We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nogatsaa Pans Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1 366
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1 280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1 840
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kwalape Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)
US$1 510
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Liya Guest Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$117
US$47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chobe Game Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge(Chobe National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Linyanti(Chobe National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
314
47
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
47
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater holewatering holesavute channelwild dogsdesert deltagame drivesview of the waterdining areawarm towelsdirect viewlanding stripsafari lodgesense of humourwatch elephantsbefore dinnerthree nightshis knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Savute Lodge provided us with an amazing start to our Botswana visit and we were so fortunate to have Obed our guide. The lodge is rustic in appearance but has all the bells and whistles in terms of comfort and the staff were delightful. Your days are very structured and you spend a lot of the day out in the trucks - but that's what you came out to do right? There is a swimming pool and that proved nice to sit by during the day.

Meals were generous and varied dramatically each day.

Early starts each morning and out on the road ensured you were ready for brunch on your return at 11.00am. A second safari drive later in the day gave you an appetite for the evening meals at 7.30. Dining is communal and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming.

Obed (we referred to him as the 'big cat magnet' ) was inspirational in terms of his guiding, his knowledge of the bush and his easy going nature and wanting to ensure that our safari experience was the best. He did not disappoint. We were so grateful for the very special experiences he managed to locate on every safari drive. Lions, leopards and cheetahs - even a puff adder! Nothing seemed to challenging.

We would highly recommend this lodge - and give praise to the staff and their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: See if you can secure Obed as your guide - he's such a delight!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pointopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear pointopoint
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. It is such a pleasure reading the wonderful praise the staff and guides are receiving from guests like yourself. We will be sure to share the great feedback with the team and next time I see Obed will remember to call him 'big cat magnet'. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This was the third of five lodges we stayed at during our two-week safari adventure. Saff was Desert & Delta perfect, of course. This place was cool because animals were present at the year-round watering hole during dinner and lunch each day. The varied terrain offered a diverse experience and animal sightings. Great guides also - Baba is the man! Savute Safari Lodge was definitely one to make sure to experience.

Room Tip: Well, there are only twelve, and all of them face the watering hole....
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Frank I
Thank you for the great review from your stay at Savute. Baba is indeed a great guide and one of our most passionate guides. I will be sure to share the great comments with him and the team. Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

I very much enjoyed our stay at Savute Safari Lodge. The room was nice, the bed comfortable, the cooking good or average. The ambiance was very good. Watching elephants very close by while you have dinner is very enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christiane2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Christiane2005
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. Being able to sit in the dining area enjoying your meal and watching the water hole for the arrivals of the elephants is a real treat. I am glad to hear you got to experience this at Savute Safari Lodge. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Amazing all round. Stayed at Camp Xanaka, Camp Moremi, Dinaka (Central Kalahari), Camp Nkwaksi... Savute topped them all - from game, to accommodation, to staff, to guide... Looked for negatives - none to be found. Cant believe I am saying this - this place is "perfect".

Room Tip: Would love to add a tip but this place is amazing - no matter which room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jsevo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jsevo1
Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am pleased to read you had such a wonderful time with us at Savute Safari Lodge and that you found the lodge to be at the top of your list. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Savute Safari Lodge was great. The cabins and the dining area overlook watering holes so we could spend a great deal of time watching how the elephants related to each other, and from my nicely appointed cabin I watched impala and kudu and how they got along. At night we saw hyenas.

I swam in the pool, and enjoyed the decorated beds every day. One of my favorite perks was that my laundry was done and back the same day. The staff was very entertaining at dinner singing and ululating.

I liked the guides, and got to know Metal and Baba. When they got to talking about their past experiences as guides (if you ever get Baba as a guide ask him about "hearing aids" for a hilarious story), I got a new goal... I never ever want to end up in a guide story! Our game drives were interesting and the guides very informative. Sadly we had to miss the San rock paintings, but it would have been too dangerous with the leopard in the area.

One of the most memorable moments was as we were driving to the airstrip. The guides had to chase the giraffes off. And here we worry about bird strikes!

Room Tip: All the cabins overlook the waterholes.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan95821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Jan95821
Thank you for such a a heartwarming review from your stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. It is so wonderful to read about our guests experiences and even better when there is humour involved. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in camp and out on activities. Perhaps when you visit us next time you can go to the San rock paintings. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews