We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic and chilled bush getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Ruckomechi camp is the ideal bush experience - completely immersed in beautiful and authentic natural surrounds.

From the moment of your arrival, you are welcomed by amazing staff - kind, warm, knowledgeable and really there to make your holiday! The accommodation, although tented, is by no means simple - the rooms are beautiful and cater to your every need. Morning breakfasts are fantastic and really set you off for a great day.

Besides being set up in the most beautiful way, you are in the middle of the bush and truly enjoy all that mother nature has to offer at its best.

Wilderness Camps throughout Zimbabwe come very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExecutiveAirZimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear ExecutiveAirZimbabwe,

We are thrilled to see what a memorable time you had in camp with us and while exploring the wonderful Mana Pools. Wilderness Safaris has a great history with Zimbabwe with several camps and hope you will come visit them all.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017

I reviewed this camp 2 years ago on my first visit here. I felt I needed to review it again after this massive remodel.

Staff: Top notch as before, Rucko functions flawlessly (thanks to good management & staff, thanks Eddie)

Guides: Temba, Chris, Engilbert some great guides and they work together as a team.

Room/Tent Positives: The décor is beautiful soft blue/ greys and ivory/whites and luxurious. The bed is huge and comfortable (I requested Tent 1 and we got it). These are true meru style luxury tents now (again I loved the old style of the camp just as well and I really loved the outdoor bathroom which these tents do not have). There is AMPLE closet space in these tents. However, there is only an indoor bathroom now, and sadly no tub to enjoy the view of the river from your room, but you can unzip the shower flap to open it up to the outside. The shower water pressure is good and strong. There is a large leather sofa and table, a writing desk and chair, and an electric fan (solar power runs the camp) for cooling (altho it didn’t help much at 110 degrees!). The front deck has 2 chairs and a small table on it so you can sit on the deck and enjoy the views. Each room now has a charging station for your electronic gear.

Room/Tent Negatives: Here is where I have some issues. The tents at first glance are STUNNING. (Mind you I loved the old rooms with the stone wall and outdoor bathtub etc…). However, WS did not think these tents out. It was sweltering hot in these tents. There was NO cross ventilation at all in these tents and it was stifling hot, so much so that every organic thing IN the tent from the bed to the sinks and floors was almost unbearably HOT. There is a floor fan you can aim at your bed, however it felt as though someone opened an oven door and put the fan in front of the door, it was not refreshing at all! I don’t understand why the designer did not take into consideration the way the winds blow along the Zambezi here, because there is absolutely NO cross breeze in these tents! I hope WS will resolve this issue before our next trip.

Common Areas: The common areas in main camp have been enlarged, or at least it felt that way in the new meru style tents. The deck has also been enlarged and slightly elevated, I imagine to keep the ellies off and OUT of the public walkways, but I don’t think the ellies got the memo as they were walking on the deck and we LOVED it! The elephants of Mana Pools are unparalleled in how relaxed they are around humans! The dining area and the gathering rooms are quite spacious and elegantly decorated. The star deck is still there, and so is the outdoor bath area if you should want a bubble bath, they will draw it up for you just let management know what time (see my photo as an ellie comes to just below the bath).

Pool Area: Again the pool area is the same as ever, and the ellies still like to come up and explore with their trunks! A few chaise lounge chairs to relax on after a dip in the pool.

Food: As ever WS camps always have wonderful meals prepared. My husband has some food issues, but he never has a problem at any of the WS camps as they always have a nice variety of foods, well prepared and very tasty! Congrats to all their chefs!

Activities: Vehicle Safari, walking safaris, fishing or boating on the Zambezi. (Hubby caught a HUGE fish!)

Animal Life: WS Camps have some the BEST safari areas in Mana Pools (& Hwange)Zimbabwe! We were blessed to see 2 cheetah here (first time in months they had been seen), a large pride of lions with their cubs that hang around the 2 camps often found tearing apart zebra, their favorite food. We spent a night at the sleepout hide (I highly recommend you book this ahead of time) and were greeted by a leopard (largest I'd ever seen) just hanging out under the sleepout. Plenty of zebra, antelope, buffalo... and lots of birdlife in this area. Prolific animal life here.

Overall: Despite the new tent style that I am not thrilled with, I still love this camp and I would highly recommend it to anyone coming to Mana Pools, it is still one of the best safari camps in ALL of Zimbabwe!

Room Tip: For couples tent 1 or 10! If you want to be as close to the animals as possible tents 1 and 10!.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Dear Cindy-Milford,

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the new design of the camp as a whole. Thank you for your comments regarding the design of the tent and the lack of a fresh breeze - we will be sure to pass your comments along to our operations team to see if there is something that can be done to rectify this matter.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Of our many African safaris, our stay here tops the list due in large part to our game viewing experiences. We stayed here in November 2015. We saw a triple lion kill, a leopard, wild dogs, and more. Our guide, Honest, was among the best we’ve had – knowledgeable, professional, responsive, and in tune with the place. The tented accommodations and facilities feel a bit worn in comparison to some other camps we’ve stayed in, but I understand they are planning a renovation of their camp this off-season. The food was okay but somewhat uninspired. The gap between brunch (starts at 10:30) and dinner (starts around 7:30/8:00) with only a small snack at a 3:30 tea was particularly long and made me feel like I needed to gorge myself during brunch to survive. But seeing lions during 6/6 game drives made up for that limitation for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear Julie,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing your great memories with us, the sightings of all the lions sounds amazing. We are happy to tell you that we have in deed renovated the camp since your stay in 2015 and hope you will come back soon to see all the fabulous changes.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

This is the sixth Wilderness Safaris camp we have stayed at and it superseded all our expectations. For anyone who wants to experience the real, untamed African wilderness, this is the place to go! Elephants browse quietly in front of your tent and one night a lion ambled through the camp as we were about to eat dinner -- not as dangerous as it sounds as the guides are always fully alert to the animals' movements. The Wilderness guides are the very best, and ensured that we had some incredible sightings. The camp, which has had a magnificent refurbishment, is on the banks of the Zambezi looking across to the mountains of the Rift Valley in Zambia. It is a seasonal camp, closing mid-November and reopening in April, as it is inaccessible during the rains. Ruckomechi offers five-star luxury (but no glitz!), absolutely amazing meals and some of the best game viewing we can remember. It is the perfect escape from civilisation!
Ann Braun

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Ann,

Thank you for wonderful review and continuous support of Wilderness Safaris Camps. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay at Ruckomechi and your exploration of Hwange National Park with our fabulous guides. We look forward to sharing your kind words with all the staff in camp and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

What a camp - this is - with very new tents and what a relief in 40degC to have a fan!
Good food,staff and guides - and a nice change to do a waterborne safari - with ellies crossing just by us. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear Brewersfriend,

Thank you for the wonderful review and high recommendation. We are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see the fan in the room was able to offer you some relief from the afternoon sun.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Pools National Park
24.5 km away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
262 reviews
38.1 km away
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
#6 of 7 in Chiawa Conservancy
9 reviews
0.0 km away
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#3 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
102 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

Address: Mana Pools National Park, Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Price Range: R9 223 - R19 764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its scenic location epitomises Mana Pools National Park in all its abundance. The camp is all about the intimacy of being close to nature and amongst the iconic albida trees that characterise the area. The camp’s location within our private Ruckomechi Concession ensures an exclusive safari experience complete with a diverse range of activities through which to explore Mana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruckomechi Camp Hotel Mana Pools National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing