We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
335
49
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
49
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole watering hole savute channel wild dogs desert delta game drives view of the water dining area evening hours warm towels safari lodge before dinner direct view sense of humour watch elephants three nights his knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Fourth visit to this amazing lodge each visit different things occur to amaze us.Heartfelt thanks to Nelson Nellie Lettie Ken Score Maggie Mary all the guides and the whole team for making us feel so welcome..Met the very personable Mr.Walter Smith which was a highlight!!! Special thanks to Lettie for sharing her recipes she is the kindest gentlest woman. But of course our hero Baba who is now like a son to us and teaches us so much.about flora fauna and his country.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We spent three nights here. Each member of the staff contributed to our excellent experience. We had excellent meals. The room was terrific. Coca was our guide and he did an excellent job and showing us all the highlights. We shared the vehicle with 2 other couples for part of the visit and with one other for the remainder. They were great company. My main focus was the birds but the animal viewing was great. There were times when there was not much to see and then there it was in all its glory. Lions, bat-eared foxes being tormented by a jackal, crimson-breasted shrikes, cory bustards galore and two species of korhaans. It was a great stay. The temperature was perfect, day and night. We had one evening of rain but the rest of the time it was very nice. By the way, the Savute channel is still dry. That helps with animal viewing at the pools in front of the lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

You should definitely stay here for an outstanding vacation.
The staff, accommodations and animal sightings were exceptional. We were so lucky to have Baba as our guide and teacher. He is funny and warm and taught us as much about the animals as the Botswana culture and people. He was definitely a highlight of our 10 day vacation. We had a thrilling ride to view 2 cheetah brothers as well as lions everyday. We saw ostrich, warthogs, hyena, wildebeest, hippos, giraffes, elephants, birds, wild dogs, jackals, baboons, and more. There were extensive food choices and many meals. The only negative is that the power goes out each night and it was a bit warm. However, the rooms are really gorgeous. We had a huge luxurious villa and played cards everyday at the pool, overlooking the watering hole for the animals to stop by. Thank you Savute Lodge for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Susan G

Thank you for the lovely review from your time at Savute Safari Lodge. Baba is just fantastic and has been with the company for many years and is very passionate and experienced. I will be sure to share the wonderful feedback with him and the team. Your sightings during your stay were incredible, I hope you managed to get some great shots. Very pleased that you had a great time in camp. Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We stayed in a private luxurious wooden cottage facing the now dry Savute channel. Elephants, kudu, and impala visited the waterhole opposite our terrace throughout the day. The dining area also had a similar view. The staff were delightful. Our only regret was the relative paucity of wildlife on our twice daily safari drives, something that cannot be predicted and varies from week to week. On the whole we had a very pleasant 2 day stay.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Harry R

Thank you for the review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. The mystery of the channel is what makes this place so unique. We do hope the water will flow here again soon. I am pleased you had a good time and we do hope you return to visit us again soon.

Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Accommodation was comfortable without being luxurious but again the staff were great and food was lovely, but two things made this camp stand out. Firstly, there was our guide Baba, who is a legend among other guides and our similar sense of humour had us bouncing jokes off each other all day long making the game drives a real laugh, but they were also successful. Some os the less usual animals seen were a mole rat, bat ear foxes and the highlight so far, a family of four ardwolves. The second thing that made this camp stand out was the constant parade of elephants parading past our thatched chalet. Even though there was water everywhere the elephants still kept coming to the water hole because of the minerals contained in the water.I should point out though that the channel has stopped flowing again and the swamp has dried up.Perhaps the lodge and camp area could do with an uplift.

Room Tip: We were there for the wildlife so the slightly run down nature of the rooms didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear John M

Thank you for travelling through our circuit of camps and writing a review from each of your stays. The region of Savute is most definitely one of mystery, with the channel flowing and then drying up. No one knows when it will flow again even after all the wonderful rains we have had recently. The camp has also just had a soft refurb of the public areas so looking lovely. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again.

Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews