We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savute Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ghoha Hills Savuti(Chobe National Park)
US$1 829
US$1 785
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nogatsaa Pans Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1 343
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngoma Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1 816
US$1 419
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liya Guest Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$117
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwalape Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
andBeyond Savute Under Canvas(Chobe National Park)
US$1 510
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Chobe Game Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$1 845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tilodi Safari Lodge(Chobe National Park)
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chobe Elephant Camp(Chobe National Park)
US$990
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
310
47
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
47
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssavute channelwatering holewater holewild dogsdesert deltagame drivesview of the waterdining areawarm towelssafari lodgedirect viewlanding stripsense of humourthree nightswatch elephantsbefore dinnerbush tv
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Savute Safari Lodge is in the midst of a vast national park and a rather bumpy drive from the airstrip. From the cottages, the pool, and the Viewing Deck, you can watch elephants and other animals come to the adjacent waterhole. At night, the hyenas bark and howl from the nearby sand ridge. Giraffes, impala, and more elephants appear along the drive into the lodge. Our exceptional opportunity to watch the elusive Wild Dogs took place on the airstrip itself. The reknowned black-maned Marsh lion pride lolled for us on several occasions. A "honeymooning" leopard pair posed on Leopard Rock. The wildlife is amazing.
The camp staff are wonderful - friendly, warm, and helpful.
The drawbacks that we experienced were first, the flies and squirrels that got into the food set out on the buffet or even on the tables, and second, a rather quirky guide. From our three safari camp stays, we learned that the quality of the guide makes the experience, and the quality varies from person to person.

Room Tip: Cottages with a waterhole view are preferable.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 12trvlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear 12trvlgirl
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. the feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the managers. I am pleased to hear you had such great wildlife sightings. The deck is an absolute treat to be able to relax and enjoy a drink while you watch the animals come down to the waterhole for their drink. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Lovely lodge, great staff and guide. The singing and dancing of the staff before dinner was so lovely and festive, food was excellent.
We have seen lots of animals including a pride of lions of 16, the lion cubs were playing with each other so we have been watching this for quite some time, so special.
We met the giant bull frog, that one was new to me, it is an amazing big frog very funny creature.
And the elephants coming to the waterhole at the lodge are so special.

Room Tip: All cabins are beautifully situated
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank limburg353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear limburg353
Thank you for coming back to stay with us at Savute Safari Lodge. It is always so great to read about our guests who return to share the Savute magic with us. It is truly something special to sit on the deck and watch the elephants come in their numbers to drink. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Savute lodge was our first stay at Botswana. The lodge offered excellent food and accommodation. The staff was very friendly and making us feel most welcome.
The waterhole in front of the dining area was amazing. One evening there were about sixty elephants who came to drink water.
Our guide for the three days was Baba, who was excellent. Very knowledgeable about all the animals the nature and especially about birds. He could tell us on what page of the book the bird was to be found without looking at the book.
We would recommend him anytime as your guide

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertuElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear RobertuElsa
Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris for your first trip to Botswana. Being able to enjoy the treasures of Savute Safari Lodge must have made for some great memories and photographs. I will be sure to share the great feedback with Baba and the team. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Words are just not enough to explain this amazing lodge, its in a perfect location overlooking the river where animals are frequent visitors and where one can see action!. The dining area has full view of the river and you feel up close to nature. We had elephants drinking near us. I loved this Lodge. The staff are just amazing, friendly, interactive, attentive, they would do anything to make you feel at home. Desert and Delta make sure you are at home. Rooms are enormous with lounge area, private deck. From all angles being from the bathroom or bedroom you have uninterrupted view. This Lodge is all about the experience, and believe me you will not be disappointed. Metal our guide is highly knowledgeable, i wish i had longer to listen to him. Savute is the real Raw wildlife experience. This is a Must for anyone who wishe to visit Botswana.

Room Tip: All are same
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UMANGGOSSAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear UMANGGOSSAIN
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. I am sure you have had a excellent time travelling through all of our camps and experiencing all that Desert and Delta Safaris has to offer. I will share the positive feedback with the team at Savute, it is always such a great motivator for the team.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We travelled with 2 other couples and stayed at this amazing place from October 6-10, 2016. The overall experience was certainly hard to top. From the moment we landed at the Savute air strip we were overwhelmed by the kindness and service from all of the staff.
Our guide, Obed was professional and knowledgable and made our twice daily game drives memorable.
Setch and Lucky and the entire lodge staff could not do enough for us.
We loved the fact that the staff choir would sing for us before dinner and then some of the staff would join us at our table for dinner.
This was the first of 2 safari stops on our 3 week African adventure and it was by far the best! I truly believe that the leadership of the camp manager, Setch set the tone for the entire experience. Thank you to the team for providing us with a most memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senorjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Savute Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear senorjim
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay at Savute Safari Lodge. I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time and got to enjoy the choir too. Our company is very lucky to have such excellent and motivated staff members. I will definitely share the feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews