We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sable Sands(Hwange National Park)
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hwange Safari Lodge(Hwange National Park)
US$181
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ganda Lodge(Hwange National Park)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hide(Hwange National Park)
US$1 367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant's Eye, Hwange(Hwange National Park)
US$1 120
US$1 084
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivory Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gwango Elephant Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malindi Station Safari Lodge(Hwange National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
75
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilderness safarisfamily tentseater planehuge deckgame viewingwater holegeneral gamewalking safarigin and tonicafrican sunsetelectric blanketsworld classabundant wildlifegame drives were greatsable antelopewatering holehigh tea
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We were there in December, which is "wet season", meaning that the animals are a bit harder to find as they have plenty of places to go to get water, but we had a great time and were very "successful" finding animals with our fantastic guide, Livinstone.

The routine here (and it's a modern lovely spot in an area without cell or wifi coverage) is to be woken at 5, have a wonderful breakfast and coffee (fresh muffins, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, etc.) then jump in the jeep for touring by 6! You never know what you'll see, and the zen of managing expectations with the excitement of a great sighting is really fun. About halfway through the 5 hour morning we stopped for tea and cookies (Livingstone always got out first to make sure there were no lions around to "bother us") and then back in for more till we returned around 11 for brunch (the staff always greeted us with warm scented towels on arrival...nice touch!).

Brunch was absolutely lovely and really more of a lunch and then "siesta" (the rooms were beautiful but the common area had a small pool, library, bar, etc. for plenty of ways to relax). Then around 3:30 it was time for "high tea" and then back in the jeep for afternoon exploring. Toward the end of the afternoon, around sunset, it was time for "sundowners".....gin and tonic was generally our choice with one of the most spectacular spots overlooking a pond with hippos and an stunning African sunset while munching on the homemade potato chips also provided.....

So the animals.....we were lucky enough, on our first day, to find a leopard! Apparently this is a rare sighting....even Livingstone was excited and got HIS camera out....it was amazing as the hyena (also rare daytime sighting) was guarding the kill in a puddle, but the leopard came out and found more meat and took it up a nearby tree for munching before he dropped it and had to come down......we were no more than 20 yards away from the action and it was fantastic. We saw so many Zebras, impalas, wildebeest (saw one being born and a few just out of the womb!) that it started seeming "commonplace", but then we also found elephants, giraffes, kudu, sable, jackal, wild dogs, lions (it took till the second day till we found a male lion but that was a great finding too with him guarding his kill with another male and two females nearby). Birds, birds and birds of amazing shapes and colors.....I downloaded Sasol ebirds fof Southern Africaor the iphone (I paid for the version...downloaded it before i got there....and it was really a fun way to keep track of what we say with Livingstone's guidance...also helping me as I look at photos).

Livingstone was absolutely fantastic. He had 30 years of experience, and just had a feel of what we wanted....we were really excited by elephants and the last evening, before returning to the camp, we headed off for a pond he had seen elephants at several times...it was dusk to early evening, but there were maybe 7 or 8 elephants there just "playing" in the water....it was fantastic....and THEN we looked behind us and another group of 5 started heading our way....and a few minutes later another group of 12 came walking toward us (with one 1 month old little one!)....it was a bit otherworldly, but Livingstone said that as long as we were quiet they'd just see the vehicle and walk by, which they did.....so in the dusk to dark we were able to just watch this great display of more than 20 elephants just coming to to the pond for water and what seemed like great fun for them all. We returned feeling really exhilarated and enjoyed a great dinner!

The final morning some people just relaxed and went to the airfield, but we wanted to get up and get more hours of safari time in....while we say more of the lions and zebras and wildebeest, we were treated to a great cheetah sighting. we had to rush to the airfield but it all worked out great and we made it in time (there was just one other family for the 12 seater plane, so i think they would have waited for us anyway!).

i could go on and on, and i have nothing to compare this place to, but it was spectacular. The staff and accommodations were great though Livingstone was our hero!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eandmgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Linkwasha Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear Eandmgo,

Thank you for your amazing review, we were enthralled reading all your great memories of your stay with us, especially the time you spent out on your adventures with Livingstone. We cannot wait to share all your beautiful words with him. One of the best tips we can give you - if your guide takes out his camera, you know it is a rare amazing sighting and you should get as many photos as you can :).

We hope you will visit us again soon.
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Super large rooms, great guides, wonderful staff, excellent food, elephants drinking from the hotel pool at night. Bonus: some of our groups saw a honey badger near the lodge. What more could you want? All terrific. Relatively quick ride from lodge to animals. Could have stayed for weeks.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cleveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Linkwasha Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Thank you Cleveman for your wonderful review, we are thrilled to see that everything in camp was able to meet and exceed your expectations. And glad to see you were treated to a rare sighting of a honey badger – hopefully you were able to get a good photo of him and not just a blur dashing off :) . We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Spent 3 nights here and loved it - the animals seem wilder or more natural than places like the Serengeti. Large groups of elephants and other animals around the water holes, pumped up in the dry season for the animals. My guide Eustace was terrific and I learned so much from him - he found animals and birds, large and small. We would just sit and watch their behavior, like two Sables testing their skills against each other. He knew just where to go and when so that we traversed the park. The lodge services were terrific with attention to detail - they served my dinner early for me as I had a health issue, and as I was traveling alone, someone joined me at meals so that we had great conversation and companionship. It is peaceful, comfortable, luxurious, and serene. Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SaveyFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Linkwasha Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear SaveyFLTraveler,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to see you were treated to such wonderful dinner conversations. We will be sure to share your review with everyone in camp, especially Eustace and hope you were able to get some wonderful photos of all your great sightings.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Firstly I have to mention that this was our 7th visit to Hwange National Park and together with Mana Pools National Park, always our absolute best wildlife and game viewing experience in Southern Africa. Other parks are very commercial, with so many tourists that you do not get the true wilderness experience Hwange offers !!
We traversed the park for 10 days before spending 4 days at Linkwasha. Wilderness Safaris has without a doubt the most pristine and beautiful part of the Park as their concession ! No other tourists do game viewing in their concession, making for an exclusive and unique wilderness experience.
Choosing the season in which you travel is very important. During the dry season May/June to October/November the pans dry up and the only water game can drink ,is found in the pans that are pumped. During this time game congregate around the pans all day and night and game viewing is better than anywhere in Africa!! Rare species like Rone, Sable, Eland etc are found in huge numbers, not mentioning the ever present herds of Elephant ! Once the rainy season starts and the pans fill everywhere, game disperse and one will work harder to find game, but the beauty of the African bush makes up for that!
Linkwasha camp is understated elegance. I agree that it is very different to the traditional safari camp, but the setting of the camp is so beautiful, that anything too much or over the top, would interfere with the beautiful surroundings.
The lounge, dining area and huge deck around the lovely pool is greatl with views of the waterhole from everywhere. We dipped in the pool after every game drive !
The rooms are exquisite ! Large and comfortable and cleverly designed for maximum comfort. As the camp is on the grid, electricity is available 24/7. At first we thought this a little strange, but wow ,with 40 degrees Celcius plus during October, we loved the aircon during our afternoon siesta. The coffee and cookies in the room were lovely and the mini-bar filled with ice, cold drinks, beer and wine also very convenient.
The food was excellent and a great variety was served, of which the Zimbabwe beef and the Zambezi bream were probably the best. We loved the little vegetarian dishes served on the side. Our waiters, Simon and Vilani were excellent and remembered our personal drink preferences from day one !!
Speaking of the staff, we cannot thank Jeremy, Joe, Cynthia and Nono enough for their attention and the wonderful atmosphere they create in camp. WE CANNOT WAIT TO RETURN !!
To Livingstone our excellent guide, thanks a million for showing us everything we could wish for. The Wild Dogs chasing the Wildebeest was exceptional ! But, experiencing the Lion at their kill with the little cubs lying under the vehicle in the shade was wow ! Never did we expect to sit at a lion kill with more than 500 Cape buffalo coming to the same place for a drink and then 2 big herds of Sable, Zebra , Wharthog, Impala etc joining them. This while the Yellow billed Kites were darting up and down catching frogs at the waterhole.
We have visited all 3 camps in the concession and recommend them all highly, but Linkwasha has the edge of luxury !!!
Lastly, I wish to stress again, that Wilderness Safaris concession is the most beautiful and pristine area in the whole of Hwange !!!

Room Tip: Room 7 is closest to the main area. Others are all very private.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Linkwasha Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear RitaSouthAfrica,

Thank you for your amazing review, we are thrilled to see that Hwange was still able to wow you after so many return visits. We are extremely grateful to see that you have been so touched by the Wilderness Safaris Values that you keep returning to so many of our camps – not only in Hwange but throughout all the regions which we operate in through Africa. We are glad to hear Linkwasha was no different and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Another excellent Wilderness offering. Spacious, contemporary, classy but with a suitably indigenous feel. Tented rooms outrageously large and comfortable, food excellent, game vehicles in mint condition. But it's the people who make the difference. Jeremy, Joe, Caroline et al were superb - attentive but not intrusive, friendly but professional. Game viewing more than satisfactory, but do yourself a favour and do a walk with Richard and Robert.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Linkwasha Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Jerermy R,

Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback - high praise indeed. Jeremy, Joe and team will be thrilled to hear you had such a good time and enjoyed all facets of your stay, especially the walking. Zimbabwe has some of the best walking guides and areas around, and we are glad that you had the opportunity to take advantage of this!

Warm regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews