even though you had not paid for a single supplement we gladly accommodated you. Lastly you actually paid using a credit card so am not understanding why Lin my manageress would then raise an issue about this. Ninety percent of our clients pay using credit card, so this is nothing unusual. Thus in conclusion I very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but definitely dispute that the rest of your group share your point of view. We have had no negative feedback from the tour operator either. Best Regards Dave Waddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

Beautiful accommodation made in the rocks. A really individual place and a very friendly manager and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay there but it was very expensive. Decided not to do the tours as just couldn't afford them, and a shame nothing was offered as a substitute. Also the bikes we were hoping to use weren't available. The pool was nice but could be much nicer if there were towels and better sunbeds etc. The food was good, but early start for breakfast especially as it was just us there. A lovely place and it has even more potential than what it has got at the moment, but i dont think it was good value for money.

Room tip: The rooms to the top of the hill seem to have more privacy
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Hi Sally. Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately the National Park fees and vehicle licensing fees cost us a lot of money each year, so we have to charge a reasonable amount for activities, and US 60.00 per person excluding Park fees is average for our area. Sincere apologies on the bikes, as it is a quiet time of the year they are all being serviced currently. Likewise the sunbeds we already have the fabric to recover the cushions, however are still waiting for the high density foam to come up from South Africa. So apologies on that one as well. Sad you did not find us good value for money, we are still one of the best priced products in the Matobo Hills :) . Best Regards Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews