We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, beautiful property and facilities were...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

J_Hope_24...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful property and facilities were just right”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed in this cottage and one next to it with a group of 14 students. We decided to go for a weekend away from Manchester, to get some fresh air and relax before exam season and these cottages were perfect for this, they were immaculately clean, had all the facilities we needed (cooking facilities and space, bathrooms, space to relax). They were also very isolated, which was perfect, meaning we were really away from everything and could properly forget about work! Beautiful views all around the cottages, and lots of places to walk, just a short (20 mins) walk from a bigger town, Waterhouses, with a lovely fish and chips shop (there were other shops, but we just went in the fish and chip shop) Meaning we didn't have to cook every night. The owner was lovely and friendly and I would highly recommend the cottages to anyone!

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seraphina...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cosy cottage, friendly owners”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed at the cottage with my adult children for two days whilst visiting family who live near by. We found the cottage to be very comfortable, cosy, immaculately clean and in a lovely rural setting. The owners were friendly and welcoming and happy for my dad and sister to visit for a couple of hours one evening. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend swallow cottage for anybody looking for a place to stay in the Peak District.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificant”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

4 miles from alton towers, beautiful scenery, extremely safe, true value for money, comfortable, affordable, stayed for the weekend due to daughters 15th birthday @ Alton towers, quite late when arrived but greeted with hospitatilty and reassurance. I have reccommended all cottages at this location to friends & family and am in no doubt this is where i will stay next year, A true winner

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.