We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
190
17
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
17
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives five star overlooking the lake fish spectacular views african bush outdoor shower our room was spacious few weeks common areas pool deck village tour fire pit rooms overlooking small touches every evening billiard table
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

What an amazing experience we are so thankful we took this trip to Bumi Hills. Everything at Bumi is just 10/10 the staff is so friendly and very helpful, rooms are so so clean, the furniture the bed is just to die for, the food is just so divine those chef have really great experience on point.
The kids enjoyed every meal they prepared as they constantly asked them what they needed which is very rare in most places which is then a plus for Bumi
The guides are really good they take all their time explaining and are keen to ensure you get the best out of every activity be it bush walks, fishing or game drive.

Wildlife is everywhere talk of buffalo, elephant, zebra,wathhog,leopards,you name it it's all just there for you.

I will definitely recommend anyone interested in having a great time of their life in Zimbabwe to visit Bumi Hills you will be extremely surprised to see what you were missing. Value for your money.

Thank you Bumi Hills We will see you all soon

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lionel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Please do make it soon! Thank you for this lovely comprehensive review. It certainly sounds like you made the most out of your time and all the activities on offer.

I am thrilled your children had a great experience, our team are simply wonderful and I believe you felt their warmth. It is always so special seeing the likes of elephant and buffalo bathing at the water's edge.

Until next time, keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

We had the villa with my inlaws which is perfect for an extended family. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with great views. We had Godwin as our guide who was extremely knowledgeable about everything we seemed to encounter. My 11 year old son loved the speed boat rides and billiard table! Sheckie, the host made sure we had everything we needed and always a smile:) Look out for wildlife just off the upper level dining deck. I highly recommend the village tour and be sure to bring things to donate to the local school. (this is a resubmission with the correct number of stars)

Room tip: Wifi is located in common area.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Hi Todd, thank you for the update on the stars, much appreciated. Again. thank you for this feedback I am thrilled you and your family had the best time. We do hope to welcome you back to one of our African Bush Camps properties in the near future.

We love all the stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Arriving into Bumi Hills Lodge looking across Lake Kariba was a wonderful addition to our Zimbabwe Holiday. Our room was spacious with wonderful views and all the staff helped make sure our stay was very special. Spry was always nearby to ensure we were well fed and watered, Little Max and Obey took care of us on game drives, boat cruises, sunset and sunrise outings and Shepherd was never far behind ensuring all was in order. We highly recommend adding Bumi Hills to your itinerary. African Bush Camps, you need to be congratulated. Well done.

Room tip: All rooms have wonderful views, just advise if you prefer closer to lounge/dining areas
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucys17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Hi, Lucy, this is amazing to read! Thank you for such kind acknowledgement of our team and all the hard work they put in. I have shared this valuable feedback with the whole African Bush Camps team, we are thrilled to receive it.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

From the moment we were dropped off from our tiny plane at Bumi airstrip, we loved absolutely everything! Bumi Hills Lodge overlooks the enormous lake Kariba. The lodge is gorgeous and our family villa was absolutely extraordinary, with a huge living room and a balcony overlooking the lake, with kudu, elephants and monkeys wandering about beneath. As at other African Bush Camp lodges, everyone working there was brilliant. We would especially mention Shepherd, who was always on the lookout for how he could make our stay even better; for example taking our kids aside and showing them the fish in the pond, playing cards with them and teaching them pool. Our guide, Steve, was very knowledgeable, warm and friendly. Also, Memory, who looked after our every food and drink need while also telling us all about Tonga culture and history. An absolutely treat of a place. Thank you to everyone there!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2019

Hi Michele, I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience with our Bumi Hills team, thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Our team are the heart of what we do and I am glad you felt their warmth and your family was able to experience a magical holiday together.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

Well situated near lake Kariba and all the cabins have the same great view over the lake. Our guide was Steve who took us on a well appreciated walking safari, fishing trips on the wonderful lake with the dead trees etc. Very nice !
The lodge in itself is beautifully kept and very clean with lush gardens. Shepherd was our kind host and a very special thx to our omnipresent waiter Spry !

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HermanandMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Bumi Hills Safari Lodge - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Thank you for leaving this lovely review, it is wonderful to receive it. I am thrilled that you had such a fantastic time.

We hope to welcome you back to the beautiful shores of Lake Kariba in the near future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews