We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chobe National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I stayed at 2 Desert & Delta lodges, Savute being one of them. Absolutely wonderful. The staff was great. The food excellent. The rooms wonderful. A really top notch destination. Having the watering hole right at the lodge is really amazing. Besides being up front and personal with the elephants, we saw a lot of other animals come through just while we were relaxing or having meals/tea. And of course, saw all sorts of other animals while out in the park. Guides were very knowledgeable and everyone made sure anything we needed was taken care of.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank XManNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear XManNL
Thank you for the very kind words about our staff and our lodge. We are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time with us, and that your sightings were great too. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We spent two nights at this lodge during a ten day Safari Tour through Botswana. Together with Camp Okavango this was the best lodge on our tour. Great luxurious rooms with view of the water hole, the main Dining area also overlooks the water hole. Hence you can watch elephants or other game and wildlife (as in our case even a Lion) while enjoying a great dinner. The staff was very very friendly and helpful and made our stay a wonderful experience. The game drives in the area were great too, I love the scenery in Savute and we had some great sightings (including a Leopard). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Carsten S
Thank you for staying with us at Savute Safari Lodge and for leaving such a great review from your time with us. Such a treat to have lion come to the water hole, while you sit back and relax in the dining area. I will share the lovely comments with the team.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Had just stayed in Moremi and had amazing sightings there. As we flew over Savute, you could already see how the landscape differed and was much drier than Moremi.
Savute Camp was out of this world, chalets overlooking a waterhole, with buffalo rolling in the mud, large herds of elephants almost running down to drink and plenty of giraffe - you can even watch them while taking a shower!! But be prepared to kept awake by lions roaring! The camp was luxurious, and the staff couldn't do enough for you - they catered for my dietary needs. Everyone was so friendly and welcomed you back from your game drives with warm towels, and sat with us for dinner. Great place for birding too.
OB was our guide, and he was excellent, so friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable, he took an interest in our interests and what we wanted to see - and boy did we see a lot, wild dog on a kill, leopard with cub, hyena cubs, roan, loads of birds, elephants, lions to name a few! Thank you camp Savute & OB for making my stay so special.

Room Tip: there are only a few chalets, so very private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahmE9333ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear sarahmE9333ZN
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review on our lodge and the team, and great sightings too. I will share this with OB as he will be very happy to read the lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This experience was tremendous!! It exceeded my high expectations ten fold. The staff was warm, loving and fun loving, it felt so welcoming, so delightful and so special. Different from anywhere I have ever been and can not wait to come back. Baba was our guide and he was so knowledgeable on our oh so random questions. He treated us with such respect and we saw it all. We didn't mess around~ we were first out, and first to all the animals.
Uncle Score just is so memorable, adorable and my red wine was never vacant... I loved him and my family enjoyed a new cocktail called Amarula~ DELICIOUS!!!
Our accommodations were stunning and equipped perfectly. There was not one thing we could have needed.
The chef's and the girls were so darling, helpful and fun to be around.
I cried leaving. My family is still making fun of me, but my son even welled up when Baba waved us good bye. I loved everything about this dream come true.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow's 3, 4 and 5. All had incredible views of the watering hole that was always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bJN62166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear bJN62166
Wow what a wonderful trip you had. It is so pleasing to hear that a place and the people can have such a wonderful effect on others. Savute is a memorable place and our staff and guides do their best to make lasting memories with all our guests. Thank you for sharing this with all of us, and I will definitely share the great feedback with our team.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

The lodge is large and spacious. The rooms are lovely. The pool overlooks the elephant watering hole. The lodge is not in or around the Okavango Delta. The Park is arid with occasional watering holes. We saw lots of elephants and lions. We did not see many impalas or zebras etc in comparison to the lodges we stayed at in the delta.

The food is good and most meals are served on the deck overlooking the watering hole.

Sadly our guide was a disappointment . He was obviously bored and raced through the park without spotting any animals. We had to ask him to stop to allow us to watch the elephants. He just followed the other vehicles / hides and they pointed things out to him. don't think I would return to the savuti game reserve. We preferred the lodges within the delta where you are on the water crossing it either by car or by boat. The variety and quantity of animals you see on the delta itself is unbeatable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank The-Milan-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
22,2 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
278 reviews
97,7 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
502 reviews
20,8 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,1 km away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
52 reviews
145,1 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#19 of 21 in Chobe National Park
48 reviews
140,6 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#4 of 21 in Chobe National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing