We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moles House

Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
The new kitchen fitted January 2017 The new kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Moles House with the River Esk in the foreground.
The new kitchen fitted January 2017
The new kitchen
Leading through to the utility room
The sunroom with views of the fields, home to sheep, pheasants and rabbits!
The living room with cosy wood burning stove
The South facing elevated garden with river views.
The Pheasant Room , Kingsize with views of fields at the back and side and river to the front.
The Goose Room
The View from the Goose Room window
Owls Room, bunkbeds, a single and also a chair bed, river views.
Stepping Stones to the pub!!
The House Sign
Ground Floor Floor plan
Upstairs Floorplan
The family bathroom
Outside space at the back, safe and secure, children play house.
Shallow steps down to the parking area.
The Pub, Horseshoe Hotel
Shallow steps to the entrance.
Views from the front door to the river.
Front lawn
Whitby, go for fish and chips.
Cosy lounge with wood burner.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Egton Bridge, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JillDWrex...
Wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday Home”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved staying at Moles House. It was spacious, well maintained and the kitchen was wonderfully equipped with more than enough equipment and utensils etc for 2 families. We would thoroughly recommend the area which has so much to see and do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Hi Jill, great to hear you had a nice time at Moles House and thank you for your kind feedback. We never ever tire of visiting the North Yorkshire Moors.
Thanks Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable holiday home in a great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful Family holiday in the Yorkshire Moors based at Moles House. The rooms are very comfortable and homely, perfectly situated above the River Esk, with two friendly pubs in the village (one across stepping stones). It's only 15 mins drive from Whitby and close to excellent walks up and down the Esk Valley. There are superb walks close by from Goathland and Grosmont for the railway. Robin Hoods Bay and Runswick are also very close for more beaches. It's a place we'd go back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location by the river
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Hi Lisa
Thank you so much for your review. You certainly had a busy holiday and you certainly packed in the walks. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Moles and please come back again, don't worry about the Dvd we will retrieve it.
Many thanks Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Deddington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views, Fantastic holiday!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We came to Moles house in the half term and we loved it! We visited Dalby Forest and went cycling, we were also very lucky to go to Whitby Abbey when it was illuminated to watch the play of dracula. The views from the house were spectacular and the local pubs were great, we would definitely come back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Hi Sharon, thanks so much for the review, come back soon and follow us on fb, Naomi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An impeccably maintained house in a pretty Yorkshire village”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moles House in July 2015, and enjoyed it very much. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed. We felt very much at home, and with two teenagers there was plenty of room. Everything was well maintained both inside and outside. The garden in the front was attractive, and there was a private patio area at the back, with a barbeque. The solarium off the kitchen was a good place to have meals.
The village of Egton Bridge is pretty, but there are no shops; food has to be brought in. On the other hand Whitby is not far away.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A comfortable, cosy family holiday home situated in a gorgeous setting. Two lovely pubs within staggering distance (one at the other side of a charming stroll across stepping stones) and a train station on your doorstep to explore the surrounding area. We arrived late Friday afternoon for a long weekend and the car didn't move for 3 days! Great walk to Grosmont to see the steam engines. Can't recommend this fully equipped venue highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing