We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
46
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solar panels safari lodge wonderful place southern africa water hole felt like home animals coming game viewing great lodge no electricity botswana trip evening drive watering hole kalahari desert dave lucas operation
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Dinaka is a charming lodge, run by charming people. It is by far the best value for money. Comfortable rooms, good food, pleasant staff, good game viewing. What more do you want? It is highly recommendable. Just, let's hope they keep their standards and price so good and affordable in the future as it is a place to visit again and again. AND KEEP WI-FI AWAY, please!!! No electronic pollution!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaReyniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

The lodge has been cleverly situated around a water hole and guests awake to the sounds of animals around the rooms

The lodge is run by the owner family and service levels are outstanding

We experienced an amazing lion sightings , with two kills 100 meters apart and lion cubs playing around the kill

Our only disappointment was that our friends were not allowed to use their vehicle on the game drive. They are professional film makers and missed the lion sightings which they could have filmed from their specially adapted vehicle.. Also , their solid state drive was damaged when the electrical plug was disconnected whilst being charged at the lodge

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrylavery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We just finished a 4 week tour around Botswana, and this was our favourite place of the whole trip. Fantastic accommodations and facilities, and the game viewing was incredible. The hospitality provided by John, Marge, Chantelle, and Dave was extraordinary. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elrich00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
262MelanieS262, Owner at Dinaka, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

It was a pleasure to have your company, and we are always happy to share our piece of wilderness with guests. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

It was affordable AND had Wow factor. We could have stayed a 3rd day. (I ask myself: was there enough to do for a 2nd or 3rd day?)Yes, there was. Their property was so big, so much to see and do.
Seeing game across from the lodge almost all day long, what an amazing experience is that?
Game drives, going to the Viewing Tower/ Bunker, tracking lions for an hour, the Bushmen experience, going to the other View Tower and driving around their expansive property looking for animals.
Room was comfortable. The only things I would have changed would have been indoor toilet and a light over the vanity. The rooms really are nice in comparison to the mud huts that most people live in with no electricity, toilets, etc..
George, Dave, Chantel, Kim were like talking to my next door neighbors, very down to earth. It is obvious they love where they live, what they do and have a real commitment to the well being of the animals on Dinaka. (Checking the water towers for enough water after a herd of wildebeest came thru and running the generators to pump more water).
Dinaka was easily the best place of the 4 we stayed at overall.
I highly recommend Dinaka and would go again if I am in Botswana. I would really stress the game drives here, the viewing at the View Tower/ Bunker. The Bushmen experience was interesting and a unique experience. Dinaka itself, with its ‘front yard watering hole’ is such a special feature with animals coming and going all the time. You could literally just sit there at the comfort of the lodge and see animals- and you didn’t even have to go anywhere if you just wanted to hang around the lodge.
Food was always delicious too. They do have a charging station to charge all your electronics and camera battery's.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Momplayinghookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

A truly amazing experience with the only downside being we didn't stay more than 2 nights . Thank you to Dave,Mel & George for all your hospitality , you are truly wonderful people you really made us feel like part of your family. The accommodation was excellent, the food was fantastic & the dinner conversations hilarious. We really loved the game drives & Dave had an exceptional knowledge of the animals & environment. The bushman walk was a great addition, very educational to see how they survived in the bush. I would certainly recommend Dinaka Safari Lodge to anyone, I hope we can visit again soon.
PS, sorry Dave about the photo but just had to put it up :)

Room Tip: room close to the main eating area
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
262MelanieS262, Owner at Dinaka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Great head warmer !! So enjoyed your company and all the laughs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews