We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cozy, adorable beach cottage is perfect for...”
other travellers have booked this property
walkway to private beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
walkway to private beach
screened front  porch with ceiling fan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
walkway to private beach
screened front  porch with ceiling fan
Call 516-318-2707
screened front porch
Master Bedroom
2nd bedroom
seating for 4
screened  front porch at night
living room with a/c
40 inch flat panel tv with netflix and wifi
breathtaking sunsets on private beach
walk to private beach
private back yard of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Baiting Hollow, Long Island, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lisanders...
New York City, New York
1 review
“This cozy, adorable beach cottage is perfect for a small group.”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I was looking for a place near the beach to celebrate my birthday with a couple of good friends and this cottage was perfect. The house is lovely and comfortable and while it's only two bedrooms we were able to turn the living area into a third so we each had our own space. The kitchen was well equipped to cook a big birthday dinner and we loved hanging out on the screened in porch. It's still cold in the beginning of May so we didn't get to use the back porch and grill, which would add even more space and amenities to the package.

The house is convenient to local stores and restaurants, providing you have a car. But the real highlight is the five minute walk to a private beach, which was virtually empty. I imagine it fills up a bit in high season but it still felt a whole lot more relaxed than anything you'd find in the Hamptons.

I also want to say how wonderfully attentive Michael was from the moment I rented the place. He provided a wealth of information on local attractions and house details and was super available to answer all questions that came up while we were at the house. Seriously, I felt like I was borrowing the house from a friend, not renting from a stranger on the internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
So glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration!
The back deck is great for entertaining and very private.
I take great pride in sharing our cottage with all of you.
Please come back and tell all of your friends to visit with us!
Regards,
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bubblesLo...
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in Heart of Wine Country”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I am flying home from my vacation to NY where the high point was our stay in Baiting Hollow. The cottage was more than we could have hoped for. Both my sister & I grew up in Long Island, have traveled the world and rented many homes these past few years through these rental agencies. We knew Baiting Hollow but never would have guessed how simply charming this little enclave could be. The cottage was absolutely darling, clean and furnished in a very like able shabby chic style. The front porch which the owner recently screened in was a highlight along with the back deck which was perfect for our entertainment needs. We grilled and had family members visit. The neighbors ( some of them have been coming every summer for 50 or more years) let us know the best farm stands and we literally had fresh corn and tomatoes every night. There are new photos on the website and they reflect the quaintness of the place. but you just have to experience the quiet and beauty of the woods. There are even vines hanging from the trees in the back because the woods have been there for so long. Gorgeous! Shower pressure was absolutely the best on the Island for sure. And the outdoor shower was fantastic. All our little ones who visited loved it along with adults!!!
The owner Michael was so attentive and went the extra mile to give us a beautiful vacation. He checked in with me the night before our arrival and even midweek to see if we needed anything. All if our visitors from out of state and Long Islanders were charmed as well. If you want fancy Hamptons and see Matt Lauer or The Clinton's, this is probably not the place. But if you would like an eclectic, charming, quiet, lush wooded backdrop for a truly relaxing vacation book this place today. Just marvelous for kids too. Can't wait to return! Thank you Michael & Virigina!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Front Porch
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Nothing made me happier than hearing your enthusiasm about our cottage before ,
during and after your stay.
Hope you think of us on your next visit to Long Island .
Thank you again for your awesome review!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anja B
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
969doris
Bern Mittelland District, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing