We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
48
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush camp painted dogs a wonderful stay walking safari camp staff the river mana pools bush kitchen guide henry excellent guide tented accommodation clouds bucket eland zambezi afternoon sebastien
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2019

This is a very comfortable bush camp on the banks of the Zambezi river in Mana Pools. It is very remote and is accessed by flying into one of the airstrips. The area is accessible to self-drive vehicles but there were very few and we saw hardly anyone else.

When we arrived in camp we were given cool drinks and seated with a view of the Zambezi where elephants were drinking, which then wandered through camp.

The bathroom at the rear of the tent was open to the sky, with a separate entrance at the side where staff brought hot water for the ‘bucket’ shower any time you wanted.

There was a covered lounge area where lunch and dinner were eaten, with comfortable armchairs and sofas, and the bar where you could help yourself at any time, although more often than not, there were staff around to serve you.

An early, light breakfast was taken outside around the camp fire and one morning an elephant walked right past the table. In fact, elephants frequently walked through camp and there was also a ‘resident’ hippo which seemed to like sleeping around camp. One evening when we were escorted back to our tents the hippo was sleeping under a tree and also a hyena could be seen walking past the camp.

Our guide, Cloud, was brilliant. His knowledge of the wildlife and the area was second to none and his sense of humour entertained us, especially in his interactions with the wonderful camp host, Daufus. Kingsley, the head guide and camp manager, led us on walking safaris when we were lucky enough to see a lioness.

We also went canoeing down the Zambezi, each canoe having a member of staff doing most of the paddling. This was a fantastic experience, and we saw plenty of hippos and elephants.

The food was extremely good: one evening we had an African themed dinner where we were encouraged to try mopani worms, although this was not compulsory!

All the staff at this camp were incredibly friendly and the service was first class. We would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank hamilton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Zambezi Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Wow! Such an incredible review for a wonderful in-house team. Thank you for acknowledging our team and all that they do, I will be sure to share this wonderful praise with them. Zambezi Expeditions is such a special place in the heart of Mana Pools National Park, I am thrilled that you utilized all the safari experiences... isn't the Mokoro paddle such a one of a kind experience?

Mitch the resident hippo is still around and finds himself very much at home amongst the camp.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, thank you once more for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We spent 3 nights during October. This property of African Bush Camps is in Mana Pools National Park. The air strip is half an hour's drive away. Our driver-guide, the manager of the camp met our plane. We had a game drive on the way to the camp as well as morning and late afternoon each day. The camp is directly on the bank of the Zambezi River. We counted as many as 30 hippo on the sand bar in front of our tent at any one time. The hippo are very talkative. One did walk through camp at night as did an elephant one afternoon. We heard hyena and lions. The tents are mounted on the ground with floor coverings. The en suite is attached but separated by a zippered entrance. There are flush toilets and running water. Showers are from a large bucket suspended over a wooden platform. Staff bought hot water to fill the bucket at the time requested whether it was early morning, afternoon or night. Food was very tasty and included good variety, even or vegetarians. Lights in the tents were solar. Our only problem was that the battery in our tent ceased working so we had to depend upon flashlights. The defective part was replaced. Wakeup call is at 5 am with breakfast at 5:30 am, either at the fire circle or the dining tent, depending upon how windy it was. Game drives began at 6 am and lasted all morning. Lunch was served at noon. After siesta time there was tea in late afternoon and another game drive until dusk. Alternative activities included walking safaris, canoeing on the river and fishing. Afternoon ends with sun-downers and dinner. To avoid problem interactions with animals, staff escort is required after dark. This was the end of dry season so it was easy to spot many animals and birds. Although we did not see any lions, we did see a leopard drag a newly caught impala into the bushes where we watched him. There is a 17 member pack of wild dogs that we saw several times in several areas. Impala, elephants, kudu, roan, water bucks, buffalo, zebra, crocodiles, were in abundance. Scores of birds, especially water birds were identified. Camp Manager Kingsley and his staff are very good at their jobs and are very pleasant. Please note that this is a very remote camp with no mobile phone or internet access, if that is important to you. I last camped in this Park 35 years ago and it was delightful to see how little the area and critters and birds have changed.

Room tip: All tents are on the bank of the Zambezi River!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Zambezi Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you for this feedback Les. it's amazing to hear that the area has not changed in 35 years, incredible. Thank you for this lovely review and the comprehensive detail in regard to the functioning of the camp it will help other guests understand what to expect.

You will have to come back again in an attept to spot the elussive lion. However you had some incredible sightings including the leopard and the wild dogs... amazing!

I will pass your lovely comments onto our staff they will truly appreciate them. Our staff always strive to go beyond expectations and respond to our guests needs.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide this feedback. All the best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We spent two nights here, in july 2018. This tented camp is simple which gives it a genuine safari atmospher, but it is still comfortable. The staff is extremely kind and cheerful. The camp is situated along the Zambezi river and the view is very nice. During the night, we were lulled by the grunting of the hippopotamus, which resembles a low-pitched laugh. It seems that these animals spend their nights telling jokes!
The highlight of our stay here was the view of elephants standing straight on their hindlegs to browse leaves on trees.
Serge Gosseye from Brussels, Belgium.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S-Gosseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Zambezi Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Hi Serge, I love your little comment on the hippos, I think that sums up the situation perfectly. Thank you for this valuable feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your authentic safari.

To see such a huge animals like the elephant up on their hindlegs is an amazing sighting. I will pass your lovely comments on to our staff. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

This is as close to roughing it as I get! Large tent on the ground, flush toilet, bucket shower, bed, solar powered lights. The showers were hot, the bed was very comfortable, the hippo, elephants and baboons around the tent were incredible. Food was delicious and creative - from kudu to curry. Cocktails by the fire under the stars was magical. And canoeing down the Zambezi was unforgettable. All made even better by great staff and skilled guides.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dhlc416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Zambezi Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

What an energetic and lovely review we would love to have you glamping with us again in the future. We really appreciate this great feedback and will definetly forward your comments on to our staff in camp. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed 3 nights in September. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it for anyone (like us) not desiring "luxury". Great staff, excellent food, wonderful guides. We were in Tent 1, the farthest from the main area. Visited by a grazing hippo one evening. Sounds of lions, hyenas and elephants most nights. Covered seating area outside its entrance, inside there was a double bed, sufficient storage, cotton robes, attached ensuite with bucket shower, flush toilet and running cold water (not for drinking). Water bottles in the room. Dophus was our congenial and wonderful Camp Host. Enjoyed our conversations around the fire very much. He described the camp as "down to earth" and it's an apt description. Cloud was our guide, he was knowledgeable and generous. Enjoyed his stories. Also helped by Guides TK and Peter, also Sebastien and many others. Chef Kosta (not sure of the spelling) was a wizard-the lunches and dinners were the best of the 3 camps we stayed at (especially enjoyed the tilapia bream and the oxtail stew). Expectations were exceeded Dophus! We saw cape buffalo, elands, elephants, hippos, lions, zebra and wild dogs (twice).

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GregandDebbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma M, Public Relations Manager at Zambezi Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi GregandDebbieR,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Zambezi Expeditions. We are overjoyed that you had such a memorable and exciting safari with African Bush Camps. Zambezi Expeditions is a wonderful camp- part glamping, part rustic- all adventure. Our team in camp is phenomenal. They all have intricate knowledge of the bush and river, and a deep passion for the animals that live in Mana Pools. They create an oasis of hospitality and warmth that turns every guest into family.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all of the staff in camp, and we hope to see you again soon on safari with African Bush Camps.
Until then, keep well and best wishes,
The African Bush Camps Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews