We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
46
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews running water wonderful stay african bush camps wildlife viewing unforgettable experience camp fire taffy land baboons interaction sightings zimbabwe accommodations luxury team meals safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2019 via mobile

It is hard to capture this experience in words. The people, the sights, the sounds, the wildlife are all so fantastic that is hard to describe. From first arrival you are embedded within the Hwange ecosystem. You smell nature, you see life, you hear ....... Sometimes nothing, except the odd rumble from an elephant or lion. The day starts before sunrise, breakfast around a campfire and then off to see what happened overnight. Lions feasting, elephants grazing, zebra drinking, there is no shortage of sights. Stop for morning tea, watch the baboons play. Back to camp for lunch and siesta. The afternoon programs starts as the sun starts to dip. A few giraffe pruning trees, lions sleeping and gazelle grouping together. As the sun passes the horizon, sundowners overlooking a waterhole and the park prepares for night. Back to camp and freshen up for dinner. The camp staff greet us with open arms. An abundance of culinary delights, all seasonal, some local and all delicious. Retire to the camp fire for laughs, chats, a few more drinks then off to the 6 million star sleep. Special mention to Nkosana who is a superb guide and not only found us all the wildlife but shared local stories, customs and practices which added so much to an already rich experience.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sing09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Expeditions- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

6 million stars and such a heartfelt review. Thank you for capturing in words all that one should experience on a safari, it is such a delight to read.

I will be sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team, especially Nkosana, he will be thrilled.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again this is truly a joy to read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019 via mobile

Somalisa expeditions is the most authentic, comfortable amazing place in the world. Nothing has been missed. I feel truly blessed to have spent three nights there with the most amazing staff. They literally felt like a family. The food is fantastic the knowledge of the ‭drivers is second to none, the tents are gorgeous and extremely comfortable. I could not give them any feedback asides from don’t change. I compared expeditions with Somalisa camp and The pool at Somalisa camp sure looks nice but I loved the raw experience of expeditions. I will be back

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jimi_393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Expeditions- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2019

We will take 10 stars. Thank you for this beautiful review, it is such a delight to hear. I think you really captured the essence of our Expedition style camps.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Until then stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

I have just spent four wonderful nights at Somalisa Expeditions,my second visit and also stayed at Somalisa Camp a few years ago.Everything was great,food,accommodation,game drives.David was my guide and we saw lion every day plus elephant,roan antelope and just about every other animal you would expect to see.
I can't praise the camp and staff enough.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwangeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Expeditions- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you for this amazing feedback. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back for a third time in the near future. Until then keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

All the tents (which are only tents because they are made of canvas!!!) all face out to a valley and hillside that is a common traffic pathway for elephants. buffalo, sable antelope, impala....basically anything that walks of flies in the park. There are no fences, but a set of downed tree trunks outline the camp area and somewhat separate elephants from the main lodge, but otherwise, whatever roams, can come by your room at any time day or night. They have a lovely concrete water hole that the elephant come and drink, splash, squirt, snort, and congregate around while you lie in a lounge chair only 10 feet away. The staff are so friendly, helpful, and obviously love their jobs and the people they meet from all over the world. They are willing to accommodate the most quirky of diet requests....but even so, more food is served that is delicious that you will never go hungry. At meals you eat with the staff so you get to know them and their talents and lives apart from the safari circuit. At all times we felt safe, welcome, and valued as visitors and guests on the trip of a lifetime.

Room tip: You can't go wrong with ANY of the rooms. They are all stunning.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Expeditions- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Carrie thank you for being so appreciative of our staff. They will love to hear this magical feedback. Deep in the wild beauty of Hwange, it is our staff that provides the heart to all that we do. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable trip and were able to experience the culture of this beautiful country.

We always strive to go the extra mile for our guests to ensure this truly is a trip of a lifetime. Thanks again for this awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We are overawed and deeply touched by the passion, enthusiasm, drive, respect and service mindedness that is engrained in all personnel and Somalisa Expeditions. Once back home in the European “jungle” does one really realize how special, beautiful and exceptional our experience has been. We look back with deep gratitude to all who made this trip an unforgettable experience. Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Masjenkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma H, Public Relations Manager at Somalisa Expeditions- African Bush Camps, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Thank you Marian for this heartfelt feedback. We really do appreciate the time and effort put into providing this review. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such an amazing experience... that is exactly what we strive to achieve. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the camp staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, until then keep well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews