We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
20
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giant tortoises out of this world indian ocean fish private beach during our stay island paradise chef helicopter birds sea nature catamaran nests home privacy
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We had the most wonderful holiday on Cousine Island .Accommodation was 7 star .The staff could not do enough for you. The chief cooked excellent meals and you could have any meal you wanted.The Island is like living in paradise .We enjoyed the variety of bird life my camera would not stop taking pictures.Also the island is full of giant tortoises that will take food from your hand.The beach is white sand and blue water and it is your own private beach .If you are a fishing type the boat is there for you to use. We used the spa and the treatment was out of this world .A excellent massage and service.The weather was perfect during our stay and sea water was warm.A helicopter takes you from the mainland to the island and you get a view of some of the other islands.If you want to enjoy paradise on earth this is it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Dear Michael R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Cousine Island.

It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Cousine Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

4 nights in paradise...it was the crown of our stay in the Seychelles and set a new top level of holiday which probably cannot be beaten for a very very long time. What a retreat and a perfectly secluded island. It was us, pristine white coral sand and the warm Indian Ocean waiting for us to be explored. And before and after our endeavor s in the warm sea with could splurge the nothing-can-be-added luxury in our great villa. Always in perfect order. So if there should be a day with not so nice weather one still gets plenty of space to relax. The warmth of the weather and sea could only by the care provided by the stuff: whatever your preferred treat is: watersports, nature, spa or exquisite dining…it´s there. The only sad point: we had to leave again.

Room Tip: Get the presidential villa, no regrets. From Praslin take the mini-Mahé boat.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

An absolutely incredible and beautiful place, very special piece of secluded paradise, which was the perfect way for my new husband and I to start married life. If you need to get away from everything, want to soak up the sunshine, but not be surrounded by crowds then this is the perfect place to come. The villa's are beautifully equipped and tastefully decorated. Each one has a large Jacuzzi bath which was a highlight for us, your own private pool, and private beach. It also came equipped with a fully stacked mini bar, and nespress coffee machine to my husbands delight. The bedroom had a superking four poster bed, which was lovely and romantic. Each night the room was filled with candles and sweet smelling oil. We had private dinner on the beach for the two of us, with no one around except the lovely staff, who only came around to bring us our food or pour our champagne. An incredible place to watch the sunset, with an amazing 180 deg view of the Indian Ocean. The staff were all very attentive to our needs, but left us to enjoy our honeymoon too so were respective of our privacy. The chef was absolutely amazing, I miss his food so much now that I am home and so does my husband. He will cook up whatever you ask him to, and tried very hard to source me some lobster, which is now sadly been overfished in the Seychelles. The island is focused on conservation so be sure to see some turtles beach and lay eggs or some nests hatch while you are here, and take a walk around the island with the conservation officers to learn more about their determination to conserve and help flourish the beautiful animal and plant life indigenous to Cousine. You will never regret coming to this piece of paradise, you will take away treasured memories, a beautiful tan, incredible photos, a renewed sense of self and once your holiday ends you will definitely not want to leave. (Photos to follow soon).

Room Tip: The Presidential suite is the most incredible place to stay
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roxy1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

The trip
On landing, the island's staff will pick you and your luggage with small golf carts. The first thing that impresses as soon as the helicopter blades stop, is the silence, or rather the sound of nature takes over. It is first the waves crashing on the beach, then the birdsongs.
The infrastructure
Off to the pavilion for a small welcome drink and a foot massage, then we are led to the presidential villa. It is the largest of the five dwellings, and it can accommodate four people in a very comfortable space, separated by a large west-facing living room. This gives on a large terrace leading to a large infinity pool and, some tens of meters beyond, there is the sea.
The villa is less than six months old and already has received some distinguished guests such as actors, singers or other showbiz personalities who are all looking for the same thing: absolute discretion.
What is there to do?
The island is primarily a natural private reserve, which means that if you are in search of crowded beaches, gargantuan canteens or discos on the beach, this place is not for you. Here, you can walk for two kilometres of coastline and, except for giant tortoises, crabs and birds, you will come across no one.
Same with meals that you can take in the villa or at the lodge, you are alone and there is no menu ... Our Chef however has an endless supply and proves his great inventiveness, including making a gluten-free bread for one of us. As far as fish, shellfish and other exotic salad are concerned it is every time as delicious and original as can be.
Other than eating divinely and lazing by the pool or on the beach, what activities are offered on this island? There are several, but again, they are limited to the configuration of the place. To begin, a small walking tour with a wildlife expert will help you better know those who live on this island, including coming across a rare species called Magpie Robinson. Only 20 of them some twenty years ago in the world, they are now more than two hundred, thirty of which on this island alone. The island does not have any predator and all of them cohabit without much concern for humans. Better still, some giant tortoises of more than two hundred kilos and a hundred years old or more do not hesitate to come to you begging for caresses or a fruit. Ditto for birds or lizards for whom the attraction is you, and who clear off only when you are within a very few centimetres.
Regarding the sea, it is possible to go diving and enjoy tours in catamarans, but beware of the time of the year as this exercise is sporty in August (winter) because of the waves and currents.
In short, for a few days, there is plenty to keep busy and the Butler dedicated to the villa is always there to bring you a drink, a cocktail, or respond favourably to your needs.
Conclusion
I was literally charmed and seized by that stay. It is as if time had stopped whilst we were there. Everything is idyllic, with extremely helpful staff, although the table service is not always perfect. In this respect, the ability to order one’s recreational or favourite drinks in advance was quite helpful me in choosing wines for example. In summary, the real luxury of this experience is not, in my opinion, to be sought in the number of people available, its quality furniture, the thickness of the carpet, or whether the dishes are of the finest porcelain ever. No, the luxury of this island is that it belongs to you during your stay and that you are the master of time.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Cousine Island an Island Jewel like a diamond in The middle Of The Indian ocean. This Beautiful paradise is one Of The last three pristine Islands that are available to visit.

Arriving by helicopter She takes your breath away landing And feeling her from beneath your feet And The visual contrast Of colour And Wild life.

The staff are ever so welcoming.

The villas are Of The highest level Of luxury not to mention The service And excellence Of The cuisine.

I Highly recomend this Beautiful Island

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Nerina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews