We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything just as marvellous second time round”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rockslea

View from the Top Floor Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Top Floor Bedroom
Private Outdoor Space Kitchen / Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View from the Top Floor Bedroom
Private Outdoor Space
Kitchen / Dining Area
First Floor Bedroom
View from the Kitchen Window
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Rockslea at Low Tide
Main Bathroom on Top Floor
Sea-facing Bedroom on First Floor (Optional - Super-King Size Bed)
View from Rockslea of Anstruther Harbour at Sunset
Sea-facing Bedroom on First Floor (Optional - Two Single Beds)
Anstruther Harbour
Sea-facing Bedroom on Top Floor (Double Bed)
Shower Room on first floor
Curlew on the rocks at the rear of the property - one of the many birds to be seen from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cellardyke, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michelle...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything just as marvellous second time round”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed at Rockslea last year and vowed to return. I wondered if it would be as enjoyable the second time round and was not disappointed. The owners respond so quickly to any questions you may have and very thoughfully left us a welcome pack of goodies. The accomodation is superb and all bed linen, towels crisp and fresh. The kitchen is very well equipped and you never tire of wandering round the house looking at all the nick nacks and interesting old deeds which have been lovingly framed. I will go back again to Rockslea again as I just love falling asleep to the sound of the waves and waking up to see the fishing boats going to Pittenweem with their catches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Fantastic to hear that you are as enchanted as ourselves & many others with the magic of the East Coast. We are also delighted to know that our guests experience within the house is such a positive one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele W
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property, great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed for a weekend at Rockslea with another family visiting from the States. Lovely spacious house, very well equipped with just about anything you could need for a stay. The house is on 3 storeys, so conveniently all the teenagers could have a floor to themselves!Outside terrace with sea view for when it's warm, and cosy aga in the kitchen for the cooler summer days.
Only minutes walk from Anstruther harbour, fish and chips, ice-cream etc.
Parking is on a fairly narrow street outside but we were able to get 2 cars parked near the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea views
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear positive comments after guests have enjoyed their holiday. We do hope you might return again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gc3014064...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great views, great house! ”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here with my family over the weekend and I can say this has been the most comfortable and homely house we have ever stayed in! We arrived and there was a parking space right outside which was very handy as we had brought a lot of stuff. The house was warm and welcoming and the views outside the back were incredible. I loved waking up in the morning with my cup of tea watching the waves. It's in a perfect, quiet location and there are a couple of bars, shops and a restaurants all within a few minutes walk. There was plenty of information of how to work everything in the house and also where to go, what to see and what to do. We all thoroughly enjoyed our selfs and are already hoping to book up for October!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than home from home”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is our second visit to rockslea and it was as if we had just left it the week before. The house was spotless. Lovely and warm very welcoming and full of character . The view is superb and we cannot wait to return . Very restfull and more than well supplied with all we required.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.We are delighted to have guests returning to "Rockslea". It's important for everyone to enjoy their holidays and it's nice to see our holiday home ticks a lot of boxes for people. Location, Ambience & facilities seem to suiting all age ranges.
Hope you'll be back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirles27
1 review
“Rockslea rocks...”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We're just back from a short but very pleasant stay at the Rockslea. The house was lovely and very well equipped - there was nothing that we were stuck for. We liked all the quirky nik naks around the house which made it feel very homely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short break at Rockslea . Thank you for taking the time to review our house and we do hope you might return one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$214
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing