We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
120
161
70
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
161
70
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quad bikes two nights salt pans great campsite overnight stay mosquito net huge baobab trees swimming pool thatched roof cow hide family room restaurant area traditional lunch bush walk makgadikgadi pans great bar single bed
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

After spending the previous two weeks in the lush forests of Chobe, Savuti, and the Khwai River area of the Okavango Delta, camping out in the Nxai Pan National Park had been a shift in topography as we shorted the northern fringes of the Kalahari Desert. We selected Planet Baobab for an opportunity to sleep up a canopy of stars in the Tsweswe Pan south of Gweta. But first we spent a night at the creative hut-lodges of Planet Baobab Lodge. It was a delightful setting, with colorful concrete huts scattered among a stand of ancient Baobabs. The layout was peaceful, not congested, with a central gathering place that included a pool that was inviting, decorative, and imaginative. Also present was a fire pit for evening conviviality, several covered meeting spots, and a semi-open restaurant where where excellent meals (and a chance to sample fried mopani worms--yum!) were served. PB also has camping spots for guests who want to pitch tents or sleep in campers while also availing themselves of the ablution and dining amenities. The highlight of the two nights came on the second night when our guide drove a Land Cruiser 60 kms out to the edge of the vast pans south of Gweta. At a kraal, my friend and I picked up two ATVs (quad-bikes in local parlance) and drove the final 20 kms into the darkening desert for Sundowners and eventually a braai far out in the open expanses, where we slept under a blanket of stars (and a very warm and comfortable set of wool blankets as well.). Two other guests, ladies from Switzerland had not expected to be sleeping in the open and initially were a bit alarmed, but they ended up loving the experience. We also enjoyed a chance to mingle with a colony of meerkats before heading out into the pan. Great place to spend a couple of days.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DrChipB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

What a welcome relief this place was for us having been camping with no facilities for a week. Hot showers, good food, laundry facilities and wifi!!!! Campsites are small but sufficient. Staff very welcoming and helpful

Stayed: July 2017
Thank cathyhartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Having read the previous reviews I can say in part that there have been improvements in some areas.

The pool was clean, the rooms were clean with no bugs (although we were there in winter) with bug spray provided and the bathroom was clean although the shower head could have used some attention as the water sprayed in every direction.

We had booked a double room through our tour guide well in advance and was provided with a twin room. When questioned, hotel reception said there was nothing else available. Basically, bad luck!

The rooms were basic, but clean and provided everything that you would expect including mosquito nets.

We were asked to pre order our meals (lunch and dinner) and here I must agree with previous reviews. Slow meal prep and cooking and sometimes cold food!

Our party of 8 had meals arriving at different times so that the first person was finished before the rest had received their meals (often when the same dish was ordered). When finally received it was sometimes cold as if it had been sitting around waiting to be brought to the table.

We had preordered for 7pm and were sometimes still waiting for food at 8.30pm! The bar and restaurant service throughout was mediocre with the exception of Bernadette who always had a smile and was ready to help (or apologise!). The rest made us feel like we were interrupting their day and wanted to be elsewhere.

Breakfast was a better experience, but get there early before the crowds arrive.

We did the meerkats and Ntwetwe Salt Pan tour and found that well worth the money and can highly recommend. Our guide BK was very knowledgeable and explained things very well and we felt in safe hands whilst driving in difficult conditions.

In winter, wear LOTS of layers, although the temperature during the day is in the pleasant mid 20's, early morning is freezing.

Would I go back? Yes, although my expectations would not be as high!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I went to the salt pans over night trip with Planet Baobab.
the transport was not included (the lodg is far from the bus station), only 1L of water, and the worst guide and management.
The guide didn't pay any attention to us, felt like he only wants to go home. The manager was very unpleasant, didn't provide vegetarian food (although I asked in advance), didn't want to share the schedule with me and didn't care about us as costumers.
NOT RECOMMENDED.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank AmozaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We stayed in a Bakalanga hut, modelled after a traditional hut. The food is mostly pub food and the service is good. We had an excellent guide, BK, who showed us around the area and introduced us to his village.

Meerkat Mania
He also drove us for 1.5 hours to the edge of the Ntwetwe salt pan where we met a meerkat family of 10 adults and 6 babies. They are habituated to humans and they simply ignored us. I lay down and one climbed up on me and used me as a lookout!

Salt Pan
We continued this great tour by driving quad bikes to the salt pan and saw the sun going down. We camped there in that wilderness. Beds are soft and warm and it was amazing to look up at the stars (instead of sleeping).

Note: It gets very cold at night so make sure you bring enough layers, even with the warm bedroll and hot water bottle. Also, take into account that you will be covered in a fine whitish dust after the quad bikes.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews