We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
131
19
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
19
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent campgame driveshigh teathe reservewalking safarihot wateroutdoor showercable carborder posteach morningother guestsprofessional photographersafari experienceunderground hidean optioneach eveningkori bustard
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Following a smooth flight from Malamala, we were met with a very welcome lunch at the airport before we set off on our first drive on this resort. Our guide, Jakes was incredible. A very knowledgeable and competent guide. We felt very safe with him and his knowledge was second to none. He understands extremely well the need for light, angles and best viewing for photographers. The tented camp is a fantastic experience if you want to feel a little closer to nature but in reality this is luxurious camping. You can still plug your chargers in!

The food is amazing and the team went beyond to look after our needs. I am lactose intolerant and they went to so much effort to make sure food was provided that I could eat.

Again the transfer to the main lodge was perfect. There is nothing to fault here. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Mashatu Tent Camp is a small camp (8 tents) about 1 hour drive away from the Pont Drift cCrossing and the Limpopo Valley Airfield. Although it can be reached with private cars, parking at Pont Drift is advisable. The camp is tucked away in dense bush. The lay out is simple but adequate, with a good breakfast and assembling area and a nice boma. The camp is very remote and that gives it a special atmophere. Lops is a very attentive camp manager who managed to bring stuff that we accidentally had left in Tuli Safari Lodge to the camp. Daniel was an excellent guide. The game drives gave everything that you hope to see, including, next to the big five, eland, baby hyena, cheetah and two flat tyres. The tents are not very spacious but the bed is very good. The bathroom and open air shower are set apart from the tent which may serve a purpose but is not really comfortable. The only negative remakrk concerns the food. Pre-morning drive food, breakfast and high tea are certainly above average but the dinners were poor, in particular the meat. We do not need much but we must be avle to eat it! In summery, Mahatu Tent Camp is to be highly recommended for those who want to have a true bush experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

This was our third vist to Mashatu tented camp and it won't be our last. Friends came with us from Scotland and this was their first trip to Africa.
Our friend had wanted to see an elephant.........just one and she would have been happy, but as always Mashatu delivered and kept on delivering for our entire stay. I will never forget the look of sheer bliss and her tears of joy as she sighted a large herd of elephant on our first game drive.
Our guide was Jakes this time, very knowledgeable, patient, funny and a top bloke all round. Once again our tracker was Commando, he has the eyes of a hawk.....I'm still wondering how on earth he spots things! We had so much fun whilst learning something new everyday. Can't wait for next year when we can hopefully get the A Team back together for more adventures.
We were welcomed back as friends by all the staff who we had met before and by the end of our stay were saying Sala Sentle to new friends.
The food was delicious and plentiful, I'm still in awe of how they produce such wonderful dishes in a remote area.
The staff are first class and can't do enough for you.
We spent two sessions in the Matebole Hide with the professional photographer and guide Mike Dexter. It's an incredible experience to be so close to the elephants and to watch their interaction with one another, unforgettable. The extra cost is worth every single penny.
We'll be back next year........where else would we want to celebrate the year of our 40th wedding anniversary and my 60th birthday?

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank redrose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Connecting with nature has tremendous benefits. When you are ready, choose Mashatu Tent Camp in Botswana. Everything about this camp is top notch; the accommodations, the food, staff, and the wildlife viewings are fantastic. Your expectations will be exceeded every moment of your visit.

In our first wildlife viewing, we were surrounded by a breeding herd of more than 50 elephants. Their gentle rumbles welcomed us to Africa. If your have the opportunity, visit the elephant photo hide. We spent a morning there with the resident photographer. He helped us capture stunning images of a herd of 100 impala and a small breeding herd of elephants.

We stayed in tent no. 4 for 5 days / 4 nights in April 2018. The tent was furnished comfortably with a sense of chic safari style. Tent camp staff filled our every need. Our guide, Jakes, and our tracker, Commando, were knowledgeable, experienced, personal and eager to please. They went out of their way to make sure we saw all the wildlife we could as well as have a truly magical vacation. We enjoyed all elements of the experience at Mashatu Tent Camp. We visited other tent camps while in Africa, Mashatu was the very best.

The entire staff provided excellent service. BTW - The food was varied, plentiful, and delicious. Savory and sweet - always available. Who knew you could gain weight on safari!?

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

A friend andd I had a fabulous experience at this tent camp. Guided by Richard with 29 years of experience demonstrated at every turn and Efraim adding his expertise we had a trip of a lifetime. Their knowledge, love and respect for the animals and nature was inspiring. We had 7 drives and saw the big 5 and much more in action.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Kasia103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews