We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
384
21
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
384
21
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives watering hole copper bath plunge pool african bush coffee delivered water hole indoor and outdoor showers guide david safari experience three nights magical place amazing experience roan antelope early morning his knowledge once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2019 via mobile

Don’t hesitate. Pack your bags, get your camera ready and be prepared for an experience you will never forget. Firstly, the staff were all excellent, our guide Calvert knowledgeable and patient with us ‘first timers’ and everyone else above and beyond. Made it fun for us. Party of four and celebrated our wedding anniversary (41 years) in style. Many thanks to all.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank eraytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Camp and Somalisa Acacia - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

41 years, congratulations how wonderful to hear. Thank you for sharing it with us. I am thrilled you had a lovely stay and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back as second timers in the near future.

Until then, stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

Our expectations were high, coming to Somalia Camp, and they were exceeded in high fashion! Our guide, Albert, has great knowledge of all the animals, birds, and native vegetation, and provided great insights to all. The camp manager, Sydney, treated us like long-standing friends from the moment we arrived. We felt a special bond with all the staff. We had a logistical mixup which Sydney and Albert sorted straight away. The team is truly focused on the guests’ experiences, and they are wonderful. We give the accommodations, food, and service our highest marks!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff_Los_Altos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Camp and Somalisa Acacia - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Thank you for this kind acknowledgement of our wonderful team, it is fabulous to read. I am glad Sydney and Albert were able to sort out the mix-up, as you put it the guest experience is truly our focus.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

Somalisa Camp gave us the most wonderful experience of Hwange National Park. Besides a truly wonderful lodge and great guides and hospitality, nature gave us all we hoped for. We saw lots of elephants, giraffes, buffalo's, zebra's and even a leopard and two times a cheetah in the short period of time we stayed there.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bstrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Camp and Somalisa Acacia - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Wow, what fabulous sightings. great to hear you had such a wonderful trip. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and share your experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

Everything about Somalisa exceeded our expectations! Accommodation is gorgeous and comfortable. We had tent 3 with view of waterhole. Our guide, Clement, so friendly, sincere, knowledgeable and just wonderful. The food is delicious and plentiful. You will not go hungry here! Highly recommend Somalisa!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marlaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Camp and Somalisa Acacia - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Five plus! We will take it. Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review it is a delight to read. I will be sure to share it with our entire team.

All the best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2019

We loved our whole Somalisa experience. On the way from the airstrip we stopped at a water hole where several elephants, a kudo, and a roan antelope looked on as two sable antelopes challenged each other, head to head. Somalisa Acacia was so welcoming -- our host Phindi was delightful and our guide Armstrong was so knowledgeable and expert and finding new animals on each game drive -- the brother lions who now rule in Cecil's place, the painted dogs, amazing birds (including strolling Ostrich's), large herds of buffalo, kudus, and many many elephants. The accommodations are SO comfortable and luxurious, the food delicious, and the people (both guests and staff) so enjoyable. You can't beat sitting with a drink and watching the changing parade of wildlife coming to the water hole, or sitting on your private porch or taking a private outdoor shower watching the zebras and kudus joining the elephants at the water. (And the morning wake up -- "knock, knock" accompanied by a thermos of hot coffee, couldn't be any better!) Highly recommend the Somalis camps!

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Camp and Somalisa Acacia - African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Everything a safari experience should be summed up right here. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your experience. We are delighted that you shared it with us.

Thank you again for the kind acknowledgement of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews