We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
US$173
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
414
41
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
41
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeoutdoor showergame drivesswimming pooljenman safaristented chaletsout door showerspa treatmentslarge bathon stiltssalt lickwatering holenight staylodge managerhot water bottles in the bedherd of elephantswood fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Wonderful and excellent located at two waterholes with many animals there. Very ggod and friendly service. Good meals and wines and nice evenings at the open fire. Very very beautiful tents with fantastics bath!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johannw718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi johannw718

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am so pleased to know that your stay was pleasant.

I am glad that the food and wine were to your liking and that you enjoyed the rooms and the baths.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

From the moment we were greeted by Shepherd and given a welcome drink and cold towel we knew we were in for a memorable experience. This is glamping! After a long drive from Chobe it was a delight to sit down at the beautifully set table for lunch, and then revived, shown to our room/tent chalet! Everything was beautifully decorated - from the huge bed and gorgeous bedhead, designer bath with views to the waterhole, outdoor shower. Sundowners at The Eye watching the sunset was also unforgettable and then returning for dinner and then sitting around the camp fire (African TV) surrounded by hundreds of elephants who after splashing around in the waterhole decided that the swimming pool was also a great source of water. Loved it all - the standard of accommodation, food & service was outstanding. Highly recommend and the game drives on their private concession as well as Hwange National Park and the Painted Dog Conservation Centre close by. Stay 3 days minimum - it is worth every cent!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi JaRMaC

Thank for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at Elephant’s Eye. I am so pleased to know that you had a wonderful time.

I am so happy that you loved the chalets. A lot of thought and effort has been put into creating a glamorous look and feel and it is always appreciate when client acknowledge the little details.

It is great that you had such wonderful elephant sightings. It is, in my opinion, one of the things that make Elephant’s Eye such a special place.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free so stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This was a very nice place to stay with everything that was needed to make our stay comfortable in an upmarket "tent". We had animals to look at outside our room and a nice swimming pool to relax in after a hot day.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank F7798CZsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi F7798CZsusanm

Thank for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at Elephant’s Eye. I am so pleased to know that you had a wonderful time.

I am so happy that you loved the chalets and that you had such fantastic animal sightings from your room.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free so stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We spent 3 nights in Elephants Eye in late August 2016 and I cannot speak highly enough of the experience, the accommodation or the staff.

On arrival and after a 2.5 hour transfer from Victoria Falls airport, we were warmly welcomed (with a mocktail!) by the staff, including Shepherd who was to become our guide for the two safari days we had.

The "tents" were incredible and extremely well equipped and spacious. Our tent (#1) had a huge four poster bed, 2 sitting areas inside and outside on the large veranda, tea and coffee making facilities, a fireplace (we were surprised about this too but it did get very cold in the evenings and early mornings), a large bathroom with two sinks and a bathtub. Also, the whole front of the tent in the bedroom and bathroom opened up completely to overlook the private reserve and two watering holes out the front of the camp. It was a "tent" (on stilts) but not as we know it!

Breakfast was beautifully presented and very filling with a large range of options. Dinner was fantastic and the chef (Norma) came out each evening to tell us what we would be having for starter, main course and dessert. She was wonderfully sweet and a a superb cook! The food was fantastic.

Our two days on Safari were out of this world. Hwange National Park was a short 20 minute drive away. Shepherd looked after us fantastically well and was a terrific guide and well educated, telling us tonnes about the animals and the park itself. We saw a pride of Lions (both days), a cheetah, giraffes, loads of herds of elephants, zebra, wilderbeast, buffalo, kudu, vultures, warthogs, hippo's, waterbuck, sable, etc etc! We were out for two full days from around 6:30 am until 4:30 pm - sounds like a long day but it honestly flew by and lunch and drinks were laid on by Elephants Eye within one of the many small campsites fenced off within Hwange.

The park was really quiet - we were there on a Sunday and a Monday and both days, particularly the Monday we hardly saw any other vehicles.

The staff were all unbelievably friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were celebrating an anniversary and they went out of their way to look after us, even surprising us by taking us out to their private platform about 5 km from the campsite for our last sunset. This was a lovely surprise and we honestly felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.

I cannot speak highly enough of Zimbabwe (we were there for 5 days in total). The people generally were so friendly and great hosts and value for money far exceeded other safari options in Tanzania and Kenya. We would go back in a heartbeat.

We would absolutely recommend Elephants Eye - our three days there were truly memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi Jpw222

Thank for your sharing such a detailed and positive review regarding your recent stay at Elephant’s Eye. I am thrilled that we could make your anniversary such a special experience. I hope you made many memories that you will cherish for years to come.

Thank for recognizing the efforts of the staff, in particular Shepard and Norma. We are blessed to have such a passionate team operating the lodge. I will definitely share your review with them.

I am so glad that you loved the rooms. A lot of effort has been put into making them as functional and glamorous as possible. It is always appreciated when guests acknowledge the little things that have been done to improve the quality of their overall stay.

I am especially happy that you had such wonderful animal sightings in Hwange National Park.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free to stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A truely wonderful visit. Wished we could have stayed longer.A new facility with excellent accommodation and service . Staff were welcoming and very helpful .Food quality was great given the isolation of the establishment .

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 902geoffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hi 902geoffg

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am so pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable.

I am glad that the facilities and accommodation were to your liking and that the staff were welcoming and helpful hosts.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future, hopefully this time, for a longer stay.

Kind regards,

Garth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews