We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye Spy Elephant's Eye”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Eye Spy Elephant's Eye”
Reviewed 22 September 2016

From the moment we were greeted by Shepherd and given a welcome drink and cold towel we knew we were in for a memorable experience. This is glamping! After a long drive from Chobe it was a delight to sit down at the beautifully set table for lunch, and then revived, shown to our room/tent chalet! Everything was beautifully decorated - from the huge bed and gorgeous bedhead, designer bath with views to the waterhole, outdoor shower. Sundowners at The Eye watching the sunset was also unforgettable and then returning for dinner and then sitting around the camp fire (African TV) surrounded by hundreds of elephants who after splashing around in the waterhole decided that the swimming pool was also a great source of water. Loved it all - the standard of accommodation, food & service was outstanding. Highly recommend and the game drives on their private concession as well as Hwange National Park and the Painted Dog Conservation Centre close by. Stay 3 days minimum - it is worth every cent!

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaRMaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Hi JaRMaC

Thank for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at Elephant’s Eye. I am so pleased to know that you had a wonderful time.

I am so happy that you loved the chalets. A lot of thought and effort has been put into creating a glamorous look and feel and it is always appreciate when client acknowledge the little details.

It is great that you had such wonderful elephant sightings. It is, in my opinion, one of the things that make Elephant’s Eye such a special place.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free so stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    37
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
78
124
58
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This was a very nice place to stay with everything that was needed to make our stay comfortable in an upmarket "tent". We had animals to look at outside our room and a nice swimming pool to relax in after a hot day.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank F7798CZsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Hi F7798CZsusanm

Thank for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience at Elephant’s Eye. I am so pleased to know that you had a wonderful time.

I am so happy that you loved the chalets and that you had such fantastic animal sightings from your room.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free so stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We spent 3 nights in Elephants Eye in late August 2016 and I cannot speak highly enough of the experience, the accommodation or the staff.

On arrival and after a 2.5 hour transfer from Victoria Falls airport, we were warmly welcomed (with a mocktail!) by the staff, including Shepherd who was to become our guide for the two safari days we had.

The "tents" were incredible and extremely well equipped and spacious. Our tent (#1) had a huge four poster bed, 2 sitting areas inside and outside on the large veranda, tea and coffee making facilities, a fireplace (we were surprised about this too but it did get very cold in the evenings and early mornings), a large bathroom with two sinks and a bathtub. Also, the whole front of the tent in the bedroom and bathroom opened up completely to overlook the private reserve and two watering holes out the front of the camp. It was a "tent" (on stilts) but not as we know it!

Breakfast was beautifully presented and very filling with a large range of options. Dinner was fantastic and the chef (Norma) came out each evening to tell us what we would be having for starter, main course and dessert. She was wonderfully sweet and a a superb cook! The food was fantastic.

Our two days on Safari were out of this world. Hwange National Park was a short 20 minute drive away. Shepherd looked after us fantastically well and was a terrific guide and well educated, telling us tonnes about the animals and the park itself. We saw a pride of Lions (both days), a cheetah, giraffes, loads of herds of elephants, zebra, wilderbeast, buffalo, kudu, vultures, warthogs, hippo's, waterbuck, sable, etc etc! We were out for two full days from around 6:30 am until 4:30 pm - sounds like a long day but it honestly flew by and lunch and drinks were laid on by Elephants Eye within one of the many small campsites fenced off within Hwange.

The park was really quiet - we were there on a Sunday and a Monday and both days, particularly the Monday we hardly saw any other vehicles.

The staff were all unbelievably friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were celebrating an anniversary and they went out of their way to look after us, even surprising us by taking us out to their private platform about 5 km from the campsite for our last sunset. This was a lovely surprise and we honestly felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.

I cannot speak highly enough of Zimbabwe (we were there for 5 days in total). The people generally were so friendly and great hosts and value for money far exceeded other safari options in Tanzania and Kenya. We would go back in a heartbeat.

We would absolutely recommend Elephants Eye - our three days there were truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this review, 23 September 2016
Hi Jpw222

Thank for your sharing such a detailed and positive review regarding your recent stay at Elephant’s Eye. I am thrilled that we could make your anniversary such a special experience. I hope you made many memories that you will cherish for years to come.

Thank for recognizing the efforts of the staff, in particular Shepard and Norma. We are blessed to have such a passionate team operating the lodge. I will definitely share your review with them.

I am so glad that you loved the rooms. A lot of effort has been put into making them as functional and glamorous as possible. It is always appreciated when guests acknowledge the little things that have been done to improve the quality of their overall stay.

I am especially happy that you had such wonderful animal sightings in Hwange National Park.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future. Please feel free to stay in touch on our social media pages.

Kind regards,

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A truely wonderful visit. Wished we could have stayed longer.A new facility with excellent accommodation and service . Staff were welcoming and very helpful .Food quality was great given the isolation of the establishment .

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 902geoffg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Hi 902geoffg

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am so pleased to know that your stay was enjoyable.

I am glad that the facilities and accommodation were to your liking and that the staff were welcoming and helpful hosts.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future, hopefully this time, for a longer stay.

Kind regards,

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A truly wonderful relaxing place to visit. Animals a plenty, a great experience. Great swimming pool and lovely food. Loved the Fabric Book and story, you should have pieces for sale there, I would have bought some.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank H6130FEsaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenmanSafaris, Owner at Elephant's Eye, Hwange, responded to this review, 22 September 2016
Hi H6130FEsaraa

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am so happy to know that you loved the amenities, the food, and that you had such wonderful animal sightings!

Thanks for the compliment regarding the fabric book. We will most definitely look into stocking this at the lodge shop.

I hope you will visit our little slice of paradise again in the future.

Kind regards,

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hwange National Park hotels
41.1 km away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 23 in Hwange National Park
441 reviews
10.7 km away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 23 in Hwange National Park
158 reviews
17.1 km away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 23 in Hwange National Park
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Gwango Elephant Lodge
Gwango Elephant Lodge
#13 of 23 in Hwange National Park
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 23 in Hwange National Park
40 reviews
14.3 km away
Sable Sands
Sable Sands
#12 of 23 in Hwange National Park
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant's Eye, Hwange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant's Eye, Hwange

Property: Elephant's Eye, Hwange
Address: Sikumi Forestry Area | Aerodrome, Dete, Hwange National Park 565, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Hwange National Park
Price range (per night): R8 786 - R21 106
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant's Eye, Hwange 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephants Eye, Hwange, is comprised of 8 tented chalets all with double/twin beds surrounded by mosquito netting with en-suite bathrooms and showers. Travellers can enjoy the beautiful setting looking onto a waterhole which is frequented by elephants and other game. This authentic African lodge is designed to meet your needs with style and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Elephant's Eye, Hwange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing