We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at this farm. Working with all of the animals and the family makes for a truly special trip. Breakfast is a special treat. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to connect with nature while spending quality family time. Attractions near by make for even more fun.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Hullo-O Farms was amazing from start to finish and offers a great value. It's essentially an all inclusive vacation including food, activities, and a place to stay.

There are countless activities for the family to participate in. Our kids enjoyed playing with the cats, gathering the cows from pasture, milking the cows, swinging on the tire swings, fishing, eating smores by the campfire, hanging out with Jared and the rest of the farm family, running around and playing with the other kids. There are other typical farm activities just depending on the day. There was one sheep that need to be sheered, another day one of the baby calves had escaped. All experiences were genuine and 100% authentic.

In many ways, this was a step back in time to live like we all used to live. It's a lesson on where food comes from and what farming is genuinely like. That experience itself is incredible, but what really makes it tremendous are the hosts and the cooking.

Sherry, the host mother is a remarkable woman. For meals, she cooks breakfast and dinner. The home cooked, farm fresh meals were incredible. Pot roast from farm cow, home made breads, fresh eggs, multiple kinds of french toast and pancakes all made this experience unforgettable. The meals were included in the price, so you need to adjust your thinking on the total cost to account for this.

Jared, Sherry's son and fellow farmer was incredible with our kids. Our kids adored him and I'm sure if you read other reviews, you'll find this is consistently true. It doesn't take long to feel involved with this family.

The options for where to stay were very pleasant. Our kids loved our house. Plenty of space and on a stunning setting.

Wireless works around the main house, but you probably won't have a signal where you are sleeping. I like to be plugged in 24 hours a day, but it was no big deal to walk over to the house to get a signal and pump out a few work emails or make a phone call. Otherwise, I had downloaded some videos ahead of time. The homes have working TVs and ours had 2 bathrooms with one having been completely redone.

In all, for my family, this was an unforgettable experience and the others we met there are felt the same way. A must-do experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BrianL412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

From start to finish, we had a wonderful time at Hull-O Farms. We were treated to amazing meals, spotless accommodations, and lots of hands-on experience. My son (5 yrs old) had the best time and I did too. On the last night, we were treated to a bonfire which was so much fun. Can't say enough great things about this place! One recommendation after seeing others struggle wearing Crocs or the like: wear closed-toe shoes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank ktren02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The hospitality of the Hull family during our stay last week was just wonderful... kind and gracious hosts with a love of animals/farming and great cullinary skills. We stayed in the Rose cottage, beautiful small house right on the farm property (2 bedrooms, a living room, bathroom, and full kitchen). Everything was clean, neat, and orderly everywhere on the property (except for us once we got to work with the animals, LOL). We bottle-fed calves, hand-milked a full-sized cow, provided food and water for chickens, sheep, pigs, goats, deer, dogs, cats, and bunnies, watered flowers and the garden, collected fresh eggs from the hens, moved hay bales, and ate tons of great food! It was messy, exciting, and fun! If you want to see and experience a real farm first hand, this is the place to go. Farmer Frank, Miss Sherry, their son and all the farm hands were so nice, and they were very patient with all of us newbies there. They seem especially fond of children who stay on their farm. Be sure to bring old clothes and footwear, as you will get dirty, and where there are animals, there is poop. You can participate as much or as little as you like.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Just got back from our first visit to Hull-O Farms. Our four kids (8, 6, 4, <1) all had a blast. The experience was the "real deal", the food was great, the people were great, etc. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
10.0 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
10.5 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
299 reviews
13.4 km away
Acra Manor Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
5.8 km away
Captains Inn Point Lookout
11.2 km away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Address: 10 Cochrane Rd, Durham, NY 12422-5225
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range: R1 502 - R1 707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We share our family farm vacations and all-natural meats and produce with people from around the world who want to understand and experience a part of their history. By helping with farming tasks, you can watch your children or grandchildren milk a cow, feed pigs, or collect eggs for the first time. Learning about farm life in rural upstate New York, from a real farmer, is a unique educational experience that many claim to be "€œpriceless!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hull-o Farms, Family Farm Vacations Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing