We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable, unforgettable and unsurpassed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Julich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable, unforgettable and unsurpassed”
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We have been there from 30th Sep to 3rd Oct 2016.
Everything was perfect: rooms, service, animals, guides, safari tours, management.
And the location and the views on the animals was unbelievable and the experience was beyond words. Great guides, the committed and competent Manager, the location and the animals made this lodge the one we remember most.
Sabine and Dieter

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dieterwillbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear dieterwillbold
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. The comments are fantastic and I know the staff will be really pleased to read such wonderful comments. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
180
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Savute Safari Lodge is in the midst of a vast national park and a rather bumpy drive from the airstrip. From the cottages, the pool, and the Viewing Deck, you can watch elephants and other animals come to the adjacent waterhole. At night, the hyenas bark and howl from the nearby sand ridge. Giraffes, impala, and more elephants appear along the drive into the lodge. Our exceptional opportunity to watch the elusive Wild Dogs took place on the airstrip itself. The reknowned black-maned Marsh lion pride lolled for us on several occasions. A "honeymooning" leopard pair posed on Leopard Rock. The wildlife is amazing.
The camp staff are wonderful - friendly, warm, and helpful.
The drawbacks that we experienced were first, the flies and squirrels that got into the food set out on the buffet or even on the tables, and second, a rather quirky guide. From our three safari camp stays, we learned that the quality of the guide makes the experience, and the quality varies from person to person.

Room Tip: Cottages with a waterhole view are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12trvlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear 12trvlgirl
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. the feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the managers. I am pleased to hear you had such great wildlife sightings. The deck is an absolute treat to be able to relax and enjoy a drink while you watch the animals come down to the waterhole for their drink. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Lovely lodge, great staff and guide. The singing and dancing of the staff before dinner was so lovely and festive, food was excellent.
We have seen lots of animals including a pride of lions of 16, the lion cubs were playing with each other so we have been watching this for quite some time, so special.
We met the giant bull frog, that one was new to me, it is an amazing big frog very funny creature.
And the elephants coming to the waterhole at the lodge are so special.

Room Tip: All cabins are beautifully situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limburg353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear limburg353
Thank you for coming back to stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. It is always so great to read about our guests who return to share the Savute magic with us. It is truly something special to sit on the deck and watch the elephants come in their numbers to drink. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Savute lodge was our first stay at Botswana. The lodge offered excellent food and accommodation. The staff was very friendly and making us feel most welcome.
The waterhole in front of the dining area was amazing. One evening there were about sixty elephants who came to drink water.
Our guide for the three days was Baba, who was excellent. Very knowledgeable about all the animals the nature and especially about birds. He could tell us on what page of the book the bird was to be found without looking at the book.
We would recommend him anytime as your guide

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertuElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear RobertuElsa
Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris for your first trip to Botswana. Being able to enjoy the treasures of Savute Safari Lodge must have made for some great memories and photographs. I will be sure to share the great feedback with Baba and the team. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Words are just not enough to explain this amazing lodge, its in a perfect location overlooking the river where animals are frequent visitors and where one can see action!. The dining area has full view of the river and you feel up close to nature. We had elephants drinking near us. I loved this Lodge. The staff are just amazing, friendly, interactive, attentive, they would do anything to make you feel at home. Desert and Delta make sure you are at home. Rooms are enormous with lounge area, private deck. From all angles being from the bathroom or bedroom you have uninterrupted view. This Lodge is all about the experience, and believe me you will not be disappointed. Metal our guide is highly knowledgeable, i wish i had longer to listen to him. Savute is the real Raw wildlife experience. This is a Must for anyone who wishe to visit Botswana.

Room Tip: All are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMANGGOSSAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Dear UMANGGOSSAIN
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. I am sure you have had a excellent time travelling through all of our camps and experiencing all that Desert and Delta Safaris has to offer. I will share the positive feedback with the team at Savute, it is always such a great motivator for the team.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
22.2 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
97.7 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
20.8 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
149.3 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
145.1 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price range (per night): R24 170 - R24 422
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing