We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out for any age group”
Review of Peak Wildlife Park

Peak Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Winkhill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Set in the heart of the Staffordshire Peak District; Peak Wildlife Park offers a truly unique and immersive animal experience. Our large walkthroughs allow you to come face to face with exotic and endangered animals from across three continents. Whether you love lemurs, have a passion for penguins or want to wander with the wallabies (and feed them with your hand!)our park has something for you. Our regular keeper talks and on site facilities provide everything you need for an entertaining, exciting and educational day out. The kids will have a wild time enjoying our play area with space hoppers, trikes and large bouncy castle, whilst you can enjoy a relaxing hot drink and delicious snack. Once you’ve done all that…Make sure you meet our Meerkats, look out for otters, see if you can hear the Rheas and DON’T miss our african village (or our Pygmy Goats won’t be happy!). You can do all of this whilst helping to contribute to the conservation of some of the word’s most amazing animals
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Visited here for the third time with family (all university students). An enjoyable day for any age group. It is lovely to be able to walk about amongst the animals and get really close to them. The staff are all very friendly and knowledgable about the wildlife. Park is clean and well cared for. Information boards for each animal were informative without being over excessive. Toilet facilities are well cared for.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 8ALT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 113 reviews
"pizza"
in 54 reviews
"play area"
in 42 reviews
"annual pass"
in 19 reviews
"feeding times"
in 24 reviews
"family room"
in 15 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 22 reviews
"young children"
in 25 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 8 reviews
"few hours"
in 23 reviews
"animals seem"
in 9 reviews
"chester zoo"
in 7 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 12 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 10 reviews
"picnic benches"
in 7 reviews
"value for money"
in 18 reviews
"plenty of space"
in 10 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Just got back from Peak today, 4 of us went and had a lovely day. Everyone enjoyed the walk through enclosures. Place was very clean and staff were cheerful. Lots of areas to chill out and enjoy the sun too. The signs educating people on the dangers of plastic to the environment were brilliant but i was then disappointed to see plastic spoons being given out with tubs of ice cream. I hope peak concider wooden spoons on the future.
All in all, we will be back again!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ferret_features
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We visited Peak Wildlife Park for my birthday last week (I'm a 32 year old child!) and had a great time. The work really caters well for children; my 8 month old was gurgling away in delight as you can get so close to most of the animals. Being able to walk through many of the enclosures and be within touching distance of the animals gives it an edge on many parks of a similar size. The park staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the environment was very clean. The animals seemed to have plenty of room which I always think is crucial in such a place. We had a home-made pizza for lunch from the cafe and this was delicious too. We visited on a warm sunny day which was ideal. Perhaps if it was rainy there'd be few places to shelter but otherwise I'd highly recommend a visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend spent the afternoon at Peak Wildlife Park. Although we both really enjoyed the visit, you make it last as long as you wish. If you don’t spend time looking at the different animals, it can be all seen and finished within an hour.
The staff are really friendly and helpful and make you feel welcome. The penguins, meerkats and lemurs were rather entertaining and I’ve never seen a real tortoise the size of the one they have there.
The cafe was a bit on the expensive side, but you expect that at places in the middle of nowhere.
All in all we both enjoyed our afternoon out together at Peak Wildlife Park.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Nath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Visited peak wildlife park, there is a nice selection of animals and it is good that you can walk through most of the enclosures with the animals. A bit of a shame that most of the animals were chased by children but that is not the parks fault.

I do think that the place was potentially not worth the money as we were done within 2 and a bit hours and that was with the lunch break.

Pizza was lovely, although a shame it was difficult to eat outside due to the amount of wasps, but again, not the parks fault.

All in all it was a good couple of hours out.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Kimberlei123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peak Wildlife Park also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Ilam, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Peak Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing