We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”

The Eldred Preserve
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Eldred
Cuisines: American
Description: The Eldred Preserve is a wholly unique hospitality offering that weaves together the very best of three Sullivan County legacy brands – The Eldred Preserve, The Bradstan Country Hotel, and The Old Homestead Restaurant. Eldred Preserve Weddings + Events offers flexible indoor and outdoor spaces that are ideal for a variety of events, from theater to formal dinner service, with a dance floor and performance stage available. The Bradstan Boutique Hotel offers 28 luxury accommodations that are resplendently decorated, and carefully furnished to an incredibly high standard. Contemporary comforts and facilities co-exist seamlessly with the natural beauty. The Old Homestead Restaurant + Lounge is a modern steakhouse offering upscale farm-to-table fare. The restaurant features several unique experiential spaces, including a mezzanine-level bar + wine-tasting room, a private dining room, a sunroom dining area, and outdoor terraces that are ideal for dining al fresco.
Restaurant details
Description: The Eldred Preserve is a wholly unique hospitality offering that weaves together the very best of three Sullivan County legacy brands – The Eldred Preserve, The Bradstan Country Hotel, and The Old Homestead Restaurant. Eldred Preserve Weddings + Events offers flexible indoor and outdoor spaces that are ideal for a variety of events, from theater to formal dinner service, with a dance floor and performance stage available. The Bradstan Boutique Hotel offers 28 luxury accommodations that are resplendently decorated, and carefully furnished to an incredibly high standard. Contemporary comforts and facilities co-exist seamlessly with the natural beauty. The Old Homestead Restaurant + Lounge is a modern steakhouse offering upscale farm-to-table fare. The restaurant features several unique experiential spaces, including a mezzanine-level bar + wine-tasting room, a private dining room, a sunroom dining area, and outdoor terraces that are ideal for dining al fresco.
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Having been to the old eldred preserve..and henning which we loved we were excited to try this restaurant. We were not disappointed.
Our waitress alexia was very sweet and the staff came over to make sure the meal was good. I ordered coconut shrimp my husband a steak. It was very good dessert was delicious. The place is just beautiful and the restaurant very elegant. We went into the hotel and walked around. Its really lovely.
Highly recommend

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 519elaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Having heard mixed reports about the Old Homestead Restaurant at ELdred Preserve we we were looking forward to trying it for ourselves.
The room is absolutely beautiful although the layout is a little confusing. The building is quite large , had no valet parking and the only open spots were a distance away.
Our server was young and very tentative. Drink orders took a long time A vodka gimlet was sent back because it tasted like lemonade but our other drinks were good and very fairly priced.
We ordered soups and a watermelon and cheese salad. The server didn’t know what cheese was included or mentioned that it was grilled and served hot. There was less than a tablespoon of feta. The onion soup was good but the mushroom bisque, although very good, was lukewarm.
We ordered 2 24 oz ribeyes to be shared. They were brought to the table on single plates with a second plate. Steak knives had to be requested and we were expected to slice and divide them ourselves. Not the service expected in an expensive steakhouse. The steak was cooked to the temperature ordered but was very grisly. . The potato sides and creamed spinach were good but the mushrooms and onions were a tiny portion of mushy onions and a small portion of of mushrooms.
With the lack of fine dining in this area the Old Homestead could fill a void. We understood the difficulty getting help in the restaurant business but they need to better train the employees they have if they are going to charge high prices. It would be a shame if they can’t match the food and service with the ambiance.

Date of visit: July 2021
4  Thank scooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

WOW! On a scale of one to 10, The Eldred is an easy 15. We had the most amazing experience staying At The Bradstan. We were given a warm greeting at the front entrance by the owner, Dan Silna and the wonderful Irvin (who helped us pick THE perfect suite for us.). The hotel architecture and every design element is perfect. I understand that Joan Silna had her hands all over the design. It is evident that she did it with a keen sense of style, elegance and love. No expense was spared and attention was given to every detail. The design and experience reminds me of the Mandarin Oriental in Lake Como. We can’t wait to go back. And only an hour and a half away from NYC! Thank you Dan and Joan for your vision to create such an elegant resort in the Catskills… and thank you Irvin for making the experience so memorable. Xoxoox

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Roccofurball
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Spending July 4th Weekend at the New Bradstan Inn at The Eldridge Preserve. It is fabulous. Magnificent Hotel, Fresh Country Air, Boating on the Lake and Chocolate Cream Pie at the “New” Old Homestead Restaurant. Run, do not walk. Eddie and Scott are amazing Hosts, Ervin and the entire staff are all wonderful

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2021

This is an amazing property - the architecture, the rooms, the decor: all fantastic. And the food was out of this world. I look forward to returning often. The only thing that would make this resort better would be a golf course. ; )

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank williamsV578JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Eldred Preserve also viewed

Eldred, Catskill Region
Eldred, Catskill Region
 
Eldred, Catskill Region

Been to The Eldred Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.