We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
76
22
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
22
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole game drives large outdoor shower walking safari tents were clean bush camp plunge pool sense of humour magical place waterhole pan leopard animals guide hide abc comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Yes, there is a resident BIB MAC, he is around 25 years and loves the tiny fruit that falls from the trees. he is an elephant and he is BIG. we had a welcome from the camp staff, singing us to and goodbye the camp. The food was served overlooking the 'pan' water pool (Mana Pools) under some fruit trees. Fruit trees that the monkeys loved, they also eat the fruit and throw the seeds down, sometimes landing in your food and drink. NO WORRIES, you can get them replaced. The tents are very comfortable, clean and have everything you could wish for. early morning coffee, delivered to the tent. The guides are great, we are always in awe of all of the animals they see that we would drive by. It was a wonderful experience and many favorite memories were made.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Every great safari should start with a cup of coffee and a fantastic guide. We glad we could provide both! The monkeys are fascinating to watch and can be quite cheeky, I'm happy you saw the joy in their undertakings.

Big Mac sure is big in nature and holds a big place in our heart. I'm sure he will forever be ingrained in your memories.

We love to sing and share our joy with you our valued guest. Thank you for this beautiful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Kanga Camp. Taffy the property manager was great. Excellent game viewing, great food, warm welcoming staff. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. The place could not have been better. It was all we expected.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rsweeney9377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Taffy takes such pride in camp and staff and will really appreciate this lovely feedback, thank you. We strive to provide the full package for our guests and I feel that this is what we achieved.

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Our African Bush Camp experience (at three camps) was exceptional in every way. We enjoyed four delightful nights at Kanga. Our driver, Reggie, and camp staff hosted by Cherish, helped create great memories for our trip of a lifetime. The camp’s “armchair safari” experience was fun, but our excursions to the Zambezi River were our highlights. The entire experience was particularly appreciated for the care that was extended to people with disabilities. The Kanga chef gave us four days of most memorable dining.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happiness42299927863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

A trip of a lifetime... is the ultimate praise. Our staff pride themselves in caring for our guests especially those who need a little extra help, thank you for noting that commitment.

It is fantastic that you were able to stay at a variety of African Bush Camps, each is unique and has such amazing qualities to offer. We are so happy you enjoyed them.

From the team at Kanga specifically and African Bush Camps as a whole, thank you for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

While we were upset to be leaving Zeti - we were looking forward to see what Kanga would show us. Kanga is was exquisite - but very very different to Zeti. It is more of a luxury camp. More of an eat, drink, sit around and watch the animals at the Pan kind of camp.

The Kanga team embraced us as part of their family also.

On the way to camp we were stupidly excited to find an African Hawk Eagle on a nest!!

Upon arrival, the Kanga crew sang us a gorgeous welcome – which we didn’t capture on video sadly.

Then we saw the Pan for which Kanga is famous.

The elephants are SO close, it’s ridiculous. Absolutely incredible.

We had lunch while baboons tried to distract us in trees overhead and other animals came to the pan to drink.

We had upgraded to the enormous Honeymoon Suite. It really was ENORMOUS and stunning.

I was fiddling about while my husband went to charge something at the main tent and I looked up to find an elephant had come to say hello. He ended up doing this every day. We were to discover this was Big Mac.

Young baboons played games on our tent roof – we would sit at the main lounge tent, watch them climb up on our tent roof and slide down, then climb up and slide down, up and down, up and down.

Kanga also has a resident honey badger who likes to pinch sugar and jam from the tea stations and break into the kitchen to do so.

There was also a gigantic raucous one night when honey badgers and a hyena tried to get into the bins.

The honey badgers scared the hyena off – but they didn’t get into the bins.

Kanga is famous for its “armchair safaris” during the dry season where animals are searching for water and make use of the permanent pan at camp.

Elephants come daily to drink and play. Baboons. Impala. Warthog. Kudu. Various bird species. All animals. There is also a resident crocodile.

Big Mac and his friends walk wherever they please, so close to the lounge and deck areas that you can hear and feel their lovely rumbles.

Sometimes you get ‘blocked’ in your tent as the eles are blissfully eating away and give no thought to your schedule.

We saw civets at the pan during dinner and my husband even saw a spotted genet outside out tent one night.

We were treated to another beautiful private dinner on our last night.

Our time in Mana Pools was beyond spectacular. Even with my attack of pepper ticks (we initially thought they were tsetse flies, but it turns out they were ticks), it exceeded our expectations.

I knew Mana was going to be magical. It didn't disappoint.

Marsh, Cherish, Bread and Taffy made is to very wonderful for us.

The food was always wonderful and had a great variety.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmandaL6331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Untouched paradise is how we like to describe Kanga Camp and I think that is exactly what you experienced. Thank you for such an amazingly comprehensive review. It is so lovely to know that the complete package not only met but exceeded expectations!

You had amazing sightings and met Big Mac. I'm sure you found it is not a bad place to be "blocked" for a little while, it is such a phenomenal environment to be surrounded in. Thank you for your feedback we love to hear it and hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Mana Pools is a very special National Park and Kanga Camp with its water pan is probably the most special permanent camp in Mana. It is run by the excellent African Bush Camps. The site is fabulous. Just sitting on the deck overlooking the Kanga pan we had visits from Elephants, Impala, Kudu, Eland, Buffalo, a Wild Dog Pack with seven puppies, Baboons, Vervet Monkeys, Hyena and of innumerable birds including the rare Crested Guinea Fowl. Game drives were made according to individual wish and our friendly guide, Reggie, was a consummate professional who knows this park inside out and gave us price moments such as seeing Boswell the great elephant bull stand up on his hind legs to reach higher Albida pods or watching the Wild Dog pack slowly wake after a long snooze in the mid-day heat and starting to socialize.
The tents are beautifully appointed each on its separate deck with open sky showers and facilities that add to the romance of bush life. Take your shower and, while you are drying off, see a little Vervet Monkey hanging off the shower head upside down catching a few drops!
Excellent, varied home made food was provided three times a day by the brilliant kitchen crew and the bar was well stocked and generously used. The hosts and staff at Kanga were very welcoming, friendly and obviously passionate about the bush life all around them and happy to share it. If we have to find one point to improve, we'd say that sometimes guests might want to sit quietly without company, however pleasant, and should not have to ask to be alone. In that respect the balance can still be improved. Otherwise, sheer Mana Magic!
Ex

Date of stay: September 2018
3  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Kanga Camp - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Tom M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Kanga Camp- its sounds as though you had an incredible time on safari! Kanga is an incredibly special camp that is set in the most remote part of Mana Pools and built around the Kanga Pan- the only permanent water source for a 15km radius. This perennial water source teams with wildlife, especially in the dry season, creating the perfect setting for our famous ‘Armchair Safaris’. The camp maintains the concept of the ‘Old Untouched’ Africa and speaks to the art of service and offers you an authentic safari experience in the untamed African wilderness.

We hope that you will join us for another adventure again soon!
Until then, take care and very best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews