We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great safari lodge in the Savute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Savute Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great safari lodge in the Savute”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

the last time I was in the Savute area, the Savute Channel was a dry river bed. Since 2008 due to tectonic movement, the river is flowing again and it flows right past Savute Safari Lodge. From a location point of view it just does not get any better. At any one time there could be upwards of twenty elephants cavorting around in the river or at the watering hole which is a few meters in front of the lodge. The rooms are beautifully done. They are massive and they are private. MK and Michelle are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Great rangers overall. While sitting around the fire in camp one evening we had a leopard in the tree not even 10 meters away from us. She was trying to get at the sleeping guineafowl. She then decided to go and lie on the deck of room number 7. Awesome sight! Then a porcupine decided to saunter down onto the deck where we were sitting :)
The food was exceptional and the game viewing was great. Saw a gazillion elephants, leopard, lions, plenty general game. Also good to see a different eco system and the site where Seretse Khama decided that conservation was the way for a sustainable future for Botswana

Room Tip: Do not choose a room in front of the watering hole if you have a sensitive nose as there is quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
56
180
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

absolutley fantastic from start to finish. mc and michelle are perfect hosts and all the staff and our guide metal was brilliant and new his stuff. we would recommend to anyone the rooms are perfect even the loo had a view
we could here the lions around the lodge one night and we saw two leopards male lions as well as a host of other game and of course the elephants always very obliging
thanks folks

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphyHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were escorted to our "hut", walked out onto our deck and there they were...elephants, kudu and birds, just enjoying the sunny afternoon in the river that runs directly behind Camp Savuti. This luxurious camp right in the middle of wild Botswana provided the perfect base for wildlife-filled safaris, fascinating people and delicious meals. The private huts are gorgeous and clean with shaded decks that overlook the river. The staff greeted us for dinner with a medley of African/Setswanan songs and dances and the food was always fresh, creative and plentiful. We saw herds of elephants, prides of lazy lions, zebras, giraffes, tessebes, wildebeests and a riot of birds and small animals. We only wish we could have spent more time in both Camp Savuti and Bostwana.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I wanted to see the channel flowing and see the changes this has made to the area. We stayed for four nights. The rooms very large and excellent. Not all look on to the channel which is a pity.

The rate we paid through Desert and Delta was over $1000 per day so its on the very high end and is, as seems often the case where operators show a lack of faith in local currency and country, quoted in US dollars. For SA residents the price is hard to justify.

MC and Michelle run a good operation and are very good hosts we had great fun.

We had Metal as a guide and he is without exception the best guide I have ever dealt with. I have dealt with many probably over 100. His personal style and scientific knowledge was way above my expectation and for this reason, on its own, the ‘Africa safari’ experience was one of the best for me. He taught us and touched our hearts and minds and we are grateful.

With the channel flowing and the marsh with water Savuti/Savute is a great experience.

If the rate is acceptable then this is simply a great place to visit and this lodge was a wonderful – wonderful experience – I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: ask for channel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

If you are interested in elephants, a small camp atmosphere and great guides, this will be a camp for you. Botswana takes a little more effort and money than South Africa. You must fly into Joburg and then connect with a flight to Maun. The next flight will be on a small plane which may be very warm and bumpy. One never knows what will be on the landing strip..
elephants, monkeys or lions! If you wish to see the elephants at a very close proximity, choose room 8 or 7. They are located thirty feet from the mineral water hole and there are elephants there constantly. However that also means that you will hear trumpeting, stomping etc. into the late night. We were disturbed a little the first night but you adjust and are tired since your wake up is 5:30 am. The river is now flowing which means more nature sightings at the camp. The couple that manages the camp make you feel that you are in their home. The staff singing, conversations around the fire pit, good food and terrific game drives make it a wonderful lodge.
Be aware that you are in a National Park and therefore off road driving is minimal. However we were very pleased with our game drives and knowledgeable guide. The camp uses a generator for electricity so if you want Internet, AC, spa etc. this is not the camp to choose. We went in early Sept. and had cool mornings and warm days. There is usually a large temperature fluctuation when traveling in Africa, so layering is very important. This is one of our favorite camps!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calamity66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chobe National Park hotels
22.2 km away
Ghoha Hills Savuti
Ghoha Hills Savuti
#1 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
97.7 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
20.8 km away
Camp Savuti
Camp Savuti
#11 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 km away
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero
#6 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
149.3 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
145.1 km away
Tilodi Safari Lodge
Tilodi Safari Lodge
#12 of 20 in Chobe National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savute Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savute Safari Lodge

Property: Savute Safari Lodge
Address: Savute Channel | Savuti Area, Chobe National Park, Chobe National Park none, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Chobe National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Chobe National Park
Price range (per night): R24 170 - R24 422
Hotel Class:4 star — Savute Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To ensure a private and relaxing environment, Savute Safari Lodge accommodates just twenty-four guests in twelve thatched chalets built of local timber. The chalets, which have been elegantly furnished in calm neutral tones to blend with the natural environment, feature expansive private decks, a combined bedroom and lounge area and en suite facilities. Your stay at Savute Safari Lodge is fully inclusive of accommodation, all meals, drinks, national park entry fees, scheduled activities, laundry service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Savute Safari Hotel Chobe National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing