We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value”
Review of Hill View Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill View Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend. Pet-friendly was required, and this is a great place for the dog. The cottages are spacious, very clean, and the staff friendly. The rooms are dated, TV small, and bring some LEDs, the wattage is low. However, the views are awesome, porch dining is great, and the set-back from the road provides quiet. It would be hard to find a better value. The dog raved about the furniture.

Room Tip: Pop for the 2BR cottages, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We rented a cottage( 2 bed rooms and kitchen, small eating space and living) and it was comfortable for 5. Nice front porch made the cottage bigger to eat. Free wifi was great even outside. Pool was very clean and access to the beach is a bit tricky to cross the street but it is worth to do free boating. very friendly stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruriko w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

The owner and Staff at Hillview cottages in Lake George for exceptionally informative and very helpful. Our family found the cottage clean and comfortable. They allow dogs and that an added bonus. The location is close to the town and everything we wanted to do. However,the owner should warn their guests not to go exploring across the street at the Golden Sands resort because the owner is crazy. Otherwise our stay was very very nice and I would return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank BTPoe523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Great for family vacation or long weekend getaway. Friendly staff, clean and well maintained property . Close to Lake George Village and all surrounding attractions. Will be back for sure. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

After reading all the great reviews we booked our week here. I review places all the time and I am mindful of giving a low-score review. This place is nothing like these reviews advertise. Everything is old and smelly. Beds with old mattresses and rough linens. The furniture must have been cleaned with wet rags since it had this musty smell and felt gross to touch. All screens had holes so either you got bugs to deal with or deal with the bad odors from the cottage. The bathroom was brand new but other than that, everything was old and in need of replacement.
The pool was not heated. The are some old aluminum chairs with traces of mold. The mini golf area is just falling apart. The playground is old and wood in badly need of paint and waiting for a kid to get splinters all over. Just like the decks in each cottage.
We failed to realized that this place welcomes animals. Perhaps the quality of animal-friendly places is really low. Or perhaps the good reviews are bogus. Whatever the reason, this place is a solid one star motel -- don't expect anything great.
We left after a couple of days and got a room in a beautiful place down the road. Yes, we lost half of what we paid for this place but it was either that or ruin our vacation.
If you need a basic cabin in the woods with minimal accommodations, this place is for you but at over $200 a day, I expected a clean bed and a clean room.
It must be said that the staff is extremely friendly and will go out of your way to talk to you and give you advice on places to go.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.5 km away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
7.3 km away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
0.1 km away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
3.1 km away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#16 of 89 in Lake George
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Cottages

Address: 3647 Lake Shore Dr, P.O.Box 65, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Diamond Point
Price Range: R1 390 - R2 443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hill View Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill View Cottages has Lake George Motel, Motel Efficiency and Cottage Pet Friendly accommodations. Access to Lake George beach and swim area within a few minute walk (1,000 Feet.) Hill View Cottages includes great amenities including heated pool and kiddie pool. Each unit has a private deck with beautiful views. Lake George and the Adirondack Mountains are the backdrop of this beautiful property. One of the few Lake George pet friendly accommodations with plenty of room for play and exercise and neighboring woods with walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing