We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
49
37
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
37
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews erie canal within walking distance son's wedding river view oatmeal english muffin enjoyed our stay bed was comfortable lock reunion amphitheater closet ny gary refrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Well placed on a sliver of land in the Seneca River, one side of the hotel looks out onto a scenic view of the river and across to the attractive downtown area of Baldwinsville. Despite the hotel being virtually empty and my confirmation stating “river view”, I was given a room on the other side overlooking the Erie Canal, which can’t actually be seen, because it flows through a narrow lock at that point.

The emptiness of the hotel may have been partly responsible for the rather sombre ambience. The country-style décor in the long corridor to the elevator seemed more drab than it might have done on a summer’s day with more guests around. My room on the upper floor was also country-style and looked a bit cosier, although it was hard to find the right temperature with one of those infuriating wall heater/AC units that blasted air straight at one side of the bed. With no easy chair or desk in the room, the only seating option was the bed. The bathroom was quite large and adequate in terms of facilities and vanity top space.

Breakfast was more basic than I’ve found in a long time, with just English muffins, jelly and peanut butter, plus pastries, DIY oatmeal, orange juice and coffee/tea.

At $89 the room was not bad value for what I got. However, I was left thinking that the hotel could do so much better to take advantage of its great location and its individuality.

Room tip: Best views from rooms on the upper floor overlooking the Seneca river
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ekimbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

The Baker High School Class of 1967 reunion at the Red Mill Inn was amazing. Helpful staff, wonderful catered meal....very pleasant atmosphere. Loved what they have done to the mill - keeping some of the original!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Very nice spot along the river beside the hydro falls. Room was very clean and had comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly. Didn't have the breakfast that came with the room as we were invited elsewhere. Good value for the money!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skyking233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Room was nice.. but there was no refrigerator and to pay extra for just 1 single window in the room even if it's the river view didnt make much sense.. Breakfast was very small and limited.. Grape juice, milk, coffee, english muffins, cereal, and danishes. I did expect at least orange juice and something warm.. (Oatmeal, eggs, pancakes, tea, ect.) And the pub was closed on a friday night. It would have been nice to have a cocktail then go up to the room. The Homemade organic soap that's available there was amazing.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The location, on the Erie Canal, was excellent as was the history of the hotel. The room was clean, bright and very comfortable. AC/WiFi and TV were also good. Staff were friendly and helpful, even though there was a big wedding party on the night we stayed. The restaurant across the canal, lock 24, was a real good find, good food and lots of it, the owner and staff were exceptional.

Room tip: Our room on the top floor had a sloping ceiling which although low did not restrict moving around the room and I am 6ft2ins.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews