We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing waterhole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

The best part about Savute is being able to lounge on your deck overlooking the watering hole, where there are nearly always elephants. We went at a time when the wildlife was a bit scarce, but you can't control nature. We did manage to get a quick glimpse of the famed elephant hunters. We saw huge volumes of elephants, despite just finishing the rainy season. Our animal highlight was seeing a honey badger at dawn.

The food was excellent. However, there were a few minor things that made our rating 4 instead of 5 stars. There was a breeding herd of elephants that came down to the watering hole right at dinnertime. They were quite skittish, and that would have been a good day for the staff to skip the singing. All the guests were speaking in hushed voices to make sure we didn't disturb the elephants but when the staff started the pre-dinner singing, the elephants all left right away. That was a shame. The second issue we noticed was that there are rats in the rooms that chew through everything that is not in the cupboard. That was also a shame because any paper or tissue paper that was left out even for a short time during the day would get chewed. There was not enough cupboard space for all our things and we had to pile our luggage bags on top of each other to get them to fit.

The guiding quality was excellent as we came to expect from Desert and Delta. The guides were respectful of the animals and very knowledgeable. We had an issue with another guest who kept trying to harass the wildlife when we would stop, and the management bent over backward to make sure we had a separate vehicle and were able to enjoy our trip to the fullest. We had an amazing time learning about Savute and even if we didn't see much wildlife, we loved our time there.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank calgarytravellers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear calgarytravellers86
Thank you for the time taken to let us know about your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. The points you have mentioned have been addressed and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. I know the team will be very happy to read such wonderful comments and I will be sure to share this with all of them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

Savute Lodge provided us with an amazing start to our Botswana visit and we were so fortunate to have Obed our guide. The lodge is rustic in appearance but has all the bells and whistles in terms of comfort and the staff were delightful. Your days are very structured and you spend a lot of the day out in the trucks - but that's what you came out to do right? There is a swimming pool and that proved nice to sit by during the day.

Meals were generous and varied dramatically each day.

Early starts each morning and out on the road ensured you were ready for brunch on your return at 11.00am. A second safari drive later in the day gave you an appetite for the evening meals at 7.30. Dining is communal and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming.

Obed (we referred to him as the 'big cat magnet' ) was inspirational in terms of his guiding, his knowledge of the bush and his easy going nature and wanting to ensure that our safari experience was the best. He did not disappoint. We were so grateful for the very special experiences he managed to locate on every safari drive. Lions, leopards and cheetahs - even a puff adder! Nothing seemed to challenging.

We would highly recommend this lodge - and give praise to the staff and their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: See if you can secure Obed as your guide - he's such a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pointopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear pointopoint
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. It is such a pleasure reading the wonderful praise the staff and guides are receiving from guests like yourself. We will be sure to share the great feedback with the team and next time I see Obed will remember to call him 'big cat magnet'. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This was the third of five lodges we stayed at during our two-week safari adventure. Saff was Desert & Delta perfect, of course. This place was cool because animals were present at the year-round watering hole during dinner and lunch each day. The varied terrain offered a diverse experience and animal sightings. Great guides also - Baba is the man! Savute Safari Lodge was definitely one to make sure to experience.

Room Tip: Well, there are only twelve, and all of them face the watering hole....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Frank I
Thank you for the great review from your stay at Savute. Baba is indeed a great guide and one of our most passionate guides. I will be sure to share the great comments with him and the team. Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I very much enjoyed our stay at Savute Safari Lodge. The room was nice, the bed comfortable, the cooking good or average. The ambiance was very good. Watching elephants very close by while you have dinner is very enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christiane2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Christiane2005
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. Being able to sit in the dining area enjoying your meal and watching the water hole for the arrivals of the elephants is a real treat. I am glad to hear you got to experience this at Savute Safari Lodge. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Amazing all round. Stayed at Camp Xanaka, Camp Moremi, Dinaka (Central Kalahari), Camp Nkwaksi... Savute topped them all - from game, to accommodation, to staff, to guide... Looked for negatives - none to be found. Cant believe I am saying this - this place is "perfect".

Room Tip: Would love to add a tip but this place is amazing - no matter which room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jsevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jsevo1
Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am pleased to read you had such a wonderful time with us at Savute Safari Lodge and that you found the lodge to be at the top of your list. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chobe National Park
22.2 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#2 of 21 in Chobe National Park
271 reviews
97.7 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#1 of 21 in Chobe National Park
479 reviews
20.8 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 21 in Chobe National Park
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas
#10 of 21 in Chobe National Park
51 reviews
140.6 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 21 in Chobe National Park
296 reviews
48.4 km away
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing