We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Relaxed Lodge With Fantastic Game Viewing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Friendly & Relaxed Lodge With Fantastic Game Viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Expectations were high when my wife and I visited this lodge during the last week of March given my visit was prompted by the Nat Geo documentary `Savage Kingdom', which was filmed at Savuti and included all my favourite predators; Lions, Leopards, Wild Dogs, Hyenas. I was a little worried as we'd deliberately travelled end-March to visit our first lodge, Camp Moremi, at a time just after the rain to see the fauna and flora in all its greenery beauty knowing that water does not flow in to Savuti from Angola until later in the year when all the herds arrive in parallel. We were not disappointed with this lodge exceeding expectations promoting it to one of two of our favourite lodges visited out of 6 over the last 2 years (Motswari in Timbavati (Kruger) being the other. The staff (Setch, Lucky, Lottie and team) were warm, welcoming and friendly throughout creating the inviting environment we seek when travelling - their humour coupled with their geniality created an intimately enjoyable stay. Obed, our guide, was simply fantastic. We'd been paired with another younger English couple and Obed very quickly gauged our appetite for mixing some wonderful game viewing whilst having some fun and enjoying each other’s company. Obed was thorough, flexible and accommodating and never failed to impress. He is a likable guy and I we will ask for him as a guide when we return. Even though we visited in March the game viewing was wonderful. We saw the male lion who leads the Marsh Pride, a celebratory in himself, a number of other lions and lionesses both from the Marsh Pride and a splinter group, hyena pups, a female leopard on a couple of occasions, large herbs of zebras with one herd well over 200+, sizable herds of giraffe including calves as young as a month old, a number of mean looking duggar boys plus a large herd of buffalo, beautiful birds, and everything else we could have hoped for; the Savuti Marsh is a beautiful place to be! Throughout, Obed was educational, informative and on occasion a `wind-up' merchant giving as good as we gave; if you ever get to read this Obed thanks for being such a great host, guide and friend for our short stay. We stayed in Room 6, which appears to be the room shown in the camp literature and photos. The room was clean, spacious, relaxing, well presented and not only over-looked the watering hole but was only 50 yards from the lounge and common areas. The camp itself is well maintained and well laid out. It feels very relaxed, which is exactly what we want at the end of a hard day game viewing. I like a bit of an after-dinner drink and at no point did we feel rushed to depart from the boma camp fire to our room with the staff assigned genuinely appearing to stay and enjoy their time with the guests. I cannot praise Savuti Safari Lodge enough. We could not take our 19-year old daughter with us on this trip due to Uni exams but we will be returning and hope to be greeted by the same management and support time including Obed as our guide. I have nothing but wonderful things and memories to say and reflect on; I only wish we could have stayed longer. Savuti Safari Camp exceeded our expectations - thank you!

Room Tip: Room 6 is wonderful - overlooks the water-hole and is 50 yards from the common areas :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMIT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
180
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Savuti Safari Lodge for 2 nights in March .Arrived as a "Self Drive" and had an wonderful experience from the moment we arrived until we departed 48 hours later. We went on excellent game drives with "OB" and saw an amazing amount of wildlife (4 of the Big 5) This was our second visit and I will do it again if we are in the same area!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
378 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff and facilities were great complete with camp squirrels scampering about your room. Waterhole just in front attracts a wide range of wildlife. Game drives were super with a variety of sightings. We had a great 2 days at Savute Safari Lodge ran by Desert and Delta group.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TimJMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2017

Third visit to Savute already planning fourth !. Had six wonderful nights this time. Lucky Setch Lettie Kenneth and all the staff treat us like family ,every wish is granted, We shared many laughs .But the highlight has to be our guide Baba, an amazing gentleman. Funny kind patient and extremely knowledgeable. Birds were very plentiful due to all the water ,saw the Marsh Pride and leopard..A special thanks to Lucky for lending us a jacket.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We have been there from 30th Sep to 3rd Oct 2016.
Everything was perfect: rooms, service, animals, guides, safari tours, management.
And the location and the views on the animals was unbelievable and the experience was beyond words. Great guides, the committed and competent Manager, the location and the animals made this lodge the one we remember most.
Sabine and Dieter

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieterwillbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear dieterwillbold
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. The comments are fantastic and I know the staff will be really pleased to read such wonderful comments. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
22.2 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
97.7 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
20.8 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
149.3 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
145.1 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price range (per night): R23 919 - R24 288
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Savute Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing